Contact

Claims hotline

Hans-Jürgen Wolter to become new Chief Risk Officer of Generali Switzerland

Nov 10, 2020.

Hans-Jürgen Wolter will take up the position of Chief Risk Officer at Generali Switzerland on 1 January 2021. He will become a member of the Executive Board.

As the new Chief Risk Officer (CRO) of Generali Switzerland, Hans-Jürgen Wolter will become head of the Risk Management team on 1 January 2021. He succeeds Giselle Lim in this position. Mr Wolter will become a member of the Executive Board of Generali Switzerland.

 

Mr Wolter began his professional career in 1988 at Helvetia Insurance. He has since gained some 30 years of experience in the insurance industry, with past positions including Divisional CRO at Swiss Re and Group CRO at Swiss Life. He worked for Generali Investments in Trieste as Chief Risk & Performance Officer from 2008, before becoming a partner in a management consulting company. Most recently, he was a partner and Head of Actuarial & Risk at Mazars Switzerland. He is now returning to Generali, and the insurance industry, as CRO.

 

Mr Wolter has an MSc in Physics from ETH Zurich and an MA in Quantitative Economics from the University of St. Gallen, where he subsequently earned a PhD and postdoctoral degree in Economics. He is an Actuary SAA and Swiss Certified Pension Actuary (SKPE). He also taught at the Harvard Business School as a visiting professor and at the University of St. Gallen as an adjunct professor of Finance until his retirement from teaching.

 

"The principle of insurance is simple: Customers transfer a risk of loss to the insurance company in exchange for a premium. However, the requirements for managing all these risks are becoming increasingly complex. As CRO, I’ll work to make sure that insurance remains straightforward for customers, now and in the future," says Mr Wolter of his new position at Generali Switzerland.

 

Andreas Krümmel, CEO of Generali Switzerland: "We've been able to attract an extremely experienced Chief Risk Officer in the person of Hans-Jürgen Wolter, who has excellent knowledge of risk management and corporate governance. His expertise will prove extremely valuable to Generali Switzerland as it continues on its development path."

 

Mr Wolter is 59, a Swiss citizen and lives in Dübendorf.

 

Download

Contacts

24h à votre disposition en cas de sinistre

Hans-Jürgen Wolter sera le nouveau Chief Risk Officer de Generali Suisse

nov. 10, 2020.

Le 1er janvier 2021, Hans-Jürgen Wolter reprendra la fonction de Chief Risk Officer de Generali Suisse. Il sera également membre du Comité de Direction.

En tant que Chief Risk Officer (CRO) de Generali Suisse, Hans-Jürgen Wolter assumera, à compter du 1er janvier 2021, la conduite du département Risk Management. Il succèdera dans cette fonction à Giselle Lim. Hans-Jürgen Wolter sera membre du Comité de Direction de Generali Suisse.

 

C’est auprès de la compagnie d’assurance Helvetia que Hans-Jürgen Wolter a débuté sa carrière professionnelle en 1988. Il dispose de près de trente ans d’expérience dans le secteur de l’assurance, ayant entre autres occupé le poste de CRO au sein d’une division de Swiss Re ainsi que chez Swiss Life à l’échelle du Groupe. Dès 2008, il a exercé la fonction de Chief Risk & Performance Officer auprès de Generali Investments à Trieste. Il a ensuite quitté l’entreprise pour devenir partenaire au sein de diverses sociétés de conseil. Il occupait en dernier lieu le poste de partenaire et responsable Actuarial & Risk chez Mazars Switzerland. Il revient à présent, en tant que CRO, chez Generali et dans le secteur de l’assurance.

 

Hans-Jürgen Wolter est titulaire d’un diplôme de physique de l’EPFZ et d’une licence en économie quantitative de l’Université de Saint-Gall où il a rédigé une thèse en économie avant d’obtenir le titre de docteur. Il est actuaire ASA et expert diplômé en assurances de pension (CSEP). Il a également enseigné en tant que professeur invité à la Harvard Business School et en tant que professeur de finances titulaire à l’Université de Saint-Gall jusqu’à y obtenir le titre de professeur émérite.

 

« Le principe de l’assurance est très simple : un client cède un risque à une assurance en échange d’une prime et l’assurance lui apporte son soutien lorsqu’un dommage survient. Les exigences relatives à la gestion de tous ces risques deviennent cependant de plus en plus complexes. En tant que CRO, je m’engage à ce que l’assurance reste simple pour le client, à l’avenir également », précise Hans-Jürgen Wolter au sujet de son nouveau poste chez Generali Suisse.

 

Andreas Krümmel, CEO de Generali Suisse, complète : « Nous avons engagé en la personne de Hans-Jürgen Wolter un Chief Risk Officer très expérimenté. Il dispose d’excellentes connaissances dans les domaines de la gestion des risques et de la gouvernance d’entreprise. Son expertise sera très précieuse pour le développement futur de Generali Suisse ».

 

Hans-Jürgen Wolter a 59 ans, il est citoyen suisse et vit à Dübendorf.

 

Download