Contact

Claims hotline

2013 Annual Report

Generali Group Switzerland achieves its targets – Strategic realignment strengthens the worldwide Generali Group
Apr 16, 2014.

Generali Group Switzerland can look back on a generally good financial year. The Group's profits rose considerably thanks in part to the Generali Group's new strategic focus.

  • Generali Group Switzerland increases group profit by 13.1%.
  • Combined ratio improves, going up 0.7 percentage points
  • Since January 2013, the Generali Group, which operates worldwide, has been successfully strategically re-aligning itself

 

«That the property insurance sector is growing and that the returns on investments are good is good news; both these factors have played a major part in our Group's results being more than satisfactory», said Alfred Leu, CEO of the Generali Group Switzerland. «While economic conditions have become rather less tense, low interest rates and the tendency of the market to be subject to more and more regulation still present the Swiss insurance industry with major challenges.»

 

Group profit very encouraging at +13.1%

 

The Generali Group Switzerland's group profit rose by a total 13.1% compared with the preceding year. Much of this is accounted for by its capital investments, which outperformed their benchmarks. Despite considerable pressure on prices, it was also possible to do profitable non-life business. Gross premium income stood at CHF 841 million, and, with an increase of 1.3%, kept pace with the market. Motor vehicle insurance, which accounted for 46% of this, was the most successful line of business, as it had been in the previous year. Together with property and business insurance, it played a considerable part in improving the combined ratio, which went from 95.1% to 94.4%.

 

Within the Life & Pensions segment, the volume of conventional life insurance business with regular premiums rose by 9.2% despite problematic interest rates. The decline in single-premium business resulted in a fall in gross premiums booked, by 6.3% compared with the previous year, down to CHF 1,307 million. The Group's gross premium volume consequently fell by 3.5%.

 

A successful start to the strategic realignment

 

In terms of strategy, the changes in the worldwide Generali Group were prioritised. Embarked on in 2013, the realignment aims to strengthen the capital base and to further build up insurance as the core business. It is intended not only to further develop services in ways that benefit customers but also to increase both profitability and global market capitalisation. This will be enable Generali to build its stakeholders' trust in it by being a financially strong and reliable partner to them.

 

The impetus of the changes is shown by the success with which various global initiatives have already been rolled out at the local level. Generali's new and uniform brand identity underlines the new Group-wide strategy and reinforces the Group's global character.

 

The complete Annual Report, with key figures and notes on them, the year's financial statements for the main holding companies and a review of the decisive projects and campaigns of 2013, is published at generali.ch/unternehmen/finanzielle_berichterstattung.html.

Download

Contacts

24h à votre disposition en cas de sinistre

Résultat de l'exercice 2013

Le Groupe Generali Suisse atteint ses objectifs – la nouvelle orientation stratégique consolide le groupe présent à l'échelle internationale.
avr. 16, 2014.

Le Groupe Generali Suisse dresse un bilan globalement positif de cet exercice. Le résultat global connaît une évolution très favorable, en partie grâce à la nouvelle stratégie de Generali Group.

  • Le Groupe Generali Suisse atteint un résultat global en hausse de 13,1 %
  • Le ratio combiné s'améliore de 0,7 point de pourcentage
  • La mise en place de la nouvelle orientation stratégique de Generali Group à l'échelle internationale, entamée en janvier 2013, est une réussite

 

«La forte croissance du secteur des assurances Choses et les bons résultats de placement ont grandement aidé notre groupe à atteindre ce résultat satisfaisant», déclare Alfred Leu, CEO du Groupe Generali Suisse. «Le contexte économique s'est un peu détendu, mais les faibles taux d'intérêt ainsi que la réglementation croissante du marché continuent de représenter un défi important pour le secteur suisse de l'assurance.»

 

Un très bon résultat global, en hausse de 13,1 %

Le résultat global du Groupe Generali Suisse a augmenté de 13,1 % au total, par rapport à l'exercice précédent. Les placements de capitaux ont fortement contribué à ce succès, avec des résultats supérieurs aux critères de référence. En dépit de la forte pression sur les prix, le domaine Non-vie a lui aussi évolué de façon positive. Les recettes brutes de primes acquises ont totalisé 841 millions de francs, en hausse de 1,3 % dans un contexte de croissance du marché. Avec une part de 46 %, l'assurance véhicules à moteur a été le secteur le plus rentable, comme lors de l'exercice précédent. Avec l'assurance Choses et l'assurance d'entreprises, elle a fortement participé à l'amélioration du ratio combiné, qui est passé de 95,1 % à 94,4 %.

 

Dans le secteur Life & Pension, le volume des assurances-vie conventionnelles à primes en cours a augmenté de 9,2 %, malgré des taux d'intérêt défavorables. En raison du recul des affaires à primes uniques, les primes brutes enregistrées ont chuté de 6,3 % par rapport à l'exercice précédent, pour atteindre 1'307 millions de francs. Cette évolution a provoqué une baisse de 3,5 % du volume total des primes du groupe.

 

Des débuts prometteurs pour la nouvelle orientation stratégique

Au niveau stratégique, l'accent a été mis sur les modifications apportées à Generali Group à l'échelle internationale. La nouvelle orientation définie en 2013 a pour but de renforcer la base de capital et de consolider notre cœur de métier, l'assurance. Pour cela, il faut d'une part développer des prestations avantageuses pour les clients et, d'autre part, accroître notre rentabilité et la capitalisation boursière internationale. Cela permettra à Generali de s'attirer la confiance des différents groupes d'intérêt, en tant que partenaire fiable et solide sur le plan financier.

 

Diverses initiatives internationales ont déjà été mises en place avec brio au niveau local et témoignent du dynamisme du changement. La nouvelle présence harmonisée de la marque Generali souligne la nouvelle stratégie du groupe et renforce le caractère international de celui-ci.

 

Le rapport de gestion complet, avec les indicateurs commentés, les comptes annuels, les principales sociétés ainsi qu'un retour sur les actions et les projets qui ont marqué l'exercice 2013, est publié sur generali.ch/fr/unternehmen/finanzielle_berichterstattung.html.

Download