Contact

Claims hotline

Generali Switzerland to open an inhouse Innovation Garage

Apr 27, 2018.
  • During its transformation process, Generali Switzerland will invest in innovation as a key success factor and has opened an in-house Innovation Garage.
  • Employing an open-innovation approach, insurance experts from Generali will work with start-ups, universities and other companies on future-orientated topics in the world of insurance.
  • The Innovation Garage is an important part of the insurer’s new innovation culture and offers Generali space for a «New Way of Working». This includes working methods such as Agile and Human-Centred Design.
  • The innovation culture makes Generali ‘Simpler, Smarter, Faster’ and allows the insurer to proactively respond to the needs of customers with the help of innovative solutions.

As part of a new strategic direction, Generali Switzerland is currently undergoing a transformation process and innovation will be a key factor in the company’s future success. As a central part of its innovation culture, Generali opened an Innovation Garage at their Adliswil location. Here, insurance specialists and external partners will cultivate an idea pipeline with an open-innovation approach, which will be orientated to the needs of customers in the digital age.

 

This will involve Generali employees, the in-house start-up LINGS, as well as five external start-ups from the areas of artificial intelligence, crypto-security and Insurtech. Also involved are partners such as the FinTech Incubator F10, the University of St. Gallen (HSG) and corporate partners such as Salesforce. In close cooperation with the Generali Group, the actors will create an innovative range of insurance solutions. As early as 2015, the MIT Technology Review rated the Generali Group one of the ‘50 smartest companies in the world.’

 

«New Way of Working»

 

With a focus on innovation, Generali will also promote a “New Way of Working.” This will comprise working methods such as Agile and Human-Centred Design, which can be implemented to their full potential in the Innovation Garage. Pietro Carnevale, Head of Strategy and Innovation, sees many advantages for the company: «Agile methods help us to become quicker and to break free from the increasing complexity of our organisational structures». Human-Centred Design refers to the method that allows the company to get closer to the customer. «We can more flexibly react to the changing expectations and habits of our customers and create true value in the long term with our innovative solutions». In addition, the company will also be able to give something back to science and society.

 

Jennifer Jordan, Professor of Leadership and Organizational Behavior at IMD says: «I’m really honored to be here on this special day for Generali. As a person who studies leaders and leadership, I think the way that they set up the garage here is excellent in the sense that it’s close enough to the main operation but yet far enough away that it can be innovative and can think differently and can stimulate a different way of thinking. And hopefully bring what is learned here back to Generali.»

 

Embodied Culture of Innovation

 

The Innovation Garage offers optimal space for co-creation and is therefore a key part of the culture of innovation. «Innovation means progress, not standing still, being inquisitive about the needs of our customers», says Andreas Krümmel, CEO of Generali Switzerland. «The innovation garage is intended to be our home for many creative moments, with a lively exchange of views both internally and externally. I am looking forward to these encounters.»

 

The spacious, open premises allow employees to constantly interact with one another whilst also promoting straightforward workflows. Comfortable seating areas offer a haven for relaxation and long desks promote communication. A variety of furniture types, different decors and industrial design ceilings round off the concept.

 

First Swiss On-Demand Insurance from LINGS

 

In order to meet customer needs as quickly and consistently as possible, last summer Generali Switzerland founded the «Corporate Start-up» LINGS. LINGS, which was developed by four employees from Generali, is organised as an autonomous team and operates like an independent small company that develops innovative solutions entirely with the customer in mind.

 

At the end of 2017, Switzerland’s first on-demand insurance was launched. «Photography fans can insure their photo equipment as well as their electronic devices (smartphone, tablet, notebook) against theft, loss, damage or destruction», says Kai-Nicholas Kunze, CEO of LINGS. «The policies have no excess and everything can be concluded online, from start to finish. With one click, insurance protection can be activated precisely when it suits the customer».

Andreas Krümmel, CEO of Generali Switzerland, at the opening of the company’s own innovation garage.

Jennifer Jordan, Professor of Leadership and Organizational Behavior, took part in the panel discussion on the topic of corporate innovation.

Download

Contacts

24h à votre disposition en cas de sinistre

Generali Suisse ouvre son propre garage de l’innovation

avr. 27, 2018.
  • Dans le cadre de son processus de transformation, Generali Suisse mise sur le facteur-clé de l’innovation et ouvre son propre garage de l’innovation.
  • Les experts en assurances de Generali travaillent avec des start-up, des universités et d’autres entreprises sur des thèmes d’avenir de l’assurance dans une approche open-innovation.
  • Le garage de l’innovation occupe une place importante dans la nouvelle culture de l’innovation de Generali et lui offre un espace pour mettre en œuvre un «New Way of Working». Cette nouvelle façon de travailler préconise des méthodes de type Agile et Human Centered Design.
  • La culture de l’innovation va pleinement dans le sens de la devise Simpler, Smarter, Faster de Generali et lui permet de répondre de manière proactive aux besoins des clients en leur proposant des solutions d’assurance innovantes.

Generali Suisse se trouve actuellement au cœur d’un processus de transformation dans le cadre de sa réorientation stratégique. Generali voit dans l’innovation un facteur-clé pour son succès futur, qui l’a amenée à ouvrir au siège d’Adliswil un garage de l’innovation appelé à jouer un rôle important dans la culture de l’innovation. Dans une approche d’innovation ouverte (open innovation), des spécialistes en assurances et des partenaires externes créent un pipeline d’idées orienté vers les besoins des clients à l’ère du numérique.

 

Le garage de l’innovation réunit des collaborateurs de Generali, sa start-up interne LINGS ainsi que cinq start-up externes issues de l’intelligence artificielle, de la cryptosécurité et de l’Insurtech. S’y ajoutent des partenaires tels que l’incubateur FinTech F10, l’Université de Saint-Gall (HSG) et des partenaires corporate tels que Salesforce. Cet ensemble d’acteurs crée une palette novatrice de solutions d’assurance en lien étroit avec le Groupe Generali. Le Groupe Generali figurait déjà en 2015 dans le classement des 50 entreprises les plus intelligentes du monde établi par le MIT Technology Review.

 

«New Way of Working»

 

En privilégiant l’innovation, Generali favorise également un «New Way of Working». Cette nouvelle façon de travailler préconise des méthodes de type Agile et Human Centered Design qui trouvent dans le garage de l’innovation un lieu d’application idéal. Pietro Carnevale, Head of Strategy and Innovation, y voit des avantages pour l’entreprise: «Les méthodes agiles nous aident à être plus rapides et à dépasser la complexité croissante de nos structures organisationnelles.» Le design centré sur l’humain rapproche (Human Centered Design) encore davantage l’entreprise du client. «Nous pouvons ainsi réagir avec une grande flexibilité aux attentes et aux habitudes changeantes de nos clients et créer une véritable valeur ajoutée à long terme grâce à des solutions innovantes.» C’est aussi pour l’entreprise l’opportunité de faire bénéficier la science et la société de ses avancées.

 

Jennifer Jordan, Professeur en „Leadership and Organizational Behavior” IMD, dit: «Je suis très honorée d’être ici, en ce jour spécial pour Generali. J’ai moi-même étudié le leadership et le monde des leaders, et je trouve excellent le concept de garage d’innovation qui a été développé, en ce sens qu’il est à la fois suffisamment proche du cœur des opérations et suffisamment éloigné pour cultiver et stimuler une pensée innovante, différente. Et faire profiter en retour Generali de ses réalisations.»

 

Une culture vivante de l’innovation

 

Le garage de l’innovation offre un espace de co-création optimal qui joue un rôle important dans la culture de l’innovation. «Innovation signifie progrès, ne pas rester sur place et être toujours curieux des besoins de nos clientes et clients», dit Andreas Krümmel, CEO de Generali Suisse. «Le garage d’innovation est un lieu idéal pour de nombreux moments créatifs et d’intenses échanges tant internes qu’externes. Je me réjouis de ces futures rencontres.»

 

Les locaux ouverts et spacieux permettent un échange permanent entre les collaborateurs et facilitent les déroulements quotidiens. Des niches confortables permettent de s’isoler, des longues tables favorisent la communication. Un mobilier varié, différents jeux de décors et des plafonds de style industriel complètent le concept.

 

La première assurance suisse à la demande signée LINGS

 

Pour mettre en œuvre le plus rapidement possible les besoins des clients dans une démarche systématique, Generali Suisse a créé l’été dernier sa «Corporate Start-up» LINGS. Les quatre collaborateurs de Generali qui ont développé LINGS sont organisés en équipe autonome et travaillent comme une petite entreprise indépendante. Ils développent des solutions innovantes totalement tournées vers les clients.

 

La première assurance suisse à la demande a été lancée sur le marché fin 2017. «Les amateurs de photo peuvent assurer leur matériel photographique ainsi que leurs appareils électroniques (smartphone, tablette, notebook) contre le vol, la perte, la détérioration et la destruction», précise Kai-Nicholas Kunze, CEO de LINGS. «Sans franchise et en ligne de A à Z. Le client peut activer d’un clic la couverture d’assurance lorsqu’il en a besoin.»

Andreas Krümmel, CEO de Generali Suisse, lors de l'inauguration du garage d'innovation interne.

Jennifer Jordan, Professeur en „Leadership and Organizational Behavior”, a participé à la table ronde consacrée à l'innovation d'entreprise.

Download