Contact

Claims hotline

A unique history

Where are Generali's roots? What does the lion in the logo mean? And what does Franz Kafka have to do with it all? Discover the most important milestones of our company's history here.

2016 

Into the future with a new leadership team

The year features changes in management structure. At the global level, Philippe Donnet moves up to become the new CEO of the Generali Group. In Switzerland, Andreas Krümmel becomes the new CEO and keeps strategic development on track. For this reason, Generali Switzerland invests in the modernisation of its business model. This involves reinforcing the culture of innovation, tailoring the products and services on offer more closely to customers' needs and developing new ones. On the organisational front, too, a lot of streamlining gets under way.

 

2012

15

Global initiatives

 

Generali redefines the Group's culture and its brand identity around the world – complete with a new design for the winged lion, which unmistakeably identifies it everywhere. In Switzerland, it prioritises long-term links with the parent company and the implementation on the Swiss market of initiatives aimed at further enhancing customer focus.

   

2008

-10

Stability in difficult times

 

Despite the crisis on the world's financial markets, Generali manages to hold its ground in Switzerland. Major projects to optimise internal processes are completed, and the rollout of the GENERA range of products sees Generali entering a new era. In 2010, Generali even manages to become the market leader in individual life business. In the following years, too, premium volume continues to grow by more than the Swiss market.

 

2007

Two reasons to celebrate

 

Generali General Insurances Ltd. moves its head office to Nyon, bringing together entities dispersed between Geneva and Lausanne in the process. This has the effect of concentrating operations and streamlining business processes.  Internationally too, there is cause for rejoicing when the Generali Group Switzerland's parent company celebrates 175 years of existence.  

 

2006 Complete Integration
 

The year is marked by major changes in shareholder structure: in its third quarter, Generali Group Switzerland is fully integrated into the global Generali Group. This makes the Generali Group Switzerland more financially stable, creates synergies, and prepares the way for growth and innovation.

 

2004 A worldwide sense of responsibility

The Generali Group once again assumes a pioneering role and serves as a role model within the insurance sector by compiling a code of ethics applicable throughout the world that sets out the principles for which Generali stands everywhere: honesty, fairness, impartiality, professionalism and respect.

 

2000

–01

A new home

 

Generali Group Switzerland companies come together to establish a new head office in Adliswil. By doing so, they have office space in reserve and create synergies in their arrangements for working together. Generali Switzerland also becomes more streamlined in its delivery, focusing its life insurance business activities on the operation of individual life insurance from now on.  

   

1994

-99

Mergers in Switzerland

 

In 1994, the Generali Group acquires a majority stake in Fortuna Holding, which it is later to rename Generali (Switzerland) Holding Ltd. Schweizer Union too, joins this new model company and changes the company name to Generali General Insurances Ltd. Finally, Generali takes over another insurance company, Secura Versicherungen.

 

1987

Generali comes to Switzerland

 

This is the year in which Schweizer Union celebrates its centenary. It is the same year that Generali begins to be active in Switzerland by becoming Schweizer Union's main shareholder. Schweizer Union has already acquired a stake in the insurer St. Galler Familia-Leben. From now on, the agency network will be run jointly, with connections established that are the basis for the Group's structure as it is today.

   

1938

-59

More foundations in Switzerland

 

More insurance companies come into being in Switzerland; they now form the Generali Group Switzerland. 1938 sees the foundation of Fortuna Lebens-Versicherungs-Gesellschaft by the publishers of the Tages-Anzeiger; Familia-Leben (St.Gallen) receives its concession in 1950; and in 1959 Migros founder Gottlieb Duttweiler sets up Secura Versicherungsgesellschaft. 

   
1931

International expansion and a round birthday

 

By now Generali, has become one of the most dynamic insurance companies in the world. At home on four continents, it has eight international head offices and more than 60 branches and agencies in 30 countries. In 1931, Generali celebrates its centenary, marking the occasion with grand festivities in Rome and Trieste.

 

1907

An employee with extraordinary talents

 

Generali welcomes someone who was to be probably the most famous employee in its history: author Franz Kafka works as a lawyer in the Generali branch in Prague from 1907 to 1908. It is his first job after graduating in law.  

 

1887 The beginnings in Switzerland

In Switzerland, the establishment of Schweizer Union this year lays the foundation for what is now the Generali Group Switzerland. At the time, it specialises in insurance against glass breakages. Innovation is already in the air, with new insurance products such as burglary and flood damage insurance being offered. On the international front, Generali keeps on growing, extending its reach round the Mediterranean, along the line of North American harbours and in the Far East.

 

1848

–60

A new name and a new logo

 

Abandoning the words "Austro-Italiche", the company is from now on to call itself simply "Assicurazioni Generali". The logo changes, too, with the double-headed eagle making way for the winged lion of St. Mark, the heraldic emblem of Venice and of that city's patron saint. The Latin inscription pax tibi marce evangelista meus means peace be with thee, Mark my evangelist.

 

1831

Generali's roots
 

Generali is founded on 26 December 1831 in Trieste, which was at the time Austrian territory. The company's original name was  Assicurazioni Generali Austro-Italiche. Its founders are Joseph Lazarus Morpurgo, a merchant, and Giambattista Rosmini, a lawyer. The company has already expanded to establish a foothold in Venice by the July of the following year. At the time it first starts operating, Generali uses a logo with a double-headed eagle.

Kontakt

24h-Schaden-Hotline

Einzigartige Geschichte

Wo liegen die Wurzeln von Generali? Wofür steht der Löwe im Logo? Und was hat Franz Kafka mit all dem zu tun? Entdecken Sie hier die wichtigsten Meilensteine unserer Unternehmensgeschichte.

2016 

Mit neuem Führungspersonal in die Zukunft
 

Das Jahr ist geprägt von Veränderungen in der Führungsstruktur. Global rückt Philippe Donnet zum neuen CEO der Generali Gruppe auf. In der Schweiz führt Andreas Krümmel als neuer CEO die strategische Weiterentwicklung unvermindert fort. Dafür investiert Generali Schweiz in die Modernisierung ihres Geschäftsmodells. So wird die Innovationskultur gestärkt, das Angebot noch konsequenter auf Kundenbedürfnisse ausgerichtet sowie die Entwicklung neuer Produkte und Services gefördert. Auch organisatorisch wird vieles schlanker.

 

2012

15

Globale Initiativen

 

Generali definiert die Gruppen-Kultur und Markenidentität weltweit neu – inklusive eines frischen Designs für den geflügelten Löwen, das Wiedererkennungsmerkmal auf der ganzen Welt. In der Schweiz sind die Schwerpunkte die nachhaltige Verknüpfung mit dem Mutterhaus sowie die Umsetzung verschiedener Initiativen auf dem Schweizer Markt mit dem Ziel, den Kundenfokus weiter zu steigern.

   

2008

-10

Stabilität in schwierigen Zeiten

 

Trotz der weltweiten Krise der Finanzmärkte behauptet sich Generali in der Schweiz. Wichtige Projekte zur Optimierung der internen Prozesse werden abgeschlossen und mit der Produktpalette GENERA bricht Generali in eine neue Ära auf. Im Jahr 2010 wird Generali im Einzellebengeschäft sogar zum Marktführer. Auch in den folgenden Jahren wächst das Prämienvolumen weiter und übertrifft das Schweizer Marktwachstum.

 

2007

Doppelter Grund zum Feiern
 

Die Generali Allgemeine Versicherungen AG verlegt ihren Geschäftssitz nach Nyon und legt dafür zwischen Genf und Lausanne verstreute Einheiten zusammen. So werden die Aktivitäten konzentriert und Geschäftsabläufe vereinfacht. Auch international besteht Grund zur Freude: Das Mutterhaus der Generali Gruppe Schweiz feiert ihr 175-jähriges Bestehen. 

 

2006 Vollständige Integration
 

Das Jahr steht im Zeichen massgeblicher Veränderungen in der Aktionärsstruktur: Im dritten Quartal des Jahres wird die Generali Gruppe Schweiz vollumfänglich in den weltweit tätigen Generali Konzern integriert. Dies erhöht die finanzielle Stabilität der Generali Gruppe Schweiz, schafft Synergien und ebnet den Weg für Wachstum und Innovationen.

 

2004

Weltweites Verantwortungsgefühl

 

Die Generali Gruppe übernimmt einmal mehr eine Vorreiter- und Vorbildfunktion in der Versicherungsbranche und entwickelt einen weltweiten Ethikkodex. Dieser manifestiert die Prinzipien, für die Generali weltweit steht: Ehrlichkeit, Fairness, Unvoreingenommenheit, Professionalität und Wertschätzung.

 

2000

–01

Ein neues Zuhause

 

Gesellschaften der Generali Gruppe Schweiz formieren sich am neuen Hauptsitz in Adliswil. So werden strategische Raumreserven und Synergien in der Zusammenarbeit geschaffen. Auch inhaltlich wird Generali Schweiz schlanker und fokussiert die Geschäftsaktivitäten in der Lebensversicherung fortan auf den Betrieb der Einzellebensversicherung. 

   

1994

-99

Zusammenschlüsse in der Schweiz

 

1994 übernimmt die Generali Gruppe die Aktienmehrheit an der Fortuna Holding und benennt diese später um in Generali (Schweiz) Holding AG. Auch die Schweizer Union wird Teil des neuen Gesellschaftsmodells und ändert den Firmennamen in Generali Allgemeine Versicherungen. Schliesslich übernimmt Generali die Secura Versicherungen. 

 

1987

 

Generali kommt in die Schweiz

 

Die Schweizer Union feiert ihren 100. Geburtstag. Zeitgleich wird Generali in der Schweiz aktiv und zur Hauptaktionärin der Schweizer Union. Diese wiederum hatte sich an der St. Galler Familia-Leben beteiligt. Das Agenturnetz wird fortan gemeinsam betrieben und es entstehen Zusammenhänge, die den Grundstein der heutigen Gruppenstruktur bilden. 

   

1938

-59

Weitere Gründungen in der Schweiz

 

In der Schweiz entstehen weitere Versicherungen, welche die heutige Generali Gruppe Schweiz ausmachen. 1938 wird die Fortuna Lebens-Versicherungs-Gesellschaft vom Tages-Anzeiger-Verlag gegründet, die Familia-Leben aus St.Gallen erhält 1950 die Konzession und 1959 ruft Migros-Gründer Gottlieb Duttweiler die Secura Versicherungsgesellschaft ins Leben. 

   
1931

Internationale Expansion und ein runder Geburtstag

 

Generali ist zu einem der dynamischsten Versicherungsunternehmen der Welt herangewachsen. Das Unternehmen ist auf vier Kontinenten zuhause, verfügt über acht internationale Hauptsitze sowie mehr als 60 Niederlassungen und Agenturen in 30 Ländern. 1931 feiert Generali den 100. Geburtstag und würdigt diesen mit grossen Festakten in Rom und Triest.

 

1907

Ein Mitarbeiter mit aussergewöhnlichen Talenten

 

Generali begrüsst den wohl bekanntesten Mitarbeiter der Unternehmensgeschichte: Der Schriftsteller Franz Kafka arbeitet von 1907 bis 1908 als Jurist bei der Generali Niederlassung in Prag. Es ist die erste Berufsstation Kafkas nach seinem abgeschlossenen Jurastudium. 

 

1887 Die Anfänge in der Schweiz
 

In der Schweiz legt die Gründung der Schweizer Union den Grundstein für die heutige Generali Gruppe Schweiz. Spezialität sind damals Glasbruchversicherungen. Auch Innovation ist bereits ein Thema, zum Beispiel durch neuartige Versicherungsprodukte wie Einbruchdiebstahl- und Wasserschadenversicherungen. International wächst Generali weiter und realisiert neue Wachstumspotenziale rund um das Mittelmeer, entlang den nordamerikanischen Häfen und im fernen Osten.

 

1848

–60

Ein neuer Name und ein neues Logo

 

Die Gesellschaft verzichtet auf den Zusatz «Austro-Italiche» und nennt sich fortan nur noch schlicht «Assicurazioni Generali». Auch das Logo ändert sich: Der doppelköpfige Adler verschwindet und macht Platz für den geflügelten Markuslöwen, Schutzpatron und Wappentier der Seerepublik Venedig. Die lateinische Inschrift pax tibi marce evangelista meus lässt sich mit Friede sei mit Dir, Markus, mein Evangelist übersetzen.

 

1831

Die Wurzeln von Generali

 

Generali wird am 26. Dezember 1831 im damals österreichischen Triest gegründet. Die Gesellschaft hiess ursprünglich Assicurazioni Generali Austro-Italiche. Gründer waren der Kaufmann Joseph Lazarus Morpurgo und der Rechtsanwalt Giambattista Rosmini. Bereits im Juli des folgenden Jahres expandierte die Gesellschaft nach Venedig. Zu Beginn der Geschäftstätigkeit firmierte Generali unter einem Logo mit doppelköpfigem Adler.