Contact

Claims hotline

Refugee Team takes the top spot in the first audio-assisted race in Europe

Nov 24, 2020.

After two months of training, the 11 refugees and migrants who make up «The Human Safety Net Refugee Team» lined up at the start of the «20 km of Geneva by Genève Aéroport» race. The team members ran the 5 km course with the help of an audio guide that provided them with directions. As they ran, they were supported by their coach Tadesse Abraham. Kidane Solomon took first place, Yohannes Haysh came in sixth and Awet Habtemariam was 13th.

The «20 km of Geneva by Genève Aéroport» race was the first opportunity for members of «The Human Safety Net Refugee Team» to measure their performance against other competitors. The race with 2,844 runners was a completely new challenge: participants ran 5, 10 or 20 km with the help of an app with an audio guide. It was the first race of its kind in Europe. 

 

Kidane Solomon wins over 5 km

Eleven members of the Refugee Team took on the 5 km event on 22 November 2020. Kidane Solomon took first place with a time of 14 minutes and 19 seconds. Two of his team mates also took top spots in the race: Yohannes Haysh was placed first in his category (men aged 17-29), and sixth overall, with a time of 16 minutes and 41 seconds. Awet Habtemariam completed the race in 18 minutes, putting her in 13th place. 

 

Tadesse Abraham runs with his team

In mid-September, Generali Switzerland’s «The Human Safety Net Switzerland Foundation» worked with Swiss marathon record holder Tadesse Abraham to form a running group. The group, comprising 34 refugees and migrants with a love of running, train together twice a week in Geneva. Abraham wants to motivate the members of the Refugee Team to do their best. To help them, he ran the «20 km of Geneva by Genève Aéroport» with them. Abraham came to Switzerland as a refugee from Eritrea in 2004. At the time, he experienced the enormous power of sport as an integrating force. “Coming to a new country as a refugee is a challenge. By running marathons, I quickly became familiar with Swiss culture and customs. Being part of a running team was incredibly helpful to me,” says Abraham.

 

“Sport is everything. Sport is life”

Kidane Solomon, a member of the Refugee Team, is originally from Eritrea and has lived in Switzerland since 2014. He began his amateur running career in 2017. This year, he completed a half marathon in Frankfurt, coming in third. And he did so with borrowed shoes because he could not afford a pair of his own. He has been a member of «The Human Safety Net Refugee Team» since September, receiving running gear and professional training. On 18 October, Solomon ran the Swiss national championships in Belp, where he recorded the second fastest time in the half marathon. After taking bronze and silver, he took gold at the «20 km of Geneva by Genève Aéroport». “For me, sport is everything. Sport is life. My dream is to earn a living as a professional runner. Thanks to the Refugee Team, I am able to train in a more targeted manner and get closer to achieving my dream,” he says.

 

“Running gives me an incredible amount of energy”

Another member of the Refugee Team is Yohannes Haysh, who came to Switzerland in 2015 when he was 16 years old. He learned to speak French with the help of Google. He is now completing his secondary studies in healthcare and intends to start a bachelor’s degree in nursing next year. Haysh explains: “I love how much energy running gives me. After training, I am very happy and proud of myself. On the Refugee Team, I work with the coach to find out in which distance I am particularly strong. I would like to be a professional athlete like Tadesse Abraham some day.” The «20 km of Geneva by Genève Aéroport». was the second race he has run. With sixth place in the overall standings, Haysh shows the potential he has.

 

Photos from the race – password: RefugeeTeam20

 

Further information about the running group: The Human Safety Net Refugee Team

 

Further information about the foundation: The Human Safety Net Switzerland 

 

Further information about the virtual run: 20 km of Geneva by Genève Airport

Download

Contacts

24h à votre disposition en cas de sinistre

Le Refugee Team se classe parmi les meilleurs lors de la première course audioguidée d’Europe

nov. 24, 2020.
Après deux mois d’entraînement, onze personnes réfugiées ou issues de la migration, membres de l’équipe de course à pied « The Human Safety Net Refugee Team », ont pris le départ des « 20km by Genève Aéroport ». Elles ont parcouru l’itinéraire de cinq kilomètres en suivant les instructions transmises par une application d’audioguidage. Le soutien de leur mentor Tadesse Abraham a porté ses fruits. Kidane Solomon a décroché la première place. Yohannes Haysh s’est classé en sixième position et Awet Habtemariam en treizième position.

Lors des « 20km by Genève Aéroport », l’équipe de course à pied « The Human Safety Net Refugee Team » a eu pour la première fois l’opportunité de se mesurer aux autres participantes et participants d’une compétition sportive. 2844 coureurs et coureuses ont ainsi relevé un défi d’un type nouveau, celui de parcourir à l’aide d’une application d’audioguidage un itinéraire de cinq, dix ou vingt kilomètres. Une première en Europe.

 

Kidane Solomon gagne sur le parcours du cinq kilomètres

Onze membres du Refugee Team ont couru, le 22 novembre 2020, la distance de cinq kilomètres. Avec un chrono de 14 minutes et 19 secondes, Kidane Solomon a décroché le podium. Deux autres membres de l’équipe, novices de la compétition, se sont également classés parmi les meilleurs. Yohannes Haysh a obtenu, avec 16 minutes et 41 secondes, le meilleur résultat de sa catégorie « Homme de 17 à 29 ans » et le sixième rang du classement général. Awet Habtemariam a parcouru les cinq kilomètres en 18 minutes, arrivant ainsi en treizième position.

 

Tadesse Abraham aux côtés de son équipe

Mi-septembre, la fondation de Generali Suisse « The Human Safety Net Switzerland » s’est associée à Tadesse Abraham, détenteur du record de marathon Suisse, pour créer un groupe de course à pied. Deux fois par semaine, 34 personnes réfugiées ou issues de la migration, adeptes de course à pied, s’entraînent ensemble à Genève. Tadesse Abraham souhaite encourager les membres du Refugee Team à tirer le meilleur d’eux-mêmes. Pour les soutenir, il a couru les « 20km by Genève Aéroport » à leurs côtés. Tadesse Abraham est arrivé en Suisse en 2004 en tant que réfugié en provenance d’Érythrée. Il a à cette époque lui-même expérimenté la fonction intégrative du sport. « Arriver en tant que réfugié dans un nouveau pays est un défi. Grâce au marathon, j’ai rapidement appris à connaître la culture et les traditions suisses. Faire partie d’une équipe de course à pied m’a énormément aidé à cet égard », précise-t-il. 

 

« Le sport, c’est tout. Le sport, c’est la vie. »

Kidane Solomon, membre du Refugee Team originaire d’Érythrée, vit en Suisse depuis 2014. Il a commencé à courir en 2017 en tant qu’amateur. Cette année, il a décroché la troisième place au semi-marathon de Francfort. Ne pouvant s’offrir des chaussures de course, il avait dû en emprunter pour prendre le départ. Il est membre de « The Human Safety Net Refugee Team » depuis septembre. En tant que tel, il s’est vu remettre l’équipement nécessaire et bénéficie d’un entraînement professionnel. Le 18 octobre, il a réalisé le deuxième meilleur temps au semi-marathon des championnats suisses de Belp. Après le bronze et l’argent, c’est maintenant l’or qu’il a obtenu aux « 20km by Genève Aéroport ». « Le sport, c’est tout pour moi. Le sport, c’est la vie. Mon rêve est de gagner ma vie en tant que coureur professionnel. Grâce au Refugee Team, je peux m’entraîner de façon bien plus ciblée et je me rapproche peu à peu de mon rêve », explique Solomon.

 

« Courir me donne une énergie incroyable »

Yohannes Haysh, arrivé en Suisse en 2015 à l’âge de 16 ans, fait aussi partie du Refugee Team. Il a appris le français à l’aide de Google. Il étudie aujourd’hui en vue d’obtenir une maturité dans le domaine de la santé et aimerait démarrer l’année prochaine un bachelor dans les soins. Yohannes Haysh raconte : « La course à pied me donne énormément d’énergie. Et j’adore ça. Après l’entraînement, je suis ravi et fier de moi. Au sein du Refugee Team, j’essaie, avec l’aide de l’entraîneur, de trouver sur quelle distance je suis particulièrement fort. Un jour, j’aimerais devenir un athlète professionnel comme Tadesse Abraham ». Les « 20km by Genève Aéroport » n’étaient que la deuxième compétition à laquelle il participait. Avec une sixième place au classement général, Yohannes Haysh démontre qu’il a du potentiel.

 

Photos de la course Mot de passe : RefugeeTeam20

 

Informations supplémentaires sur le groupe de course à pied : « The Human Safety Net Refugee Team »

 

Informations supplémentaires sur la fondation : « The Human Safety Net Switzerland » 

 

Informations supplémentaires sur la course virtuelle : « 20km de Genève by Genève Aéroport »

 

Download