Contact

Claims hotline

Annual Report 2016: The Generali Group Switzerland achieves its targets and has implemented a new strategy

Apr 19, 2017. Posted in Gruppe
  • The Generali Group Switzerland saw growth of 23.8% to CHF 191.7 million in its overall result.
  • A pleasing evolution was recorded for the Combined Ratio as in the previous year, closing at 92.8%.
  • Generali Switzerland implemented a new strategy during the reporting year and will invest around CHF 100 million over the next four years in the modernisation of its business model.

The Generali Group Switzerland achieved its targets in the financial year of 2016. There were no major natural disasters and the company benefited accordingly from a downward trend in claims.

 

"We are very satisfied with our overall result. We have worked well and exceeded our targets despite the challenging environment. The capital markets developed well in a demanding market environment and contributed significantly to the positive result for the year," says Andreas Krümmel, CEO of the Generali Group Switzerland. "We are also using the newly implemented strategy to pave the way for the future. Our modernised business model will strengthen the innovation culture so that we may align the processes and services even more closely with the specific needs of our customers and develop new products and services."
 

 

Improvement in the overall result

The overall result of the Generali Group Switzerland grew year-on-year by 23.8% to CHF 191.7 million. Gross written premiums fell by 3.7% to CHF 2,051.7 million. In contrast with this, the insurance company optimised its portfolio in the non-life line of business. The volume of premiums grew (+2.2%) and the Combined Ratio recorded a pleasing evolution as in the previous year, closing at 92.8%. This underscores the solid underwriting result in the reporting year. There was a return of 7.3% in the Life & Pension area. This was due predominantly to the decline in conventional life insurance. Capital investments developed well in a challenging market environment and contributed significantly to the positive overall result. Their total value increased by 4.8% to CHF 17.2 billion.

 

 

Focusing on innovation and digitisation

The modernised business model, which will be fully implemented by 2020, is consistent with the Generali Group's objective of being Simpler, Smarter, Faster. The MIT Technology Review selected the Generali Group as the world's only company in the insurance sector to be in the "50 Smartest Companies 2015".

 

The Generali Group Switzerland has set up a dedicated team as part of the strategic realignment to drive innovation. Generali Switzerland will expand its know-how and technical capabilities quickly and consistently by working together with universities, start-ups and a leading FinTech incubator. This approach will facilitate the development of new products and services that meet current customer requirements.

New products in the area of unit-linked life insurance have already been launched in the reporting year.

 

Digitisation is also being intensively further developed so that customers can communicate with Generali Switzerland as simply and quickly as possible. Connecting the classic sales structures with new, digital solutions is at the centre of this process.

 

 

The complete Annual Report 2016 annotated with the key figures and the annual financial statements of the key holding companies is published in German and French at generali.ch/geschaeftsbericht2016 and generali.ch/rapportdegestion2016.

Download

Kontakt

24h-Schaden-Hotline

Jahresbericht 2016: Generali Gruppe Schweiz erreicht Ziele und hat eine neue Strategie implementiert

Apr 19, 2017. Posted in Gruppe
  • Die Generali Gruppe Schweiz steigerte ihr Gesamtergebnis um 23,8% auf 191,7 Mio. Franken.
  • Die Combined Ratio fiel wie im Vorjahr erfreulich aus und schloss mit 92,8%.
  • Generali Schweiz hat im Berichtsjahr eine neue Strategie implementiert und investiert über die nächsten vier Jahre rund 100 Mio. Franken in die Modernisierung des Geschäftsmodells.
     

Die Generali Gruppe Schweiz hat ihre Ziele im Geschäftsjahr 2016 erreicht. Grössere Elementarereignisse blieben aus und das Unternehmen profitierte entsprechend von einer rückläufigen Schadenentwicklung.

 

„Mit unserem Gesamtergebnis sind wir sehr zufrieden. Wir haben gut gearbeitet und unsere Ziele trotz des herausfordernden Umfelds übertroffen. Die Kapitalmärkte entwickelten sich in einem anspruchsvollen Marktumfeld gut und trugen wesentlich zum erfreulichen Jahresergebnis bei“, sagt Andreas Krümmel, CEO der Generali Gruppe Schweiz. „Mit der neu implementierten Strategie ebnen wir auch den Weg in die Zukunft. Das modernisierte Geschäftsmodell wird die Innovationskultur stärken, um die Prozesse und Dienstleistungen noch konsequenter auf spezifische Bedürfnisse der Kunden auszurichten und um neue Produkte und Services zu entwickeln.“
 

 

Verbesserung des Gesamtergebnisses

Das Gesamtergebnis der Generali Gruppe Schweiz stieg gegenüber dem Vorjahr um 23,8% auf 191,7 Mio. Franken. Bei den gebuchten Bruttoprämien war ein Rückgang um 3,7% auf 2‘051,7 Mio. Franken zu verzeichnen. Dem entgegen optimierte der Versicherer im Nichtleben-Geschäft das Portfolio. Das Prämienvolumen stieg an (+2,2%) und die Combined Ratio fiel wie im Vorjahr erfreulich aus und schloss mit 92,8%. Sie unterstreicht das solide technische Resultat im Berichtsjahr. Im Bereich Life & Pension gab es einen Rücklauf um 7,3%. Dies ist insbesondere auf die Abnahme bei den konventionellen Lebensversicherungen zurückzuführen. Die Kapitalanlagen entwickelten sich in einem anspruchsvollen Marktumfeld gut und trugen wesentlich zum positiven Gesamtergebnis bei. Ihr Gesamtwert stieg um 4,8% auf 17,2 Mrd. Franken.

 

 

Fokussierung auf Innovation und Digitalisierung

Das modernisierte Geschäftsmodell, welches bis im Jahr 2020 vollständig implementiert sein wird, entspricht der Zielsetzung der Generali Group, Simpler, Smarter, Faster zu sein. Die Generali Group wurde von der MIT Technology Review als weltweit einziges Unternehmen in der Versicherungsbranche zu den „50 Smartest Companies 2015“ gewählt.

 

Die Generali Gruppe Schweiz hat im Rahmen der strategischen Neuausrichtung ein dediziertes Team geschaffen, um die Innovation voranzutreiben. Durch die Zusammenarbeit mit Hochschulen, Start-Ups und einem führenden FinTech-Inkubator wird Generali Schweiz ihr Know-how und ihre technischen Möglichkeiten rasch und konsequent ausbauen. Auf diese Weise können neue Produkte und Dienstleistungen erarbeitet werden, die aktuellen Kundenbedürfnissen entsprechen.

Im Berichtsjahr wurden bereits neue Produkte im Bereich der fondsgebundenen Lebensversicherungen lanciert.

 

Mit Hochdruck wird auch die Digitalisierung fortlaufend weiterentwickelt, damit sich die Kunden möglichst einfach und schnell mit Generali Schweiz austauschen können. Die Verbindung der klassischen Vertriebsstrukturen mit neuen, digitalen Lösungen steht dabei im Zentrum.

 

 

Der vollständige Geschäftsbericht 2016 mit den kommentierten Kennzahlen und den Jahresabschlüssen der wichtigsten Holdinggesellschaften ist unter generali.ch/geschaeftsbericht2016 publiziert.

Download