Contact

Claims hotline

Marital property in Switzerland

and its application

Swiss marital property law governs how property is divided after marriage as well as how it is split after the death of a spouse. As such, it is fundamental to dealing with inheritances .

Switzerland currently applies three marital property regimes:

  • ordinary marital property (participation in acquired property)
  • Community of property
  • Separation of property

 

Participation in acquired property

The participation in acquired property regime covers each spouse's own property and the property acquired by the spouses during their marriage. The distinction between the two types of assets is important when it comes to the dissolution of a marriage, either through divorce or the death of a spouse. A spouse's own property includes the assets they owned before getting married or received during the marriage as an inheritance or gift, as well as personal items such as clothing or everyday objects. Property acquired by the spouses during their marriage includes all other assets, such as income from gainful employment or investments that is not used to cover the daily costs of living. Income from managing the assets assigned to one spouse as their own property is deemed to have been acquired by both spouses during their marriage.

 

Community of property

For the community of property regime to apply, the spouses must have concluded a marriage contract. If the contract does not specify which assets are assigned to which spouse as their own property, the couple's assets as a whole are deemed to constitute joint property. On the death of one spouse, the surviving partner receives all of the joint property. In the event of a divorce, each spouse reclaims all assets considered their own property under the participation in acquired property regime. The remaining assets are divided equally.

 

Separation of property

As the name suggests, the only property recognised under this regime, which requires the conclusion of a marriage contract, is each spouse's own. This means that in the event of the dissolution of the marriage, either due to divorce or the death of a spouse, the whole of each spouse's own property is returned to them or to their heirs.

 

Surviving spouse as the primary beneficiary

Married couples can conclude a marriage contract that makes sure that the surviving spouse receives all property jointly acquired by the spouses during their marriage. If the contract states that neither partner brought any own property into the marriage, this ensures that, on the death of one spouse, the one surviving is awarded all property jointly acquired by the spouses, while the couple's children will inherit all remaining assets only after the death of the second parent.

 

Do you have questions regarding retirement and marital property? You can contact the experts in our Centre for Pension Planning, who deal with retirement-related questions on a daily basis. They will be happy to share their expertise and comprehensive advice with you. Get in touch with our Centre for Pension Planning. Our experts will be happy to help.

Kontakt

24h-Schaden-Hotline

Das Güterrecht in der Schweiz

und dessen Bedeutung in der Ehe

Das eheliche Güterrecht regelt, welche Güter nach der Heirat wem gehören und es regelt die Aufteilung des Vermögens nach dem Tod eines Ehepartners. Der Güterstand liefert somit die Basis für die nach dem Tod vorgenommene erbrechtliche Auseinandersetzung.

Aktuell kommen in der Schweiz drei Güterstände zur Anwendung:

  • Ordentlicher Güterstand (Errungenschaftsbeteiligung)
  • Gütergemeinschaft
  • Gütertrennung

 

Errungenschaftsbeteiligung

Der Güterstand der Errungenschaftsbeteiligung umfasst das Eigengut und die Errungenschaft des Ehepaares. Die Unterscheidung dieser Vermögensbestandteile ist bei der Auflösung der Ehe von Relevanz. Sei es in Folge einer Scheidung oder in Folge von Tod des Ehepartners. Das Eigengut umfasst Vermögensteile, die schon vor der Ehe vorhanden waren oder während der Ehe in Form von Schenkungen oder Erbschaften dazugekommen sind. Dem Eigengut dazugerechnet werden persönliche Gegenstände eines Ehepartners wie Kleider oder Dinge des täglichen Bedarfes. Die Errungenschaft umfasst alle anderen Vermögenswerte wie Einkommen aus Erwerbstätigkeit, aber auch jenes aus Kapitalertrag, die nicht durch die täglich anfallenden Lebenshaltungskosten verzehrt wurden. Die Erträge aus der Bewirtschaftung des Vermögens, welches dem Eigengut zugerechnet wird, fallen in die Errungenschaft des Ehepaars.

 

Gütergemeinschaft

Die Gütergemeinschaft erfordert den Abschluss eines Ehevertrages. Ist in einem Ehevertrag nicht festgelegt, welche Vermögenswerte dem Eigengut zugerechnet werden, fällt das gesamte Vermögen der Eheleute in das sogenannte Gesamtgut. Im Todesfall eines Ehepartners wird in dem Fall das gesamte Ehevermögen dem überlebenden Ehepartner angerechnet. Bei Scheidung nimmt jeder Ehegatte jene Vermögenswerte zurück, welche unter dem Güterstand der Errungenschaftsbeteiligung als Eigengut angesehen würde. Der Rest wird hälftig aufgeteilt.

 

Gütertrennung

Wie aus der Bezeichnung herauszulesen ist, gibt es bei diesem mit Ehevertrag gewählten Gütestand nur Eigengut. Somit fallen bei Auflösung der Ehe infolge Scheidung oder Tod die jeweiligen Vermögenswerte zu 100% an jeden Ehegatten bzw. dessen Erben zurück.

 

Meistbegünstigung des überlebenden Ehepartners

Ehepaare können in einem Ehevertrag vereinbaren, dass der überlebende Partner das gesamte Errungenschaftsvermögen angerechnet erhält. Wird im Vertrag festgehalten, dass kein Eigengut in die Ehe eingebracht wurde, erhält der überlebende Ehepartner im Todesfall des anderen die gesamte Errungenschaft angerechnet und die Kinder erben das übrig gebliebene Vermögen erst nach dem Tod des zweiten Elternteils.

 

Haben Sie Fragen zur Pensionierung und zum Thema Güterstand? Im Zentrum für Pensionsplanung arbeiten Experten, die sich täglich mit Themen rund um die Vorsorge befassen. Ihr Wissen teilen Sie gerne mit Ihnen und bieten Ihnen eine umfangreiche Beratung an. Kontaktieren Sie das ZfP, die Experten sind gerne für Sie da.