Contact

Claims hotline

Hans-Jürgen Wolter to become new Chief Risk Officer of Generali Switzerland

Nov 10, 2020.

Hans-Jürgen Wolter will take up the position of Chief Risk Officer at Generali Switzerland on 1 January 2021. He will become a member of the Executive Board.

As the new Chief Risk Officer (CRO) of Generali Switzerland, Hans-Jürgen Wolter will become head of the Risk Management team on 1 January 2021. He succeeds Giselle Lim in this position. Mr Wolter will become a member of the Executive Board of Generali Switzerland.

 

Mr Wolter began his professional career in 1988 at Helvetia Insurance. He has since gained some 30 years of experience in the insurance industry, with past positions including Divisional CRO at Swiss Re and Group CRO at Swiss Life. He worked for Generali Investments in Trieste as Chief Risk & Performance Officer from 2008, before becoming a partner in a management consulting company. Most recently, he was a partner and Head of Actuarial & Risk at Mazars Switzerland. He is now returning to Generali, and the insurance industry, as CRO.

 

Mr Wolter has an MSc in Physics from ETH Zurich and an MA in Quantitative Economics from the University of St. Gallen, where he subsequently earned a PhD and postdoctoral degree in Economics. He is an Actuary SAA and Swiss Certified Pension Actuary (SKPE). He also taught at the Harvard Business School as a visiting professor and at the University of St. Gallen as an adjunct professor of Finance until his retirement from teaching.

 

"The principle of insurance is simple: Customers transfer a risk of loss to the insurance company in exchange for a premium. However, the requirements for managing all these risks are becoming increasingly complex. As CRO, I’ll work to make sure that insurance remains straightforward for customers, now and in the future," says Mr Wolter of his new position at Generali Switzerland.

 

Andreas Krümmel, CEO of Generali Switzerland: "We've been able to attract an extremely experienced Chief Risk Officer in the person of Hans-Jürgen Wolter, who has excellent knowledge of risk management and corporate governance. His expertise will prove extremely valuable to Generali Switzerland as it continues on its development path."

 

Mr Wolter is 59, a Swiss citizen and lives in Dübendorf.

 

Download

Kontakt

24h-Schaden-Hotline

Hans-Jürgen Wolter wird neuer Chief Risk Officer von Generali Schweiz

Nov 10, 2020.

Am 1. Januar 2021 übernimmt Hans-Jürgen Wolter die Funktion als Chief Risk Officer von Generali Schweiz. Er wird Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung.

Hans-Jürgen Wolter übernimmt als neuer Chief Risk Officer (CRO) von Generali Schweiz per 1. Januar 2021 die Abteilung Risk Management. Er folgt in dieser Funktion auf Giselle Lim. Hans-Jürgen Wolter wird Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung von Generali Schweiz.

 

Seine berufliche Karriere startete Hans-Jürgen Wolter 1988 bei der Helvetia Versicherung. Er verfügt über rund dreissig Jahre Erfahrung in der Versicherungsbranche und war unter anderem als CRO einer Division für die Swiss Re und für die Swiss Life auf Konzernebene tätig. Ab 2008 arbeitete er für Generali Investments in Triest als Chief Risk & Performance Officer. Anschliessend wechselte er als Partner in die Unternehmensberatung. Zuletzt war er Partner und Leiter Actuarial & Risk bei Mazars Switzerland. Nun kehrt er als CRO zu Generali und damit in die Versicherungsindustrie zurück.

 

Hans-Jürgen Wolter verfügt über ein Physik-Diplom der ETH Zürich und ein Lizentiat in Quantitative Economics der Universität St. Gallen, wo er im Bereich Volkswirtschaft doktorierte und sich anschliessend habilitierte. Er ist Aktuar SAV und diplomierter Pensionsversicherungsexperte (SKPE). Ausserdem unterrichtete er als Gastdozent an der Harvard Business School und als Titularprofessor für Finanzwissenschaften bis zu seiner Emeritierung an der Universität St. Gallen.

 

«Das Prinzip einer Versicherung ist simpel: Ein Kunde gibt ein Risiko gegen eine Prämie an die Versicherung ab, die bei Eintritt eines Schadens für ihn einsteht. Die Anforderungen an das Management all dieser Risiken werden aber zunehmend komplexer. Ich setze mich als CRO dafür ein, dass Versicherung auch in Zukunft für den Kunden einfach bleibt», so Hans-Jürgen Wolter zu seiner neuen Funktion bei Generali Schweiz.

 

Andreas Krümmel, CEO von Generali Schweiz: «Mit Hans-Jürgen Wolter konnten wir einen äusserst erfahrenen Chief Risk Officer gewinnen. Er verfügt über hervorragende Kenntnisse in den Bereichen Risk Management und Corporate Governance. Seine Expertise ist für die Weiterentwicklung von Generali Schweiz sehr wertvoll».

 

Hans-Jürgen Wolter ist 59 Jahre alt, Schweizer Staatsbürger und lebt in Dübendorf.

 

Download