Contact

Claims hotline

2013 Annual Report

Generali Group Switzerland achieves its targets – Strategic realignment strengthens the worldwide Generali Group
Apr 16, 2014.

Generali Group Switzerland can look back on a generally good financial year. The Group's profits rose considerably thanks in part to the Generali Group's new strategic focus.

  • Generali Group Switzerland increases group profit by 13.1%.
  • Combined ratio improves, going up 0.7 percentage points
  • Since January 2013, the Generali Group, which operates worldwide, has been successfully strategically re-aligning itself

 

«That the property insurance sector is growing and that the returns on investments are good is good news; both these factors have played a major part in our Group's results being more than satisfactory», said Alfred Leu, CEO of the Generali Group Switzerland. «While economic conditions have become rather less tense, low interest rates and the tendency of the market to be subject to more and more regulation still present the Swiss insurance industry with major challenges.»

 

Group profit very encouraging at +13.1%

 

The Generali Group Switzerland's group profit rose by a total 13.1% compared with the preceding year. Much of this is accounted for by its capital investments, which outperformed their benchmarks. Despite considerable pressure on prices, it was also possible to do profitable non-life business. Gross premium income stood at CHF 841 million, and, with an increase of 1.3%, kept pace with the market. Motor vehicle insurance, which accounted for 46% of this, was the most successful line of business, as it had been in the previous year. Together with property and business insurance, it played a considerable part in improving the combined ratio, which went from 95.1% to 94.4%.

 

Within the Life & Pensions segment, the volume of conventional life insurance business with regular premiums rose by 9.2% despite problematic interest rates. The decline in single-premium business resulted in a fall in gross premiums booked, by 6.3% compared with the previous year, down to CHF 1,307 million. The Group's gross premium volume consequently fell by 3.5%.

 

A successful start to the strategic realignment

 

In terms of strategy, the changes in the worldwide Generali Group were prioritised. Embarked on in 2013, the realignment aims to strengthen the capital base and to further build up insurance as the core business. It is intended not only to further develop services in ways that benefit customers but also to increase both profitability and global market capitalisation. This will be enable Generali to build its stakeholders' trust in it by being a financially strong and reliable partner to them.

 

The impetus of the changes is shown by the success with which various global initiatives have already been rolled out at the local level. Generali's new and uniform brand identity underlines the new Group-wide strategy and reinforces the Group's global character.

 

The complete Annual Report, with key figures and notes on them, the year's financial statements for the main holding companies and a review of the decisive projects and campaigns of 2013, is published at generali.ch/unternehmen/finanzielle_berichterstattung.html.

Download

Kontakt

24h-Schaden-Hotline

Jahresbericht 2013

Generali Gruppe Schweiz erreicht ihre Ziele – Strategische Neuausrichtung stärkt weltweit tätige Generali Group
Apr 16, 2014.

Die Generali Gruppe Schweiz blickt auf ein insgesamt gutes Geschäftsjahr zurück. Das Gesamtergebnis hat sich unter anderem dank des neuen Strategiefokus der Generali Group sehr positiv entwickelt.

  • Generali Gruppe Schweiz steigert das Gesamtergebnis um 13,1%
  • Combined Ratio verbessert sich um 0,7 Prozentpunkte
  • Strategische Neuausrichtung der weltweit tätigen Generali Group wird seit Januar 2013 erfolgreich umgesetzt

 

«Das ansprechende Wachstum des Bereichs Sachversicherungen und das gute Anlageergebnis haben massgeblich dazu beigetragen, dass unsere Gruppe ein erfreuliches Ergebnis vorweisen kann», sagt Alfred Leu, CEO der Generali Gruppe Schweiz. «Das wirtschaftliche Umfeld hat sich etwas entspannt, aber die tiefen Zinsen sowie die zunehmende Marktregulierung stellen nach wie vor eine grosse Herausforderung für die Schweizer Versicherungsbranche dar.»

 

Gesamtergebnis mit +13,1% sehr erfreulich

 

Das Gesamtergebnis der Generali Gruppe Schweiz stieg insgesamt um 13,1% gegenüber dem Vorjahr. Wesentlichen Anteil daran hatten die Kapitalanlagen, die über den Benchmarks abschnitten. Trotz des hohen Preisdrucks konnte auch das Nichtlebengeschäft positiv gestaltet werden. Die Bruttoprämieneinnahmen betrugen 841 Mio. Franken und lagen mit einem Plus von 1,3% im Rahmen des Marktwachstums. Mit einem Anteil von 46% war die Motorfahrzeugversicherung wie im Vorjahr die erfolgreichste Sparte. Zusammen mit der Sach- und Unternehmensversicherung trug sie wesentlich zur Verbesserung der Combined Ratio von 95,1% auf 94,4% bei.

 

Im Bereich Life & Pension konnte das Volumen der konventionellen Lebensversicherungen mit laufender Prämie trotz des schwierigen Zinsumfelds um 9,2% gesteigert werden. Aufgrund des rückläufigen Geschäfts mit Einmaleinlagen sanken die gebuchten Bruttoprämien gegenüber dem Vorjahr um 6,3% auf 1'307 Mio. Franken. Dies hatte einen Rückgang des Gesamtprämienvolumens der Gruppe um 3,5% zur Folge.

 

Strategische Neuausrichtung erfolgreich begonnen

 

Auf der strategischen Ebene standen die Veränderungen in der weltweit tätigen Generali Group im Vordergrund. Die im Jahr 2013 angestossene Neuausrichtung hat zum Ziel, die Kapitalbasis zu festigen und das Kerngeschäft Versicherung weiter zu entwickeln. Damit sollen einerseits die Dienstleistungen zum Vorteil der Kunden weiter ausgebaut und andererseits die Rentabilität sowie die globale Marktkapitalisierung erhöht werden. Dies erlaubt es Generali, den Anspruchsgruppen gegenüber als finanzstarker und verlässlicher Partner Vertrauen zu schaffen.

 

Verschiedene globale Initiativen wurden auf der lokalen Ebene bereits erfolgreich umgesetzt und zeugen von der Dynamik der Veränderungen. Der neue, einheitliche Auftritt der Marke Generali unterstreicht die neue Gruppenstrategie und verstärkt den globalen Charakter der Gruppe.

 

Der vollständige Geschäftsbericht mit den kommentierten Kennzahlen, den Jahresabschlüssen der wichtigsten Gesellschaften sowie einem Rückblick auf die Projekte und Aktionen, die das Geschäftsjahr 2013 geprägt haben, ist unter generali.ch/unternehmen/finanzielle_berichterstattung.html publiziert.

Download