Contact

Claims hotline

Tadesse Abraham talks about The Human Safety Net Refugee Team

Tadesse Abraham, the fastest marathon runner in Switzerland, talks about his story and his integration as a refugee. He also tells us about the new initiative The Human Safety Net Refugee Team, which is scheduled to launch in the fall of 2020.  

Tadesse, when did you know you wanted to become a professional marathon runner?

I saw a friend of mine on television, participating in the European Championships, and I said to myself: Why not me? Why shouldn’t I try to qualify, too? That’s where I found my motivation. I thought to myself: It’s possible. Anything is possible if I work hard.

 

 

Tell us a little about yourself and your arrival in Switzerland.

I came to the Lake Zurich region of Switzerland (Uster) as a refugee in 2004. I was 22 years old. Everything was so different here. I didn’t know a single word of German and I had no knowledge of the culture. It was very hard to introduce myself, to approach people and get to know them. So, I told myself that I absolutely had to integrate as soon as possible, learn the language and adapt to this new culture. Integration is crucial.

 

 

How did you go about it?

Running allowed me to get closer to the locals and understand their culture and customs. That helped me a lot. When you arrive in a new country as a refugee, you don’t know anybody, you don’t know how the system works... At first, I wasn’t sure where to go or who to turn to.

Often, I would train alone or with a friend at the stadium in Uster. I was quite fortunate to meet members of the LC Uster. It was very important for me to have someone by my side to help me, motivate me, and show me what I can and need to do. And most of all support me. That’s exactly what the club offered. I can’t thank them enough, and the club is still dear to my heart. I wouldn’t have been able to integrate so quickly and easily without sport; it played an essential role in my integration.

"I saw a friend of mine on television, participating in the European Championships, and I said to myself: Why not me?"

Why did you get involved with The Human Safety Net?

When I found out that Generali Switzerland was specifically supporting refugees and people with an immigrant background through The Human Safety Net Switzerland Foundation, I was immediately interested. The idea that these people have a lot to contribute to Swiss society also ties in with my personal convictions. The most important thing is for people to have the chance to develop their full potential, regardless of the environment in which they grew up. To have opportunities. That’s the guiding principle of The Human Safety Net and these values are completely in line with my own.

 

 

What do you hope to accomplish with the THSN Refugee Team?

I want to help the people involved to follow their path. I want to be their big brother, support them, assist them, encourage them. I’ll always be there for them.

 

 

What message would you like to convey to young refugees and migrants?

My motto is “Nothing is impossible if you invest 100%. You have to believe in yourself and go for it. ”

 

More information about the THSN Refugee Team

The Human Safety Net

 

Launched by the Generali Group, The Human Safety Net is a global initiative that is now being rolled out in 21 countries around the world in partnership with numerous organisations. The network is composed of NGOs and social and academic institutions in addition to Generali. Mutual aid and solidarity are at the heart of the initiative. The aim is to give socially disadvantaged people the opportunity to develop their full potential so that they can lead a secure and self-reliant life. With The Human Safety Net Switzerland Foundation, Generali Switzerland has been part of this movement since 2018. Together with two partner organisations, we are committed to helping disadvantaged families in Switzerland and encouraging refugees and people with an immigrant background to develop their entrepreneurial skills.

Kontakt

24h-Schaden-Hotline

Tadesse Abraham erzählt vom «The Human Safety Net Refugee Team»

Tadesse Abraham ist der schnellste Marathonläufer der Schweiz. Er erzählt uns seine Geschichte und von seiner Integration als Flüchtling. Und er spricht über die neue Initiative «The Human Safety Net Refugee Team» (THSN Refugee Team). Diese soll im Herbst 2020 lanciert werden.  

Tadesse, wann hast du gewusst, dass du Profimarathonläufer werden willst?

Ein Freund von mir nahm an den Europameisterschaften teil. Als ich ihn am Fernsehen sah, da habe ich mich gefragt: Warum nicht ich? Warum soll nicht auch ich versuchen, mich zu qualifizieren? Da habe ich diese Motivation das erste Mal gespürt. Ich habe mir gesagt: Es ist möglich. Alles ist möglich, wenn ich hart arbeite.

 

 

Erzähl uns von dir und deiner Ankunft in der Schweiz.

Ich kam im Jahr 2004 als Flüchtling in die Schweiz, nach Uster. Ich war 22 Jahre alt. Alles war so anders hier. Ich konnte kein Wort Deutsch, und ich kannte die Kultur nicht. Es war sehr schwierig, mich vorzustellen, auf die Menschen zuzugehen und Bekanntschaft zu schliessen. Da habe ich mir gesagt: Ich muss mich unbedingt so rasch wie möglich integrieren, die Sprache lernen und mich an diese neue Kultur anpassen. Die Integration ist zentral.

 

 

Wie bist du vorgegangen?

Das Laufen hat mir ermöglicht, mit Schweizern Kontakt zu schliessen, ihre Kultur und ihre Gewohnheiten zu verstehen. Das hat mir sehr geholfen. Wenn man als Flüchtling in ein neues Land kommt, kennt man niemanden. Man weiss nicht, wie das System funktioniert ... Am Anfang wusste ich nicht, wohin oder zu wem ich gehen sollte.

 

Oft ging ich allein oder mit einem Freund im Stadion von Uster trainieren. Ich hatte grosses Glück, denn so konnte ich Mitglieder des LC Uster kennenlernen. Für mich war es sehr wichtig, jemanden an meiner Seite zu haben. Jemanden, der mir half, mich motivierte und mir zeigte, was ich tun kann und muss. Und vor allem jemanden, der mich unterstützte. Genau das hat der Club für mich getan. Ich werde ihm nie genug danken können – der LC Uster bleibt mein Herzensclub. Ohne den Sport hätte ich nicht so rasch und so einfach heimisch werden können. Er hat bei meiner Integration eine essenzielle Rolle gespielt.

«Ein Freund von mir nahm an den Europameisterschaften teil. Als ich ihn am Fernsehen sah, da habe ich mich gefragt: Warum nicht ich?»

Warum engagierst du dich für «The Human Safety Net»?

Als ich erfahren habe, dass Generali Schweiz über «The Human Safety Net Foundation» gezielt Menschen mit Flüchtlings- oder Migrationshintergrund unterstützt, fühlte ich mich sofort angesprochen. Der Gedanke, dass diese Menschen der schweizerischen Gesellschaft viel geben können, entspricht auch meiner Überzeugung. Das Wichtigste ist, die Chance zu haben, sein ganzes Potenzial zu entfalten – unabhängig vom Umfeld, in dem man aufgewachsen ist. Chancen haben, das ist die Idee hinter «The Human Safety Net». Und hinter diesen Werten stehe ich voll und ganz.

 

 

Was möchtest du mit dem THSN Refugee Team erreichen?

Ich möchte den Menschen, die mitmachen werden, dabei helfen, ihren Weg zu gehen. Ich möchte ihnen ein grosser Bruder sein, ihnen zur Seite stehen, sie unterstützen, sie ermutigen. Ich werde immer für sie da sein.

 

 

Welche Botschaft möchtest du den jungen Flüchtlingen und Migranten mitgeben?

Mein Credo: «Nichts ist unmöglich, wenn man sich zu 100% einsetzt. Man muss daran glauben und alles dafür geben.»

 

Mehr Informationen zum THSN Refugee Team

The Human Safety Net

 

«The Human Safety Net» ist eine von der Generali Gruppe lancierte, weltweite Initiative. Sie wird heute in 21 Ländern rund um den Globus in Zusammenarbeit mit zahlreichen Organisationen umgesetzt. Neben Generali umfasst das Netzwerk NGOs sowie soziale und akademische Einrichtungen. Im Zentrum der Initiative stehen die gegenseitige Unterstützung und die Solidarität. Ziel ist, sozial benachteiligten Menschen die Chance zu geben, ihr ganzes Potenzial zu entfalten. Dies soll ihnen ermöglichen, ein sicheres und selbstbestimmtes Leben führen zu können. Über die «The Human Safety Net Switzerland Foundation» ist Generali Schweiz seit 2018 Teil dieser Bewegung. Zusammen mit zwei Partnerorganisationen setzen wir uns in der Schweiz für benachteiligte Familien ein. Und wir ermutigen Menschen mit Flucht- oder Migrationshintergrund, ihre unternehmerischen Fähigkeiten weiterzuentwickeln.