Contact

Claims hotline

Refugee Team takes the top spot in the first audio-assisted race in Europe

Nov 24, 2020.

After two months of training, the 11 refugees and migrants who make up «The Human Safety Net Refugee Team» lined up at the start of the «20 km of Geneva by Genève Aéroport» race. The team members ran the 5 km course with the help of an audio guide that provided them with directions. As they ran, they were supported by their coach Tadesse Abraham. Kidane Solomon took first place, Yohannes Haysh came in sixth and Awet Habtemariam was 13th.

The «20 km of Geneva by Genève Aéroport» race was the first opportunity for members of «The Human Safety Net Refugee Team» to measure their performance against other competitors. The race with 2,844 runners was a completely new challenge: participants ran 5, 10 or 20 km with the help of an app with an audio guide. It was the first race of its kind in Europe. 

 

Kidane Solomon wins over 5 km

Eleven members of the Refugee Team took on the 5 km event on 22 November 2020. Kidane Solomon took first place with a time of 14 minutes and 19 seconds. Two of his team mates also took top spots in the race: Yohannes Haysh was placed first in his category (men aged 17-29), and sixth overall, with a time of 16 minutes and 41 seconds. Awet Habtemariam completed the race in 18 minutes, putting her in 13th place. 

 

Tadesse Abraham runs with his team

In mid-September, Generali Switzerland’s «The Human Safety Net Switzerland Foundation» worked with Swiss marathon record holder Tadesse Abraham to form a running group. The group, comprising 34 refugees and migrants with a love of running, train together twice a week in Geneva. Abraham wants to motivate the members of the Refugee Team to do their best. To help them, he ran the «20 km of Geneva by Genève Aéroport» with them. Abraham came to Switzerland as a refugee from Eritrea in 2004. At the time, he experienced the enormous power of sport as an integrating force. “Coming to a new country as a refugee is a challenge. By running marathons, I quickly became familiar with Swiss culture and customs. Being part of a running team was incredibly helpful to me,” says Abraham.

 

“Sport is everything. Sport is life”

Kidane Solomon, a member of the Refugee Team, is originally from Eritrea and has lived in Switzerland since 2014. He began his amateur running career in 2017. This year, he completed a half marathon in Frankfurt, coming in third. And he did so with borrowed shoes because he could not afford a pair of his own. He has been a member of «The Human Safety Net Refugee Team» since September, receiving running gear and professional training. On 18 October, Solomon ran the Swiss national championships in Belp, where he recorded the second fastest time in the half marathon. After taking bronze and silver, he took gold at the «20 km of Geneva by Genève Aéroport». “For me, sport is everything. Sport is life. My dream is to earn a living as a professional runner. Thanks to the Refugee Team, I am able to train in a more targeted manner and get closer to achieving my dream,” he says.

 

“Running gives me an incredible amount of energy”

Another member of the Refugee Team is Yohannes Haysh, who came to Switzerland in 2015 when he was 16 years old. He learned to speak French with the help of Google. He is now completing his secondary studies in healthcare and intends to start a bachelor’s degree in nursing next year. Haysh explains: “I love how much energy running gives me. After training, I am very happy and proud of myself. On the Refugee Team, I work with the coach to find out in which distance I am particularly strong. I would like to be a professional athlete like Tadesse Abraham some day.” The «20 km of Geneva by Genève Aéroport». was the second race he has run. With sixth place in the overall standings, Haysh shows the potential he has.

 

Photos from the race – password: RefugeeTeam20

 

Further information about the running group: The Human Safety Net Refugee Team

 

Further information about the foundation: The Human Safety Net Switzerland 

 

Further information about the virtual run: 20 km of Geneva by Genève Airport

Download

Kontakt

24h-Schaden-Hotline

Refugee Team erzielt Topplatzierungen am ersten audiogestützten Lauf Europas

Nov 24, 2020.

Nach zweimonatigem Training gingen elf Flüchtlinge und Migranten des «The Human Safety Net Refugee Teams» am Lauf «20km by Genève Aéroport» an den Start. Mit Hilfe einer App, die Anleitungen per Audioguide gibt, folgten die Team-mitglieder der Laufstrecke über fünf Kilometer. Dabei zahlte sich die Unterstützung ihres Mentors Tadesse Abraham aus. Kidane Solomon sicherte sich den ersten Platz. Yohannes Haysh lief auf Rang sechs und Awet Habtemariam auf Rang 13.

Am Lauf «20km by Genève Aéroport» hatte das «The Human Safety Net Refugee Team» erstmals die Gelegenheit, die eigene Leistung mit anderen Wettkampfteilnehmern zu vergleichen. Gemeinsam mit 2844 Läuferinnen und Läufern stellte es sich einer ganz neuen Herausforderung. Die Teilnehmenden folgten mit Hilfe einer App mit Audioguide einer Strecke von fünf, zehn oder zwanzig Kilometern. Eine Premiere in Europa. 

 

Kidane Solomon gewinnt über fünf Kilometer

Elf Mitglieder des Refugee Teams nahmen am 22. November 2020 die Strecke über fünf Kilometern in Angriff. Kidane Solomon lief mit einer Zeit von 14 Minuten 19 Sekunden zuoberst aufs Podest. Zwei Wettkampfneulinge im Team erzielten ebenfalls Topplatzierungen: Yohannes Haysh sicherte sich mit 16 Minuten 41 Sekunden den ersten Platz in seiner Kategorie «Männer 17 bis 29 Jahre» und Rang sechs in der Gesamtwertung. Awet Habtemariam absolvierte die fünf Kilometer in 18 Minuten und landete damit auf Rang 13. 

 

Tadesse Abraham läuft mit seinem Team

Mitte September hat die Stiftung «The Human Safety Net Switzerland» von Generali Schweiz gemeinsam mit dem Schweizer Marathonrekordhalter Tadesse Abraham eine Laufgruppe ins Leben gerufen. Zweimal pro Woche trainieren 34 laufbegeisterte Flüchtlinge und Migranten gemeinsam in Genf. Tadesse Abraham möchte die Mitglieder des Refugee Teams dazu animieren, das Beste aus sich herauszuholen. Um sie zu unterstützen, lief er am «20km by Genève Aéroport» mit ihnen Seite an Seite. Abraham kam 2004 als Flüchtling aus Eritrea in die Schweiz. Er hat damals selbst erlebt, wie gross die Integrationskraft des Sports ist. «Als Flüchtling in ein neues Land zu kommen, ist eine Herausforderung. Dank dem Marathonlaufen habe ich die Schweizer Kultur und die Bräuche schnell kennengelernt. Teil eines Laufteams zu sein, hat mir dabei unglaublich geholfen», so Abraham.

 

«Sport ist alles. Sport ist Leben»

Kidane Solomon, Mitglied des Refugee Teams, lebt seit 2014 in der Schweiz und kommt ursprünglich aus Eritrea. Er begann 2017 als Amateur zu laufen. Dieses Jahr belegte er am Halbmarathon in Frankfurt den dritten Platz. Dies mit ausgeliehenen Schuhen, weil er sich keinen Laufschuh leisten konnte. Seit September ist er Teil des «The Human Safety Net Refugee Teams» und erhält eine Laufausrüstung und ein professionelles Training. Am 18. Oktober lief er an der Schweizermeisterschaft in Belp die zweitschnellste Zeit im Halbmarathon. Nach Bronze und Silber folgt nun Gold am «20km by Genève Aéroport». «Sport bedeutet für mich alles. Sport ist Leben. Mein Traum ist es, als professioneller Läufer mein Geld zu verdienen. Dank des Refugee Teams kann ich viel gezielter trainieren und komme diesem Traum näher», sagt Solomon.

 

«Laufen gibt mir unglaublich viel Energie»

Teil des Refugee Teams ist auch Yohannes Haysh, der 2015 als 16-Jähriger in die Schweiz kam. Mit Hilfe von Google hat er sich Französisch beigebracht. Heute macht er eine Matura im Bereich Gesundheit und möchte nächstes Jahr einen Bachelor in Pflege beginnen. Haysh erzählt: «Ich liebe es, wie viel Energie mir das Laufen gibt. Ich bin nach dem Training sehr zufrieden und stolz auf mich. Im Refugee Team versuche ich mit Hilfe der Coaches herauszufinden, auf welcher Distanz ich besonders stark bin. Eines Tages wäre ich gerne ein professioneller Athlet wie Tadesse Abraham». Der Lauf «20km by Genève Aéroport» war erst der zweite Wettkampf, an dem er bisher teilgenommen hat. Mit Rang sechs in der Gesamtwertung beweist Haysh, welches Potential in ihm steckt.

 

Bilder vom Lauf – Passwort RefugeeTeam20

Weitere Informationen über die Laufgruppe: «The Human Safety Net Refugee Team»

Weitere Informationen über die Stiftung: «The Human Safety Net Switzerland» 

Weitere Informationen über den virtuellen Lauf: «20km de Genève by Genève Aéroport»

Download