Contact

Claims hotline

43% of women in Switzerland aren’t saving for old age

Nov 4, 2021.

Many women aren’t thinking about their retirement provision. The main reasons for this are a lack of interest in the topic and not enough money to save for old age. However, the topic of retirement provision has gained importance due to the coronavirus crisis, according to a survey by Generali Switzerland.

The awareness is there: retirement provision is very important for eight out of ten Swiss women. Surprisingly, though, 43% of female respondents are not saving for old age. So, most women are aware that they should be thinking about their pension but they’re not doing anything about it. And many are unaware of the gaps in their pension fund that have arisen due to maternity leave or part-time work. A survey carried out by Generali Switzerland explains why so many women put off or aren’t interested in the topic of retirement provision.

 

No interest or the budget doesn’t stretch to retirement provision

The lack of interest is particularly pronounced among single mothers – of whom around 30% consider the topic to be unimportant. Even among young, single women who don’t have children, around a third of those surveyed are not yet interested in retirement provision. “One of the reasons for this is that retirement still seems a long way off. This could cause major financial problems sooner or later,” says Nadia Abdelli, Product Management Life Expert at Generali Switzerland. Almost half (44%) of the women surveyed state that they don’t have enough money to save for old age. It is often older women who don’t have children who say this. The same problem also exists for pillar 3: 40% of women aren’t saving in their private pensions or aren’t paying money in because their budget doesn’t stretch to it. The survey shows that income is directly linked to how she approaches saving for old age. So the higher the income, the more money is saved.

 

Birth of first child is a trigger for thinking about retirement provision

For many women (43%), the birth of their first child is the pivotal moment when they start thinking about their retirement provision. On the other hand, just over 70% of men take care of their private pension before their first child is born. Thus, many women waste valuable years in which they could have invested their savings, benefited from positive returns or paid into pillar 3.

 

Flexibility and security are the most important aspects when it comes to choosing a savings option

For women who save for old age, flexibility when parting with money is particularly important, along with a high level of security. Men have different priorities: security is important to them too, but they also want to have the biggest possible returns. “So while men focus more on profit, women mainly want flexibility when it comes to their life situation, which is constantly changing. And they accept lower returns in exchange for this,” says Abdelli.

 

The coronavirus pandemic has caused a rethink when it comes to private pensions

The topic of retirement provision has become more important compared to the previous year for a third of women surveyed. Especially among those who are in a relationship and have children. The coronavirus pandemic has shed new light on life and work situations, and therefore on the topic of retirement provision. As well as the pandemic, which comes with new social and economic problems, there are other factors that make the topic more relevant. These include getting older in general or imminent retirement. It is important to those surveyed to have a retirement provision that can be adapted to their individual situation. The pension product also needs to be easy to understand and straightforward.

 

The survey, which is representative of the population as a whole, was carried out on behalf of Generali Switzerland between 6 and 12 September 2021, with 514 people taking part.

ABOUT GENERALI

The Generali Group is an independent Italian group with a strong international presence. Established in 1831, the company is now one of the world’s leading insurers. Generali has around 72,000 employees serving more than 65.9 million customers in 50 countries. The Group’s total income came to more than EUR 70.7 billion in 2020, making Generali the market leader in Western Europe. The company is also an increasingly important player in Central and Eastern Europe as well as in Asia.

 

Generali’s roots in Switzerland date back to 1887. Today, Generali (Switzerland) Holding Ltd. operates throughout Switzerland, with two head offices – one in Adliswil and one in Nyon – and a wide network of agencies. The insurer has more than one million customers and offers products for every situation in life. These include property insurance, legal expenses insurance, life insurance and pension solutions. Generali partners with start-ups to develop innovative products. The company is the first Swiss insurer to launch a fully digital pillar 3a.  

Download

Kontakt

24h-Schaden-Hotline

43% der Schweizerinnen sorgen finanziell nicht fürs Alter vor

Nov 4, 2021.

Viele Frauen kümmern sich nicht um ihre Altersvorsorge. Die Hauptgründe dafür sind fehlendes Interesse am Thema und zu wenig Geld, um für das Alter zu sparen. Durch die Corona-Krise gewinnt das Thema Altersvorsorge jedoch an Wichtigkeit. Das zeigt eine Umfrage von Generali Schweiz.

Das Bewusstsein wäre da: Für 8 von 10 Schweizerinnen hat die Altersvorsorge eine grosse Bedeutung. Überraschenderweise sparen 43 Prozent der weiblichen Befragten dennoch nicht fürs Alter. Den meisten Frauen ist also bewusst, dass sie sich um ihre Vorsorge kümmern sollten. Trotzdem tun sie es nicht. Und viele wissen nichts von den Lücken in ihrer Pensionskasse, die durch Babypause und Teilzeitpensum entstanden sind. Weshalb so viele Frauen das Thema Altersvorsorge vor sich herschieben oder sich nicht dafür interessieren, zeigt eine Umfrage von Generali Schweiz.

 

Kein Interesse oder das Budget reicht nicht für die Altersvorsorge

Besonders ausgeprägt ist das Desinteresse bei alleinerziehenden Frauen, von denen rund 30 Prozent das Thema für eher unwichtig halten. Auch bei den jungen, ledigen und kinderlosen Frauen hat rund ein Drittel der Befragten noch wenig Interesse an der Altersvorsorge. «Einer der Gründe dafür ist, dass die Pensionierung noch weit weg sei. Dies kann früher oder später grosse finanzielle Probleme verursachen.», sagt Nadia Abdelli, Product Management Life Expertin von Generali Schweiz. Fast die Hälfte (44 Prozent) der befragten Frauen gibt an, dass sie zu wenig Geld haben, um fürs Alter zu sparen. Das sagen besonders oft ältere, kinderlose Frauen. Dasselbe Problem existiert auch beim Thema 3. Säule: 40 Prozent der Frauen sparen nicht in der privaten Vorsorge oder zahlen nichts ein, weil das Budget nicht ausreicht. Die Umfrage zeigt, dass die Höhe des Einkommens direkt mit ihrem Sparverhalten fürs Alter zu tun hat. Je höher das Einkommen also, desto mehr wird gespart.

 

Geburt als Auslöser sich mit dem Thema Altersvorsorge zu beschäftigen

Für viele Frauen (43 Prozent) ist erst die Geburt des ersten Kindes der ausschlaggebende Moment, um sich mit ihrer Altersvorsorge zu befassen. Etwas mehr als 70 Prozent der Männer hingegen kümmern sich bereits vor dem ersten Kind um die private Altersvorsorge. Viele Frauen nutzen so wertvolle Jahre nicht, in denen sie ihr Erspartes anlegen, von einer positiven Rendite profitieren oder in die 3. Säule einzahlen könnten.

 

Flexibilität und Sicherheit sind die wichtigsten Aspekte beim Wählen einer Sparvariante

Frauen, welche fürs Alter vorsorgen, ist besonders die Flexibilität beim Einzahlen wichtig sowie eine hohe Sicherheit. Männer priorisieren etwas anders: Sicherheit ist ihnen ebenfalls wichtig, sie wollen aber auch eine möglichst hohe Rendite erzielen. «Während Männer also mehr den Gewinn im Fokus haben, wollen Frauen mit ihrer Lebenssituation, die sich laufend verändert, vor allem Flexibilität. Dafür nehmen sie eine tiefere Rendite in Kauf.», sagt Abdelli.

 

Die Corona-Pandemie führt zu einem Umdenken bei der privaten Vorsorge

Für ein Drittel der befragten Frauen ist das Thema Altersvorsorge im vergangenen Jahr wichtiger geworden. Insbesondere bei jenen, die liiert sind und Kinder haben. Die Corona-Krise hat ein völlig neues Licht auf die Lebens- und Arbeitssituationen geworfen und somit auch auf das Thema Altersvorsorge. Neben der Pandemie, die mit neuen sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Problemen einhergeht, gibt es weitere Aspekte für eine höhere Relevanz des Themas. Dazu gehören generell das Älterwerden oder eine bevorstehende Pensionierung. Wichtig ist den Befragten, dass sich die Altersvorsorge ihrer individuellen Situation anpassen lässt. Zudem muss das Vorsorgeprodukt klar verständlich und einfach sein.

 

Die bevölkerungsrepräsentative Umfrage wurde im Auftrag von Generali Schweiz zwischen dem 6. und 12. September 2021 durchgeführt. 514 Personen haben teilgenommen.

ÜBER GENERALI

Die Generali Gruppe ist ein unabhängiger italienischer Konzern mit starker internationaler Präsenz. Im Jahr 1831 gegründet, gehört das Unternehmen weltweit zu den führenden Versicherern. Generali ist in 50 Ländern vertreten, beschäftigt rund 72'000 Mitarbeitende und hat über 65.9 Millionen Kunden. Das Gesamteinkommen des Konzerns belief sich 2020 auf mehr als 70.7 Milliarden Euro. Damit ist Generali Marktführerin in Westeuropa. Auch in Mittel- und Osteuropa sowie in Asien gewinnt das Unternehmen an Bedeutung.

 

In der Schweiz gehen die Wurzeln von Generali auf das Jahr 1887 zurück. Heute ist die Generali (Schweiz) Holding AG mit zwei Hauptsitzen in Adliswil und Nyon sowie einem breiten Agenturnetz in der ganzen Schweiz vertreten. Der Versicherer hat mehr als eine Million Kunden und bietet Produkte für jede Lebenssituation an. Dazu zählen Sach-, Rechtsschutz- und Lebensversicherungen sowie Vorsorgelösungen. Zusammen mit Start-ups entwickelt Generali innovative Produkte. Als erster Schweizer Versicherer hat das Unternehmen eine komplett digitale Säule 3a lanciert.

Download