Contact

Claims hotline

In old age, carry on enjoying your home

Feeling at home is very important to most people. It becomes even more important in old age. It's worth finding out about real estate in good time, because ultimately having the correct finance in place is key to achieving your desired living situation.

Finding somewhere to live involves many challenging aspects: the wants and expectations of single people differ from those of young families, and the list of things older people want generally features different priorities again. The following question is key, however: "To rent or to buy?" In both cases, the budget plays a crucial role. Once issues of budget constraint are dealt with, tenants normally have no other financial worries on their minds than the security deposit. When thinking about buying a home, though, there are many questions to consider, such as:

  • financing - own assets/borrowed capital
  • which mortgage to choose
  • how to pay it off
  • setting aside money for possible renovations or refurbishments.

 

Financial planning for buying a home

Anyone who owns their home or plans to buy one has to consider questions of provident insurance (security in the event of death or incapacity to work), tax matters (achieving a balance between imputed rental value and debt interest) and issues relating to inheritance law and matrimonial property rules. When a pension analysis is carried out, these topics are carefully examined and incorporated into workable solutions.

 

Needs change over the years

As we get older, our priorities change; we become more focused on security (e.g. access to emergency services, provision of care), ease of management (e.g. everything on a single level) and special requirements (e.g. removal of obstructions). As far as finances are concerned, the following rule of thumb applies: Younger people need to devote no more than one-third of their income to their home - although a higher proportion is of course possible if you have built up bigger assets

 

Homeowners would be well advised to consider carefully the advisability of mortgage reduction or mortgage increase before they retire. Liquidity and sustainability may become a problem (from the bank's point of view) later on. This would certainly be a good point at which to think about succession planning and take appropriate steps (e.g. usufruct, residential rights) to ensure that you can continue to enjoy living in your own home without any worries.

 

Professional advice recommended

Make sure you plan your early retirement in time and seek professional advice. The experts in our Centre for Pension Planning deal with retirement-related questions on a daily basis and are happy to share their expertise and comprehensive advice with you. Get in touch with our Centre for Pension Planning. Our experts will be happy to help.

Kontakt

24h-Schaden-Hotline

Schön Wohnen – auch im Alter

Sich zu Hause fühlen ist für die meisten Menschen sehr wichtig. Speziell im Alter gewinnt das Thema noch einmal an Bedeutung. Es lohnt sich deshalb, sich frühzeitig über Immobilien zu informieren, schliesslich ist die Finanzierung der Schlüssel zur gewünschten Wohnsituation.

Das Wohnen hat viele spannende Facetten: Singles haben andere Wünsche und Ansprüche als junge Familien. Und der Bedarfskatalog der älteren Leute weist in der Regel nochmals andere Prioritäten auf. Zentral ist die Frage: «Mieten oder kaufen?». In beiden Fällen spielt das Budget eine zentrale Rolle. Wenn die Budgetkonformität gegeben ist, müssen beim Mieten ausser der Mieterkaution normalerweise keine weiteren finanziellen Belange berücksichtigt werden. Anders beim Wohneigentum; hier kommen diverse Punkte dazu, so zum Beispiel:

  • die Finanzierung – Verhältnis Eigenkapital/Fremdkapital
  • die Wahl der Hypothek
  • die Amortisation
  • die Reservebildung für spätere Sanierungen/Erneuerungen.

 

Finanzierungsplan bei Wohneigentum

Für alle, die ein Wohneigentum besitzen oder vorhaben, eines zu erwerben, ist es wichtig, sich mit Fragen der Vorsorge (Sicherheit im Todesfall und bei Erwerbsunfähigkeit), steuerlichen Aspekten (Ausgewogenheit zwischen Eigenmietwert und Schuldzinsen) sowie güter- und erbrechtlichen Fragen zu befassen. Im Rahmen einer Vorsorgeanalyse werden diese Themen sorgfältig beleuchtet und in tragfähige Lösungen verarbeitet.

 

Die Ansprüche verändern sich im Alter

Mit zunehmendem Alter stehen die Sicherheit (z.B. Notruf, Pflegebereitschaft), die bequeme Bewirtschaftung (z.B. alles auf einer Ebene) und die Berücksichtigung besonderer Anforderungen (z.B. Hindernisfreiheit) im Vordergrund. Was die finanzielle Seite anbelangt, so gilt als Faustregel: Wie in jungen Jahren maximal ein Drittel des Einkommens für die Wohnung aufwenden – bei grosszügigem Vermögen ist natürlich ein höherer Anteil möglich.

 

Wohneigentümer sind gut beraten, die Frage eines allfälligen Hypothekenabbaus oder einer Hypothekenaufstockung vor der Pensionierung gründlich zu prüfen. Später kann es bezüglich Liquidität und Tragbarkeit (aus Sicht der Bank) schwierig werden. Es kann durchaus auch angezeigt sein, zu diesem Zeitpunkt die Nachlassregelung an die Hand zu nehmen und mit geeigneten Massnahmen (z.B. Nutzniessung, Wohnrecht) ein sorgenfreies, genussvolles Wohnen sicherzustellen.

 

Professionelle Beratung empfohlen

Planen Sie eine frühzeitige Pensionierung also rechtzeitig und lassen Sie sich durch eine Fachperson beraten. Im Zentrum für Pensionsplanung arbeiten Experten, die sich täglich mit Themen rund um die Pensionierung befassen. Ihr Wissen teilen sie gerne mit Ihnen und bieten Ihnen eine umfangreiche Beratung an. Kontaktieren Sie das ZfP, die Experten sind gerne für Sie da.