Contact

Claims hotline

The pandemic has made us rethink remote working

Nov 16, 2021.

Approximately 80% of Swiss employees are enjoying the increased flexibility that comes with working from home and don’t want to give up their improved work-life balance. And around half are in favour of mandatory workplace COVID certificates.

Many employers offered it as an option even before the pandemic: working from home. But it was certainly the COVID-19 pandemic that brought widespread awareness that work can also be done in a location other than the workplace. Many employees in Switzerland like the combination of working from home and going into the office, according to a survey by Generali Switzerland.

 

Many find working from home more efficient

More than 80% of those surveyed state that they are able to work from home undisturbed. “What’s more, working from home has a positive impact on people’s work-life balance. This in turn has a positive effect on mental health,” says Jean-Pierre Schmid, Chief Customer Services & Human Resources Officer of Generali Switzerland. By their own assessment, employees who work from home are also more productive (68%) and more efficient (66%) – another fact that should please employers. In addition, nearly half (48%) state that they have their own room for working at home, while 33% work in a living or dining room.

 

The return to the office is characterised by uncertainty

Almost half of the respondents (46%) say that they are concerned about a fourth wave. They are also afraid of having too much contact with others in the office. 52% would even welcome mandatory COVID certificates at their workplace. But the fear of a fourth wave is not the only factor affecting the return to the office: 60% of respondents say that they miss social contact with their colleagues. Many also miss contact with friends. Schmid confirms these findings. “We too are finding that employees are increasingly returning to the office and enjoying interacting with colleagues.” Personal interaction is more important for women than men. While 50% of women intend to work exclusively in the office again, only 38% of men anticipate doing so.

 

Changes in commuter behaviour

The consequences of working from home, such as an improved work-life balance, also have an impact on commuting. The coronavirus pandemic has changed the commuting habits of 30% of respondents. Of these, half (54%) would like to commute less in future. A third are no longer willing to invest so much time in commuting. And 18% want to avoid public transport in future and switch to driving.

 

The pandemic is driving remote working

According to the survey, few employees were working from home before the coronavirus pandemic. Only 18% worked from home for two or more days a week. In the period of the study this figure stood at 36%. Well over half of the respondents say that they are satisfied or very satisfied with the conditions that their employer offers. The number of days spent working from home has a clear influence on employee satisfaction. Some companies already offered the option of working remotely before the pandemic. Of those surveyed, 19% stated that they preferred working only on site, while 44% had supervisors who didn’t allow remote working. Now, employees have developed a taste for it. In light of the new possibilities offered by employers, more than half of respondents are planning to work from home in future. “This change in thinking is something we’ve observed in our company too. Most employees are taking advantage of the option of working around 50% of their hours from home, which improves their work-life balance,” explains Schmid.

 

 

The survey, which is representative of the population as a whole, was carried out on behalf of Generali Switzerland between 22 and 29 September 2021, with 417 people taking part.

ABOUT GENERALI

The Generali Group is an independent Italian group with a strong international presence. Established in 1831, the company is now one of the world’s leading insurers. Generali has around 72,000 employees serving more than 65.9 million customers in 50 countries. The Group’s total income came to more than EUR 70.7 billion in 2020, making Generali the market leader in Western Europe. The company is also an increasingly important player in Central and Eastern Europe as well as in Asia.

 

Generali’s roots in Switzerland date back to 1887. Today, Generali (Switzerland) Holding Ltd. operates throughout Switzerland, with two head offices – one in Adliswil and one in Nyon – and a wide network of agencies. The insurer has more than one million customers and offers products for every situation in life. These include property insurance, legal expenses insurance, life insurance and pension solutions. Generali partners with start-ups to develop innovative products. The company is the first Swiss insurer to launch a fully digital pillar 3a.

Download

Kontakt

24h-Schaden-Hotline

Die Pandemie führte zu einem Umdenken beim Homeoffice

Nov 16, 2021.

Rund 80 Prozent der Schweizer Arbeitnehmerinnen und Arbeitnehmer geniessen die höhere Flexibilität, die das Homeoffice mit sich bringt und möchten die bessere Work-Life Balance nicht mehr missen. Rund die Hälfte befürwortet zudem eine Zertifikatspflicht am Arbeitsplatz.

Zahlreiche Arbeitgeber haben es bereits vor der Pandemie angeboten: Homeoffice. Doch erst die Covid-Pandemie hat zum breiten Bewusstsein geführt, dass sich die Arbeit auch an einem anderen Ort als dem Arbeitsplatz erledigen lässt. Viele Arbeitnehmende in der Schweiz mögen die Kombination aus Homeoffice und der Tätigkeit im Büro. Das zeigt eine Umfrage von Generali Schweiz.

 

Arbeiten im Homeoffice ist für viele effizienter

Mehr als 80 Prozent der Befragten geben an, dass sie zu Hause ungestört arbeiten können. «Das Homeoffice wirkt sich zudem positiv auf die Work-Life Balance aus. Dies hat wiederum einen positiven Effekt auf die psychische Gesundheit», sagt Jean-Pierre Schmid, Chief Customer Services & Human Resources Officer von Generali Schweiz. Dass die Arbeitnehmerinnen und Arbeitnehmer im Homeoffice nach eigener Einschätzung produktiver (68 Prozent) und effizienter (66 Prozent) arbeiten, dürfte die Arbeitgeber ebenfalls freuen. Knapp die Hälfte (48 Prozent) gibt zudem an, sich fürs Arbeiten im Homeoffice in ein eigenes Arbeitszimmer zurückzuziehen. 33 Prozent arbeiten im Wohn- oder Esszimmer.

 

Die Rückkehr ins Büro ist von Unsicherheit geprägt

Knapp die Hälfte der Befragten gibt an, sich vor einer vierten Welle zu sorgen (46 Prozent). Sie haben zudem auch Angst vor zu vielen Kontakten im Büro. 52 Prozent begrüssen sogar eine Zertifikatspflicht am Arbeitsplatz. Doch nicht nur die Angst vor der vierten Welle beeinflusst die Rückkehr ins Büro. 60 Prozent der Befragten geben nämlich an, dass ihnen die sozialen Kontakte zu den Arbeitskolleginnen und –kollegen fehlen. Ebenfalls fehlt der Kontakt zu Freundinnen und Freunden. Schmid bestätigt diese Aussagen. «Auch wir stellen fest, dass die Mitarbeitenden wieder vermehrt ins Büro kommen und sich gerne mit den Kolleginnen und Kollegen austauschen». Für Frauen ist der persönliche Austausch wichtiger als für Männer. Während 50 Prozent der Frauen wieder voll im Büro arbeiten werden, sind es bei den Männern nur 38 Prozent.

 

Das Pendlerverhalten verändert sich

Die Effekte des Homeoffice wie etwa die bessere Work-Life Balance wirken sich auch auf den Arbeitsweg aus. 30 Prozent gaben an, dass die Corona-Pandemie ihr Pendelverhalten verändert hat. Die Hälfte davon (54 Prozent) möchte in Zukunft weniger pendeln. Ein Drittel ist nicht mehr bereit, so viel Zeit fürs Pendeln zu investieren. 18 Prozent wollen in Zukunft die öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel meiden und aufs Auto umsteigen.

 

Die Pandemie als Treiber fürs Homeoffice

Gemäss der Umfrage waren vor der Corona-Pandemie nur wenige Arbeitnehmer im Homeoffice tätig. Nur gerade 18 Prozent arbeiteten zwei oder mehr Tage pro Woche zu Hause. Im Zeitraum der Studie liegt dieser Wert bei 36 Prozent. Deutlich mehr als die Hälfte der Befragten gibt an, dass sie zufrieden bis sehr zufrieden sind mit dem Angebot des Arbeitgebers. Die Anzahl Homeoffice-Tage hat einen klaren Einfluss auf die Zufriedenheit der Arbeitnehmenden. Bei einigen Unternehmen hat bereits vor der Pandemie die Möglichkeit bestanden, von einem anderen Ort als im Büro zu arbeiten. 19 Prozent der Befragten gaben an, dass sie lieber nur vor Ort gearbeitet haben während bei 44 Prozent die Vorgesetzten kein Homeoffice erlaubt haben. Nun sind die Arbeitnehmer auf den Geschmack gekommen. Angesichts der neuen Angebote der Arbeitgeber plant mehr als die Hälfte der Befragten, künftig im Homeoffice zu arbeiten. «Dieses Umdenken konnten wir auch bei uns feststellen. Die meisten Mitarbeitenden machen von unserem Angebot Gebrauch, rund 50 Prozent ihrer Arbeitszeit im Homeoffice zu arbeiten und von einer besseren Work-Life Balance zu profitieren», erklärt Schmid weiter.

 

 

Die bevölkerungsrepräsentative Umfrage wurde im Auftrag von Generali Schweiz zwischen dem 22. und 29. September 2021 durchgeführt. 417 Personen haben teilgenommen.

ÜBER GENERALI

Die Generali Gruppe ist ein unabhängiger italienischer Konzern mit starker internationaler Präsenz. Im Jahr 1831 gegründet, gehört das Unternehmen weltweit zu den führenden Versicherern. Generali ist in 50 Ländern vertreten, beschäftigt rund 72'000 Mitarbeitende und hat über 65.9 Millionen Kunden. Das Gesamteinkommen des Konzerns belief sich 2020 auf mehr als 70.7 Milliarden Euro. Damit ist Generali Marktführerin in Westeuropa. Auch in Mittel- und Osteuropa sowie in Asien gewinnt das Unternehmen an Bedeutung.

 

In der Schweiz gehen die Wurzeln von Generali auf das Jahr 1887 zurück. Heute ist die Generali (Schweiz) Holding AG mit zwei Hauptsitzen in Adliswil und Nyon sowie einem breiten Agenturnetz in der ganzen Schweiz vertreten. Der Versicherer hat mehr als eine Million Kunden und bietet Produkte für jede Lebenssituation an. Dazu zählen Sach-, Rechtsschutz- und Lebensversicherungen sowie Vorsorgelösungen. Zusammen mit Start-ups entwickelt Generali innovative Produkte. Als erster Schweizer Versicherer hat das Unternehmen eine komplett digitale Säule 3a lanciert.

Download