Contact

Claims hotline

COVID-19 survey: SMEs consider the risk of bankruptcy to be real

Apr 27, 2020.

Many Swiss SMEs are feeling the effects of the COVID-19 lockdown. According to a survey by Generali Switzerland and the Swiss SME Association (SKV), a quarter of SMEs estimate that they have suffered at least 50% losses in revenue, while almost half of respondents have applied for short-time work or consider bankruptcy to be likely if the current situation continues.

Small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) are the backbone of the Swiss economy. More than 99% of companies in Switzerland are SMEs and they employ two-thirds of its working population. The lockdown enforced due to COVID-19 is affecting many of these approximately 590,000 companies and thus threatening vast numbers of jobs. The combination of a drastic drop in both demand and supply could lead to a recession. 

 

In light of these prospects, many companies are unsettled. What are the biggest concerns for SMEs at the moment, how have they responded to this challenging situation and what is their outlook for the future? From 3 to 17 April 2020, Generali Switzerland and the Swiss SME Association (SKV) surveyed members and customers about the effects of the coronavirus crisis. 716 SMEs took part. 

 

Eroding revenue 

The companies paint a somewhat bleak picture and have taken drastic measures in some cases. 43% of SMEs confirmed that they have applied for short-time work for their employees, 32% have applied for a bridging loan from the federal government, and 7% have had to make redundancies due to the situation. 

 

A large number of respondents complained of a sharp drop in revenue, with a quarter of SMEs estimating that they have suffered sales losses of 50% or more. 

 

The threat of bankruptcy is also real, with 46% of SMEs considering this likely if the situation persists. 

 

While many SMEs have shown innovation during this challenging period, with a quarter of respondents having adapted their offering, service or products, 58% did not consider this relevant. Those SMEs that have adapted to the situation have done so primarily in the area of customer service, for example by providing online advice (43%). Meanwhile, 27% now offer their products via e-commerce, and 23% have launched a delivery service or started offering take-aways (15%). 

 

Post-crisis marketing push planned

Although a recession is generally expected, companies are planning to vigorously step up their marketing efforts during the post-crisis period. A third of SMEs intend to increase their marketing activities, almost a quarter aim to win back customers with special promotions and discounts, and 14% plan to expand their product range. 

 

In view of the exceptional situation and the difficult economic environment, Generali and the SKV have launched the SME Academy, which is designed to match the needs of SMEs to the services of Generali and its partners. In short and free online training courses, various experts will impart their practical knowledge to assist SMEs and the self-employed in this challenging time. 

 

The survey

From 3 to 17 April 2020, Generali Switzerland and the Swiss SME Association (SKV) conducted a survey of members and customers about the effects of the coronavirus crisis. 716 SMEs took part. 

Download

Kontakt

24h-Schaden-Hotline

Umfrage zu Covid-19: KMU erachten Gefahr eines Konkurses als real

Apr 27, 2020.

Der wegen Covid-19 verordnete Lockdown geht vielen Schweizer KMU an die Substanz. Eine Umfrage von Generali Schweiz und dem Schweizerischen KMU Verband (SKV) zeigt: Ein Viertel der KMU schätzt die eigenen Umsatzeinbrüche auf mindestens 50 Prozent und fast die Hälfte der Befragten hat Kurzarbeit beantragt beziehungsweise erachtet einen Konkurs als wahrscheinlich, wenn die Massnahmen noch länger anhalten.

Kleine- und mittlere Unternehmen (KMU) sind das Rückgrat der Schweizer Wirtschaft. Mehr als 99 Prozent der Unternehmen in der Schweiz sind KMU und sie stellen zwei Drittel der hiesigen Arbeitsplätze. Der wegen Covid-19 verordnete Lockdown geht vielen dieser rund 590'000 Unternehmen an die finanzielle Substanz und bedroht damit zahlreiche Arbeitsplätze. Die Mischung aus einem drastischen Nachfrage- und Angebotsrückgang könnte in eine Rezession münden.


Viele Unternehmen sind angesichts dieser Aussichten verunsichert. Was beschäftigt KMU aktuell am stärksten, wie haben sie auf die neue Herausforderung reagiert und wie blicken sie in die Zukunft? Generali Schweiz und der Schweizerische KMU Verband (SKV) haben zwischen dem 3. und 17. April 2020 bei Mitgliedern und Kunden die Auswirkungen der Coronakrise nachgefragt. 716 KMU haben an der Umfrage teilgenommen.

 

Erodierende Umsätze

Die Unternehmen zeichnen ein eher düsteres Bild und haben teilweise drastische Massnahmen ergriffen. 43 Prozent der KMU haben geantwortet, dass sie Kurzarbeit für die Mitarbeitenden angemeldet haben, 32 Prozent haben beim Bund einen Überbrückungskredit beantragt, 7 Prozent mussten angesichts der Situation gar Kündigungen aussprechen. 

 

Ein grosser Teil der Befragten beklagt stark rückläufige Umsätze. Ein Viertel der KMU schätzt die eigenen Umsatzeinbussen auf 50 Prozent und mehr. 

 

Auch die Wahrscheinlichkeit eines Konkurses ist real. 46 Prozent der KMU erachten es als wahrscheinlich, dass sie Konkurs anmelden müssen, wenn die Lage sich nicht lockert. 

 

Allerdings zeigen sich viele KMU gerade in dieser herausfordernden Zeit auch innovativ. Immerhin ein Viertel der Befragten hat Angebot, Service oder Produkte bereits angepasst. Für 58 Prozent war dies aber noch «kein Thema». Jene KMU, welche die Situation für Veränderung nutzen konnten, taten dies vor allem im Kundenservice, zum Beispiel mit einer Onlineberatung (43 Prozent). 27 Prozent bieten ihre Produkte nun etwa über E-Commerce an und 23 Prozent haben einen Lieferservice oder ein Take-away-Angebot (15 Prozent) lanciert.

 

Mit verstärktem Marketing aus der Krise

Obwohl gemeinhin mit einer Rezession gerechnet wird, planen die Unternehmen nach dem Ende der Krise kräftig die Werbetrommel zu rühren. Ein Drittel der KMU will ihre Marketing-Aktivitäten erhöhen, knapp ein Viertel will mit Sonderaktionen und Rabatten Kunden zurückgewinnen und 14 Prozent plant das Produktsortiment zu erweitern. 

 

Generali und der SKV haben angesichts der aussergewöhnlichen Situation und der schwierigen wirtschaftlichen Rahmenbedingungen die KMU Academy lanciert. Sie soll die Bedürfnisse der KMU mit den Dienstleistungen von Generali und ihren Partnern verbinden. In kurzen und kostenlosen Onlinetrainings vermitteln zahlreiche Experten ihr Praxiswissen, um KMU und Selbständigen in dieser herausfordernden Zeit zur Seite zu stehen. 

 

Die Umfrage

Generali Schweiz und der Schweizerische KMU Verband (SKV) haben zwischen dem 3. und 17. April 2020 bei Mitgliedern und Kunden eine Umfrage zu den Auswirkungen der Coronakrise durchgeführt. 716 KMU haben teilgenommen. 

Download