Claims hotline


The crucial years for Generali

From Union Suisse, Fortuna, Familia and Secura to Generali Group Switzerland.


The Generali Group Switzerland consistently gears its activities to its customers’ needs. Financially, it achieved a sound technical result in the P&C sector and increased the volume of contracts concluded in life insurance.


The Generali Group Switzerland could look back on a successful financial year in which its figures turned out to be more than healthy. The strategic priorities were the long-term links with the parent company and the implementation on the Swiss market of initiatives aimed at further enhancing customer focus.


The Generali Group Switzerland increased its group profit and achieved its targets for the year. Its strategic priority was the realignment of the Generali Group. The changes it made consolidated both its global character and the Generali brand.


Generali achieved its goals under difficult conditions that resulted from both the strained economic situation and the determination of legislators to regulate. Premium volume increased both in life and property insurance business at a rate in excess of the average for the Swiss market.


With the market saturated and an unprecedented crisis raging, Generali succeeded in maintaining and consolidating its position both in life and non-life insurance business, while preparing itself in expectation of an imminent recovery. Despite this achievement, the adverse conditions meant that profits dropped.


Generali succeeded, despite economic tensions, in ENERALI achieving encouraging growth in its core business, and, indeed, dislodging the previous Swiss market leader in individual life business from its number-one position.

Even at a time of economic strain, Generali succeeded in gaining additional market share in its core business and becoming the Swiss market leader in individual life insurance with regular premiums. It also embarked on a new era by launching the "Genera" range of products. Now, in close cooperation with the bank BSI, it could also offer customers a choice from a diverse range of banking products, which was the ideal complement to the insurance products it already offered.


Generali managed to hold its ground through a turbulent financial year. The crisis on the world's financial markets had a considerable impact on the conditions under which insurers do business. Even so, the flow of new customers to Generali increased without interruption. The company was able to complete major projects to optimise its internal procedures and processes.


This year saw the successful completion of one of the most important projects in the company's history: In September, Generali General Insurance Ltd., which handles non-life business for the Group, moved its head office from Geneva to Nyon, where it would share its new home, a modern office building with state-of-the-art equipment, with a variety of units that had until then been dispersed between Geneva and Lausanne for lack of space. Generali General Insurance Ltd. had been based in Geneva ever since its foundation 120 years earlier under the name of Union Suisse. The Group had grown so much over recent years that the traditional base in the centre of the city on the Rhone had become too cramped. Opening the new centre of expertise and administration hub in Nyon laid the foundation for continued success in the future, while at the same time upgrading the company's capacities in Western Switzerland. Concentrating operations under one roof will streamline management and tighten up business processes.
The year also saw the 175th anniversary of the foundation of the Generali Group Switzerland's parent company, Assicurazioni Generali S.p.A. Sitz in Trieste. It celebrated the occasion by giving its more than 66,000 employees worldwide free shares as an expression of thanks for their services and of its esteem for them.


This year saw major changes in the shareholder structure of Generali (Switzerland) Holding Ltd. In the first quarter, Assicurazioni Generali S.p.A. made the minority shareholders in Generali (Switzerland) Holding Ltd. a public offer to buy all the registered shares in public hands at the time. In July 2006, following this offer to buy, registered shares in Generali (Switzerland) Holding Ltd., which had first been offered on stock markets on 30 May 1996, having already been traded as shares in Fortuna Holding since 1985, ceased to be listed by the SWX Swiss Exchange. Following the merger of Generali (Switzerland) Holding Ltd. with Albula Verwaltungs- und Beteiligungs AG, and the absorption of the former by the latter, the minority shareholders in Generali (Switzerland) Holding Ltd. remaining after the public offer were compensated with an appropriate settlement at the end of August 2006. Albula Verwaltungs- und Beteiligungs AG then renamed itself as «Generali (Switzerland) Holding Ltd». Since the third quarter of that year, the Generali Group Switzerland has been fully integrated into the worldwide Generali Group.
This «Going Private» makes the Generali Group Switzerland more secure and more financially stable, while also creating new synergies, and will open the way to further growth and innovation in core business lines. That the premium growth – above average for the market – achieved by the Generali Group Switzerland was maintained through 2006 is confirmation that the long-term benefits sought by this development have indeed been achieved.


Generali continued to achieve greater successes under the leadership of its new CEO, Alfred Leu. It achieved premium growth in excess of the average for the market. Its earnings increased and it gained added financial strength. Various natural hazards, especially bad weather in August, brought all Switzerland's private insurers record losses. Generali had planned ahead and was well prepared for these risks. The beginning of 2006 saw the entry into force of the new legislation on insurance supervision and of the revised law on insurance contracts. Generali had prepared itself in good time for the obligations to act arising out of the revised laws and had set in motion the measures required.


For the first time since Generali, in mid-2001, had stopped actively selling group life insurance policies, there was renewed growth in the Group's total premium income.
The end of the year was market by change at the top of Generali Group Switzerland's operations, when Martin Zellweger retired as Executive Director of the Board of Generali (Switzerland) Holding Ltd., and handed over his management responsibilities to Alfred Leu.


The Generali Group Switzerland consistently pressed on with the strategic focus adopted in 2001. The core business on the non-life side was made up of motor vehicle insurance and other retail business. In life insurance, there was a deliberate focus on unit-linked life insurance with recurrent premiums. Generali Versicherungsberatung und Services AG was merged with Generali Personenversicherungen.


In mid-year, Generali discontinued the active selling of group life insurance policies. It was prompted to do this by the disadvantageous legal position, which made it impossible for this type of business to be carried on profitably. From now on, its business activities in the life insurance line would concentrate on life insurance for individuals. The acquisition of a new building at the Group's headquarters in Adliswil created new and strategically useful space and made it possible for people to work together to greater synergetic effect.


The integration process within the Generali Group Switzerland continued after the Secura insurance companies were taken over. Operations involving the Migros sales channel were bundled together in a newly-founded company, GENERALI Group Partner AG. Generali Personenversicherungen, St. Gallen, and Fortuna Life Insurance Ltd merged, operating from October onwards under the name of «Generali Personenversicherungen», with its headquarters in Adliswil.

The Union Suisse renamed itself as Generali General Insurances. Generali (Switzerland) Holding Ltd. acquired Secura Insurances from the Migros Cooperative Association. With effect from the end of the year, Generali General Insurances merged with Secura General, and Fortuna Life Insurance with Secura Life. Fortuna Investment Ltd. Vaduz was founded in Vaduz and started doing business.


Fortuna Life Insurance Ltd. Vaduz started operations.


Fortuna Holding was renamed Generali (Switzerland) Holding Ltd. The capital of Generali (Switzerland) Holding Ltd. was increased by the absorption of the Union Suisse Group. The standard registered share with a nominal value of CHF 50 was created.


The Italian Generali Group acquired the majority shareholding in Fortuna Holding from Tamedia AG.


Union Suisse became the majority shareholder in Familia Life.


All Fortuna's sales and marketing operations were taken over by the newly-founded Fortuna Versicherungsberatung und Services AG. The group life insurance segment was spun off from the Fortuna Life Insurance Company to become the Fortuna Personnel Insurance Company.

The first unit-linked life insurance products were created and Fortuna Investment Ltd., with the Fortuna Investment Fund, founded.


Fortuna was restructured as a holding company.


Union Suisse celebrated its centenary. The Generali Group became its principal shareholder.


Fortuna offered registered shares and participation certificates on the Zurich Stock Exchange. Union Suisse acquired a 20% stake in Familia Life, St. Gallen. The two companies started to run their agency network jointly.


Fortuna started to offer new products, among them daily hospital allowance insurance and life insurance for seniors, through direct marketing operations. «Union Suisse» started offering health insurance and insurance of valuables.

The Secura Insurance Company was founded by Gottlieb Duttweiler.


Familia Life was federally licensed as a life insurer.


The Fortuna Life Insurance Company was founded by the Tages-Anzeiger Group.


Union Suisse launched various types of insurance that were new to Switzerland, among them insurance against burglary and against water damage.


The Union Suisse was founded in Geneva by Otto Hosé and Hermann Steger. It specialised in insurance against glass breakages.

Contacts

24h à votre disposition en cas de sinistre

Chronique

Les années importantes

Union Suisse, Fortuna, Familia et Secura donnent naissance au Groupe Generali Suisse

2015

Le Groupe Generali Suisse oriente ses activités sur les besoins de ses clientes et clients. Sur le plan financier, il réalise un solide résultat technique dans le domaine de l'assurance non-vie et augmente le volume de contrats conclus dans le domaine de l'assurance-vie.

 

2014
Le Groupe Generali Suisse dresse un bilan satisfaisant de l'exercice, avec des indicateurs financiers très positifs. Sur le plan stratégique, nous avons principalement renforcé notre collaboration avec notre maison mère, et mis en place diverses initiatives sur le marché suisse afin de renforcer notre orientation clientèle.

 

2013
Le Groupe Generali Suisse améliore son résultat global et atteint ses objectifs annuels. Au niveau stratégique, l'accent est mis sur la nouvelle orientation du Groupe Generali. Les changements initiés renforcent son caractère international et la marque Generali.

 

2012
Dans un contexte difficile, marqué par un environnement économique tendu et une forte volonté de régulation exercée par le législateur, GENERALI réalise ses objectifs. Le volume des primes progresse, tant dans le domaine des assurances-vie que celui des assurances dommages, présentant une croissance supérieure à la moyenne du marché suisse.

 

2011
Dans un marché saturé et une crise financière sans précédent, GENERALI maintient et consolide sa position aussi bien dans les affaires vie que non vie et se prépare ainsi à une reprise prochaine. Cette constance a été défendue dans un environnement difficile au prix d'un recul du bénéfice.

 

2010
Malgré un contexte économique tendu, GENERALI poursuit une croissance réjouissante dans les affaires de base. En assurance-vie individuelle, elle parvient même à détrôner l'ancien leader du marché suisse et devient donc numéro un.

2009
Malgré un contexte économique tendu, GENERALI acquiert de nouvelles parts de marché dans ses activités de base et accède pour la première fois au rang de leader du marché suisse dans les affaires d'assurance-vie individuelle à primes en cours. La gamme de produits GENERA marque en outre le début d'une nouvelle ère. GENERALI propose désormais à ses clients, en étroite collaboration avec la banque BSI, un large choix de produits bancaires qui complète l'offre d'assurances actuelle.

 

2008
GENERALI parvient à défendre sa position dans un exercice tumultueux. La crise mondiale sur les marchés financiers influence largement les conditions cadres dans les affaires d'assurances. GENERALI enregistre cependant une croissance ininterrompue en termes de nouveaux clients. D'importants projets d'optimisation des processus internes peuvent être menés à terme.

 

2007
L'exercice annuel mené avec succès coïncide avec l'aboutissement d'un projet phare de l'histoire de la Compagnie: GENERALI Assurances Générales SA, qui exploite les branches non-vie du Groupe, transfère son siège social de Genève à Nyon, dans un bâtiment administratif moderne, aménagé selon les techniques les plus récentes, et réunit ainsi les unités dispersées, pour des questions de place, entre Genève et Lausanne. Fondée 120 ans auparavant sous le nom d'Union Suisse, GENERALI Assurances Générales SA a toujours été fidèle à la ville du bout du lac. Après la forte croissance du Groupe au cours des dernières années, la place est venue à manquer dans les locaux au centre de Genève. Le nouveau centre administratif et de compétences de Nyon pose des bases solides pour le succès futur de la Compagnie et valorise en même temps le rôle de la Suisse romande. Le regroupement sous un même toit des diverses activités simplifie en outre la gestion et optimise les processus d'affaires.
La maison mère du Groupe GENERALI Suisse, Assicurazioni GENERALI S.p.A., sise à Trieste, fête ses 175 ans d'existence. A cette occasion, plus de 66 000 collaboratrices et collaborateurs à travers le monde se voient offrir des actions gratuites en remerciement de leur engagement.

 

2006
L'année est placée sous le signe de changements décisifs dans la structure de l'actionnariat de GENERALI (Suisse) Holding SA. Au cours du premier trimestre, Assicurazioni GENERALI S.p.A. soumet aux actionnaires minoritaires de GENERALI (Suisse) Holding SA une offre publique d'acquisition pour l'ensemble des actions nominatives détenues par le public. A la suite de cette offre publique d'acquisition, l'action nominative de GENERALI (Suisse) Holding SA, qui avait été négociée pour la première fois en Bourse le 30 mai 1996 et précédemment déjà depuis 1985 en tant qu'action de Fortuna Holding, est radiée de la cote à la Bourse suisse (SWX Swiss Exchange) à la mi-juillet 2006. Grâce à la fusion de GENERALI (Suisse) Holding SA avec Albula Verwaltungs- und Beteiligungs AG, puis à l'absorption de la première par cette dernière, les actionnaires minoritaires restants de GENERALI (Suisse) Holding SA après la clôture de l'offre publique d'acquisition sont indemnisés de manière appropriée à la fin août 2006. Albula Verwaltungs- und Beteiligungs AG change ensuite de raison sociale et prend le nom de «GENERALI (Suisse) Holding SA». Dès le troisième trimestre de l'exercice 2006, le Groupe GENERALI Suisse est entièrement intégré au Groupe GENERALI qui opère dans le monde entier.
Le «going private» augmente la sécurité et la stabilité financière du Groupe GENERALI Suisse, crée des synergies supplémentaires tout en favorisant la croissance et l'innovation dans les affaires de base. La croissance des primes du Groupe GENERALI Suisse, qui dépasse de nouveau la moyenne du marché en 2006, confirme ainsi l'effet positif de l'évolution engagée.

 

2005
GENERALI continue sa progression dans la voie du succès sous la direction de son nouveau CEO, Alfred Leu. L'augmentation du volume de primes dépasse la croissance du marché. Le résultat et la capacité financière sont renforcés. Différents phénomènes naturels, notamment les intempéries du mois d'août, causent en Suisse un nombre de sinistres record pour tous les assureurs privés. Prévoyante, GENERALI est bien couverte pour faire face à de tels événements. La nouvelle législation sur la surveillance des assurances, ainsi que la révision de la loi sur le contrat d'assurance vont entrer en vigueur au début de 2006. En raison de son obligation d'agir découlant des modifications de la législation, GENERALI s'est préparée à temps et a mis en train les mesures nécessaires.

 

2004
Pour la première fois depuis que GENERALI a stoppé la vente active des assurances-vie collectives au milieu de l'année 2001, le volume global des primes du Groupe affiche de nouveau une croissance.
La fin de l’année se déroule sous le signe du changement à la direction opérationnelle du Groupe GENERALI Suisse. Martin Zellweger démissionne, pour raison d'âge, de sa fonction de Délégué du Conseil d'administration de GENERALI (Suisse) Holding SA et transmet la responsabilité de la direction à Alfred Leu.

 

2002
Le Groupe GENERALI Suisse continue de suivre de manière conséquente l'orientation stratégique amorcée en 2001. Dans le secteur non-vie, les affaires de base sont constituées par les assurances véhicules à moteur ainsi que par les autres affaires grand public. Dans l'assurance-vie, les activités se concentrent de manière ciblée sur les assurances-vie liées à des fonds à primes périodiques. GENERALI Conseils en Assurances et Services SA fusionne avec GENERALI Assurances de personnes.

 

2001
Au milieu de l'année, GENERALI stoppe la vente active des assurances-vie collectives. La raison en est la législation-cadre défavorable qui rend une gestion rentable de cette branche impossible. Les activités commerciales de l'assurance-vie sont alors focalisées sur l'assurance-vie individuelle. L'acquisition d'un nouvel immeuble à Adliswil, où se trouve le siège du Groupe, procure la réserve d'espace stratégique et la possibilité d'exploiter d'autres synergies dans le cadre d'une meilleure collaboration.

 

2000
Après la reprise de Secura Compagnie d'Assurances, le processus d'intégration au sein du Groupe GENERALI Suisse continue d'avancer. Les activités en relation avec le canal de vente Migros sont rattachées à la société GENERALI Group Partner SA, nouvellement fondée. Les compagnies GENERALI Assurances de personnes, Saint-Gall, et Fortuna Compagnie d'Assurances sur la vie fusionnent pour former la nouvelle compagnie «GENERALI Assurances de personnes» dont le siège social se trouve à Adliswil.

1999
Changement de nom de l'Union Suisse en GENERALI Assurances Générales. Reprise par GENERALI (Suisse) Holding SA des mains de la Fédération des Coopératives Migros de Secura Assurances. Fusion en fin d'année de GENERALI Assurances Générales SA avec Secura Générale et de Fortuna Compagnie d'Assurances sur la vie avec Secura Vie. Fondation, à Vaduz, de Fortuna Investment SA Vaduz et entrée en activité.

 

1997
Entrée en activité de Fortuna Assurances sur la vie SA Vaduz.

 

1996
Fortuna Holding change de nom et devient GENERALI (Suisse) Holding SA. Augmentation du capital de GENERALI (Suisse) Holding SA par l'apport du groupe Union Suisse. Création d'une action nominative de type unique d'une valeur nominale de CHF 50.-.

 

1994
Prise de la majorité des actions détenues par Tamedia SA dans Fortuna Holding par le groupe italien GENERALI.

 

1991
Prise de la majorité des actions de Familia-Vie par l'Union Suisse.

 

1990
Reprise de toutes les activités de vente par Fortuna Conseils en Assurances et Services SA nouvellement fondée. Séparation de la section assurance-vie collective de Fortuna Compagnie d'Assurances sur la vie et transformation en Fortuna Compagnie d'Assurances pour le personnel.

1989
Création des premiers produits d'assurance-vie liés à des fonds et fondation de Fortuna Investment SA avec le Fonds de placement Fortuna.

 

1988
Restructuration de Fortuna et transformation en un holding.

 

1987
Centenaire de l'Union Suisse avec prise de la majorité des actions par le Groupe GENERALI.

 

1985
Entrée à la bourse zurichoise de Fortuna avec des actions au porteur et des bons de participation. Participation de 20% d'Union Suisse à Familia-Vie de Saint-Gall.

 

1975
Fortuna vend pour la première fois par l'intermédiaire du marketing direct de nouveaux produits, tels que l'assurance d'indemnité journalière d'hospitalisation et l’assurance-vie Senior. Introduction par l'Union Suisse des assurances-maladie et objets de valeur.

1959
Gottlieb Duttweiler fonde Secura Compagnie d'Assurances.

 

1950
Remise à Familia-Vie de la concession fédérale en tant qu'assureur-vie.

 

1938
Fondation, par la maison d'édition Tages-Anzeiger-Verlag, de Fortuna Compagnie d'Assurances sur la vie.

 

1889-98
Lancement par l'Union Suisse de plusieurs assurances d'un genre nouveau pour la Suisse, telles que les assurances vol avec effraction et dégâts d'eau.

 

1887
Fondation, à Genève, de l'Union Suisse par Otto Hosé et Hermann Steger avec, comme spécialité, les assurances bris de glaces.