Contact

Claims hotline

«Today, we are accustomed to everything being just a click away»

Buried under mountains of paperwork? Fed up with impenetrable T&Cs? Tied in to long-term policies? These frustrations are a thing of the past for customers of Lings – the Generali start-up ushering in a new era for insurance. CEO Kai Kunze tells us more.

Lings describes itself as a modern, contemporary insurer. What does that mean?

Today, we are accustomed to everything being just a click away – be that music, communication, shopping, buying tickets, booking travel and so on. Now Lings is here: an insurance service that is available from anywhere via a smartphone. You can activate and deactivate your insurance at will, with a minimum cover period of just a single day. And the terms and conditions are written in plain language, not legalese.

 

Who are your target market?

Right now, we are specialising exclusively in amateur and professional photographers. They can insure their cameras, all their accessories and even the hardware they use to process and edit their images. That includes cover against theft, loss or damage. And with no deductible to boot.

 

How did the idea behind Lings come about?

At an innovation sprint in early 2017, Generali employees developed unconventional product ideas using modern methods such as design thinking. In discussions with customers, we discovered that there was a desire for ultra-flexible short-term insurance. The idea sounded compelling. However, the mature structures of a large company like Generali are not well suited to carrying out a rapid, cost-effective market trial. An internal start-up staffed by Generali employees, however, was ideally placed to do so.

 

What next?

Following an internal recruitment process, our four-strong team started in the F10 fintech accelerator in July 2017. We have financial support from Generali but are entirely independent in our decision-making. There was just one string attached: we had to attract our first paying customers within four months.

 

That was an ambitious target – how did you set about it?

Two weeks later, once we had put together a rough plan, our first act was to engage an IT company. That ate up a third of our budget, before we had even pinned down where our journey would take us. This freedom was rather scary, but also very liberating. In the absence of fixed structures and processes, we had to organise ourselves from that point on – a new and exciting experience for us all.

 

What is the current status?

We currently have 35 paying customers (as at February 2018). In addition, more than 100 interested people have created an account with us and registered their property, so as to be able to activate insurance quickly when the time is right. It might sound unlikely, but our stated objective is for customers to love our insurance. To achieve this, we do not rely solely on social media and influencers, but also use word of mouth recommendation. That seems to be working well.

 

What do you think the future holds for Lings?

Our goal for 2018 is to expand further and to build up our customer base. We will then think about rolling Lings insurance out to other products next year.

 

 

Lings.ch

Kontakt

24h-Schaden-Hotline

«Heute ist alles nur noch einen Klick entfernt»

Papierkram? Unverständliche AVBs? Langfristige Policen? Für die Kunden von Lings ist das Schnee von gestern. Das Generali Start-up läutet eine neue Ära der Versicherungen ein. CEO Kai Kunze gibt Auskunft.

Lings bezeichnet sich als moderne, zeitgemässe Versicherung. Was heisst das?

Heute ist alles nur noch einen Klick entfernt – ob Musik, Kommunikation, Einkaufen, Tickets, Reisen usw. Mit Lings gibt es nun auch eine Versicherung, die per Smartphone jederzeit überall verfügbar ist. Bei uns lässt sich die Versicherung nach Wunsch aktivieren und deaktivieren – bei einer Mindestdauer von einem einzigen Tag. Auch die AVB sind nicht in Juristendeutsch, sondern für jeden verständlich verfasst.

 

Wer ist euer Zielpublikum?

Zurzeit wenden wir uns ausschliesslich an Amateur- und Profifotografen. Sie können den Fotoapparat, das ganze Zubehör und sogar die Hardware, mit der sie Fotos bearbeiten bei uns versichern. Und zwar gegen Diebstahl, Verlust und Beschädigung. Ohne Selbstbehalt, notabene.

 

Wie ist die Idee zu Lings entstanden?

Bei einem Innovationssprint Anfang 2017 entwickelten Generali-Mitarbeitende ungewöhnliche Produktideen mit modernen Arbeitsmethoden wie Design Thinking. Dabei kamen wir im Gespräch mit Kunden zur Erkenntnis, dass eine Kurzzeit-Versicherung gewünscht wird, die sehr flexibel ist. Die Idee klang bestechend. Doch um sie im Markt rasch und kostengünstig zu testen, eignen sich die gewachsenen Strukturen eines Grossunternehmes wie Generali nicht. Ein internes Start-up hingegen, geführt von eigenen Mitarbeitenden, ist ideal.

 

Wie ging’s weiter?

Nach einem internen Rekrutierungsverfahren sind wir als vierköpfiges Team im Juli 2017 im Fintech Accelerator F10 gestartet. Finanziell von Generali unterstützt, aber gänzlich unabhängig in unseren Entscheidungen, erhielten wir eine einzige Auflage: vier Monate später den ersten zahlenden Kunden zu akquirieren.

 

Ein sportliches Ziel – wie seid ihr damit umgegangen?

Nachdem wir zwei Wochen später einen ungefähren Plan gefasst hatten, stellten wir als erstes eine IT-Firma ein. Damit war schon ein Drittel unseres Budget weg, ohne dass wir genau wussten, wohin unsere Reise geht. Diese Freiheit war einerseits beängstigend, andererseits auch sehr befreiend. Keine fixen Strukturen und Abläufe mehr, wir mussten uns fortan selbst organisieren – eine ganz neue, spannende Erfahrung für uns alle.

 

Wo steht ihr im Moment?

Zahlende Kunden haben wir zurzeit 35 (Stand Februar 2018). Bereits über 100 Interessenten haben einen Account und ihre Objekte bei uns registrieren lassen, um die Versicherung bei der passenden Gelegenheit rasch aktivieren zu können. Auch wenn das paradox klingen mag: Unser erklärtes Ziel ist, dass die Kunden unsere Versicherung lieben. So setzen wir nicht nur auf Social-Media-Kanäle und Influencer, sondern auch auf Mund-zu-Mund-Propaganda. Und das scheint ganz gut zu funktionieren.

 

Wage für uns einen Blick in die Zukunft von Lings.

Das Ziel für 2018 ist, weiter auszubauen und den Kundenstamm zu erweitern. Für nächstes Jahr denken wir darüber nach, die Versicherung auf weitere Produkte zu erweitern.

 

 

Lings.ch