Contact

Claims hotline

Responsibility for the environment

Climate change affects us all. Together with our employees, customers and partners, we contribute to sustainable solutions. We cultivate a conscious use of resources, focus on renewable energies and are committed to protecting the environment and emission reduction measures.

Environmental management

Generali Switzerland is committed to adhering to, implementing and advancing the internationally applicable Generali Group Policy for the Environment and Climate. The first measures have already been implemented in this respect:

  • Since 2005, Generali Switzerland in Adliswil and the Canton of Zurich’s AWEL (Office for Waste, Water, Energy and Air) have had a target agreement for large-scale consumers to increase our energy efficiency. As a result of this agreement, we have been able to increase the energy efficiency of our headquarters in Adliswil by over 40% between 2005 and the end of 2017.
  • Since 2018, Generali Switzerland has covered 100% of its electricity requirements at the Adliswil and Nyon sites with renewable energy (hydropower).
  • In 2018 Generali Switzerland introduced Skype for Business. Innovative communication technologies are an integral part of the planned company-wide mobility management. Among other things, this should reduce the number of environmentally harmful business trips.

 

Commitments to climate protection

Climate change stops for no-one and reports of heavy rainfall and extreme weather conditions are becoming ever more frequent. The climate challenges are too great to tackle in isolation. At Generali, we are therefore in dialogue with other organisations, companies and our employees in order to identify sustainable solutions together.

  • Andreas Krümmel, CEO of Generali Switzerland has joined CEO4climate (in German). This is an informal group of business leaders committed to achieving the Paris climate goals.
  • Our new exclusion guidelines for the coal industry have been in force since November 2018. They state that we no longer insure new coal-fired power plants or coal mines. In addition, we no longer offer insurance for new customers who generate more than 30% of their energy production or sales through coal.
  • As part of the “We Act Challenge” we offset 63,180 kg of CO2 emissions within three weeks. This corresponds to the production of 9.47 million A4 sheets of paper. Some 154 employees took part in the campaign,
  • while 75 employees took part in the “bike to work” campaign and cycled a remarkable 18,394 km together – 13 times the distance to the Generali Group‘s headquarters in Trieste and back again, with around 2,500 kg of CO2 saved in the process.

Kontakt

24h-Schaden-Hotline

Verantwortung für die Umwelt

Der Klimawandel betrifft uns alle. Gemeinsam mit unseren Mitarbeitenden, Kunden und Partnern leisten wir einen Beitrag zu nachhaltigen Lösungen. Wir pflegen einen bewussten Umgang mit Ressourcen, setzen auf erneuerbare Energien und engagieren uns für den Umwelt- und Emissionsschutz.

Umweltmanagement

Generali Schweiz hat sich zur Einhaltung, Umsetzung und Weiterentwicklung der international gültigen Umwelt- und Klimapolitik der Generali Gruppe verpflichtet. Erste Massnahmen konnten in dieser Hinsicht bereits umgesetzt werden:

  • Seit 2005 besteht zwischen Generali Schweiz in Adliswil und dem AWEL (Amt für Abfall, Wasser, Energie und Luft) des Kantons Zürich eine Zielvereinbarung bezüglich der Steigerung unserer Energieeffizienz. Im Rahmen dieser Vereinbarung konnten wir die Energieeffizienz an unserem Hauptsitz in Adliswil seit 2005 und per Ende 2017 um gut 40% steigern
  • Generali Schweiz deckt ihren Strombedarf an den Standorten Adliswil und Nyon seit 2018 zu 100% mit erneuerbarer Energie (Wasserkraft)
  • 2018 hat Generali Schweiz Skype for Business eingeführt. Innovative Kommunikationstechnologien sind ein integraler Bestandteil des firmenweit geplanten Mobilitätsmanagements. Dieses soll unter anderem die Anzahl umweltbelastender Geschäftsreisen verringern

 

Engagements zum Klimaschutz

Der Klimawandel macht vor niemandem halt. Meldungen zu Starkregen und extremen Wetterbedingungen häufen sich. Die klimatischen Herausforderungen sind zu gross, um sie alleine anzugehen. Deshalb stehen wir bei Generali im Dialog mit anderen Organisationen, Unternehmen und unseren Mitarbeitenden, um gemeinsam nach nachhaltigen Lösungen zu suchen.

  • Seit November 2018 gelten unsere neuen Ausschlussrichtlinien für die Kohleindustrie. Darin ist festgehalten, dass wir keine neuen Kohlekraftwerke oder Kohlebergwerke mehr versichern. Zudem bieten wir auch keine Versicherungen für Neukunden mehr an, die mehr als 30% ihrer Energieproduktion oder ihres Umsatzes mit Kohle generieren
  • Im Rahmen der «We Act Challenge» haben wir innerhalb von drei Wochen 63’180 kg CO2-Emissionen kompensiert. Dies entspricht der Herstellung von 9.47 Millionen A4-Blätter. 154 Mitarbeitende haben an an der Challenge teilgenommen
  • 75 Mitarbeitende haben sich an der Aktion «bike to work» beteiligt und sind gemeinsam stolze 18'394 km geradelt – also 13-mal zum Hauptsitz der Generali Gruppe in Triest und wieder zurück. Dabei wurden rund 2'500 kg CO2 eingespart