Contact

Claims hotline

Dominic Lobalu, first Generali Running Talent

Dominic Lobalu is the running talent with iron will, refining his craft through sweat, blood and tears. He came to Switzerland in 2019. Here, he was discovered by Tadesse Abraham, the fastest Swiss marathon runner and Generali Switzerland ambassador. His very promising performances at various Swiss competitions have now earned him sponsorship as a Generali Running Talent. We are proud to financially support young athletes from a refugee background with this new programme. We want to encourage them to achieve their sporting dreams and goals. 

Photo credits : Urs Siegwart

« Ask yourself what you want. Believe in yourself. And follow your goal with all of your heart. If you believe from your heart, it will work out. This will give you the will and the power you need. »

Who is Dominic Lobalu?

 

Dominic Lokinyomo Lobalu was born on 16 August 1998 in the small village of Chukudum in South Sudan. At just nine years of age, he had to flee his country due to civil war. He first found refuge in the Kenyan town of Kakuma. As an orphan, he attended a primary school in the region of Nairobi. At the age of 15, supported by his teacher, he began running. He quickly made a name for himself and became part of the Kenya Refugee Athletes team. In 2017, he took part in the World Athletics Championships in London. Two years later, he accompanied the same team at the Harmony Geneva Marathon for Unicef. He used this opportunity to leave Kenya and settle in Switzerland. In the Canton of St. Gallen, he became a member of the LC Brühl athletics club, working with Markus Hagmann as his coach.

 

Dominic is a cheerful young man. His beaming smile is infectious. He attributes his excellent results across all distances to his natural talent for running and his unshakeable will. He has already enjoyed extraordinary success and there will be even more reason to celebrate in the coming months. 

Sporting success

  • 3,000m in 7:49.31 in Meilen at Meeting Meilen
  • 5,000m in 13:34.18 in Lucerne at the World Athletics Continental Tour Silver Level Series
  • 10,000m in 28:32.72 in Uster at the Swiss Championships
  • Half marathon in 1:03:52 in Belp at the Swiss Half Marathon Championships

 

 

Dominic, did you ever dream of becoming a professional runner?

No, absolutely not. As a young boy I used to dream of playing football. But back then all of my friends wanted to be a footballer. It was my teacher that advised me to run. In the end, he convinced me. So I started running. I was 15 years old.

 

Tell us a bit about your career and your arrival in Switzerland.

I was born in South Sudan. I lived there for a few years. Unfortunately, the political situation there was critical so I had to flee my homeland. I then lived in Kenya as a refugee for over ten years. That is where I started running for sport and became a member of the Kenya Refugee Athletes team. This team was recognised by the International Olympic Committee and I was able to take part in international competitions. In May 2019, I took part in the Harmony Geneva Marathon for Unicef in Switzerland and then stayed here. It wasn’t easy but various centres for asylum seekers in Vallorbe and Chiasso took me on. I had to prove my willingness and ability to become a professional runner. They put me in contact with my trainer Markus Hagmann. On 13 August 2019, three days before my 21st birthday, I moved to St. Gallen. Now I’m a member of the LC Brühl athletics club. I’m also attending a language school.

 

How did you become a Generali Running Talent?

I met Tadesse Abraham several times over the last few months at races in Switzerland. He approached me and we got to know each other. Tadesse told me about the THSN Refugee Team. He also put me in touch with Generali Switzerland. I’m excited to start training and get to know other runners. I already know the co-trainer in Zurich, Abdi Salam Ali, and I look forward to seeing him again.

 

What is your current goal?

My goal for a few years now has been to break records. I also want to be the first refugee to win medals at the biggest international competitions. Of course, I want to continue to stay in Switzerland too and just live off my passion.

 

What message would you like to give to young refugees?

Ask yourself what you want. Believe in yourself. And follow your goal with all of your heart. If you believe from your heart, it will work out. This will give you the will and the power you need.

 

GENERALI RUNNING TALENT

The best runners in the THSN Refugee Team receive Generali Running Talent status and benefit from intensive support. Generali Switzerland supports these athletes with running know-how, providing them with regular running coaching, individual training plans and offering them the opportunity to take part in a training camp in the Engadin valley. Generali Running Talents can also take part in numerous workshops that help them on their way to a running career: from dealing with the media and looking for professional sponsorships to support in running their own social media channels. Generali Switzerland also provides financial support for the talents.

Kontakt

24h-Schaden-Hotline

Dominic Lobalu, erstes Generali Running Talent

Dominic Lobalu ist ein Lauftalent mit eisernem Willen und arbeitet in schweisstreibenden Trainings an sich. Er kam 2019 in die Schweiz. Hier entdeckte ihn Tadesse Abraham, der schnellste Schweizer Marathonläufer und Botschafter von Generali Schweiz. Dank seiner vielversprechenden Leistungen bei Schweizer Wettkämpfen wird er als Generali Running Talent intensiv gefördert. Wir sind stolz darauf, mit diesem neuen Programm junge Sportlerinnen und Sportler mit Fluchthintergrund finanziell zu unterstützen. Wir möchten sie dazu ermutigen, ihre sportlichen Träume und Ziele zu erreichen. 

Photo credits : Urs Siegwart

« Frage dich, was du willst. Glaube an dich. Und verfolge dein Ziel mit Herzblut. Wenn es wirklich von Herzen kommt, wird es funktionieren. Denn das wird dir den nötigen Willen und die nötige Kraft geben. »

Wer ist Dominic Lobalu?

Dominic Lokinyomo Lobalu wird am 16. August 1998 in der kleinen Stadt Chukudum im Südsudan geboren. Mit neun Jahren muss er wegen des Bürgerkriegs aus seinem Land fliehen. Er findet in der kenianischen Stadt Kakuma Zuflucht. Als Waisenkind kommt er in eine Grundschule in der Gegend von Nairobi. Im Alter von fünfzehn Jahren beginnt er mit dem Laufsport. Dabei unterstützt ihn sein Lehrer. Er wird schnell bekannt und tritt schliesslich dem Kenya Refugee Athletes Team bei. Im Jahr 2017 nimmt er an der Leichtathletik-WM in London teil. Zwei Jahre später geht er mit demselben Team beim Harmony Genève Marathon für Unicef an den Start. Dabei nutzt er die Gelegenheit und setzt sich in der Schweiz ab. Im Kanton St. Gallen wird er Mitglied im Leichtathletik-Club LC Brühl und arbeitet mit Markus Hagmann als Coach zusammen.

 

Dominic ist ein fröhlicher junger Mann. Sein strahlendes Lächeln ist ansteckend. Seine hervorragenden Ergebnisse über alle Distanzen verdankt er seiner natürlichen Begabung für den Laufsport, aber auch seinem unerschütterlichen Willen. Er hat bereits ausserordentliche Erfolge gefeiert. In den kommenden Monaten wird er noch viele weitere feiern können. 

Sportliche Erfolge

  • 3000m in 7:49.31 in Meilen beim Meeting Meilen
  • 5000m in 13:34.18 in Luzern bei der World Athletics Continental Tour Silver Level Series
  • 10’000m in 28:32.72 in Uster bei den Schweizer Meisterschaften
  • Halbmarathon in 1:03:52 in Belp bei den Schweizer Halbmarathon-Meisterschaften 

 

 

 

Dominic, hast du schon immer davon geträumt, Profiläufer zu werden?

Nein, überhaupt nicht. Als kleiner Junge träumte ich davon, Fussball zu spielen. Aber damals wollten alle meine Freunde Fussballer werden. Mein Lehrer riet mir, zu laufen. Seine Argumente haben mich schliesslich überzeugt. Also habe ich mit dem Laufen angefangen. Ich war fünfzehn Jahre alt.

 

 

Erzähl uns ein bisschen von deiner Karriere und deiner Ankunft in der Schweiz.

Ich bin im Südsudan geboren. Dort habe ich einige Jahre gelebt. Leider war die politische Situation sehr kritisch. Deshalb musste ich aus meinem Heimatland fliehen. Ich habe dann mehr als zehn Jahre als Flüchtling in Kenia gelebt. Dort habe ich mit dem Laufsport begonnen und wurde Teil des Kenya Refugee Athletes Teams. Diese Mannschaft war vom International Olympic Committee anerkannt und ich konnte an internationalen Wettbewerben teilnehmen. Im Mai 2019 war ich in der Schweiz am Harmony Genève Marathon für Unicef und bin gleich im Land geblieben. Es war nicht einfach. Aber verschiedene Zentren für Asylbewerber in Vallorbe und Chiasso haben mich aufgenommen. Dort konnte ich sie von meiner Bereitschaft und meiner Fähigkeit überzeugen, ein professioneller Läufer zu werden. Sie stellten den Kontakt zu meinem Trainer Markus Hagmann her. Am 13. August 2019, drei Tage vor meinem einundzwanzigsten Geburtstag, bin ich nach St. Gallen gezogen. Ich bin Mitglied beim Leichtathletikverein LC Brühl. Ausserdem besuche ich eine Sprachschule.

 

 

Wie bist du Generali Running Talent geworden?

In den letzten Monaten habe ich Tadesse Abraham mehrmals bei verschiedenen Rennen in der Schweiz getroffen. Er hat mich angesprochen und wir haben uns kennengelernt. Tadesse erzählte mir vom THSN Refugee Team. Noch dazu brachte er mich mit Generali Schweiz in Kontakt. Ich freue mich mit dem Training zu starten und andere Läuferinnen und Läufern kennenzulernen. Den Co-Trainer in Zürich, Abdi Salam Ali, kenne ich bereits und freue mich auf ein Wiedersehen.

 

 

Was ist heute dein Ziel?

Seit einigen Jahren ist es mein Ziel, Rekorde zu brechen. Ausserdem möchte ich als erster Geflüchteter bei den bedeutendsten internationalen Wettbewerben Medaillen gewinnen. Natürlich möchte ich auch weiter in der Schweiz bleiben können. Und ich wünsche mir, von meiner Passion zu leben.

 

 

Welche Botschaft möchtest du jungen geflüchteten Menschen mitgeben?

Frage dich, was du willst. Glaube an dich. Und verfolge dein Ziel mit Herzblut. Wenn es wirklich von Herzen kommt, wird es funktionieren. Denn das wird dir den nötigen Willen und die nötige Kraft geben.

 

GENERALI RUNNING TALENT

Die besten Läuferinnen und Läufer des «THSN Refugee Teams» werden als «Generali Running Talent» intensiv gefördert. Generali Schweiz unterstützt diese Athletinnen und Athleten einerseits mit Know-how im Bereich Laufsport. Sie profitieren von regelmässigen Laufcoachings, individuellen Trainingsplänen und nehmen an einem Trainingscamp im Engadin teil. Zudem können die «Generali Running Talents» zahlreiche Workshops besuchen, die auf dem Weg zur Laufkarriere nützlich sind: Vom Umgang mit Medien über die professionelle Sponsorensuche bis hin zur Betreuung der eigenen Social-Media-Kanäle.  Andererseits unterstützt Generali Schweiz die Talente auch finanziell.