Contact

Claims hotline

Abdi Salam Ali and Kidane Solomon are new Generali Running Talents

Jan 11, 2022.

The best runners in the THSN Refugee Team receive Generali Running Talent status and benefit from intensive support. This is how Generali Switzerland helps exceptional talent from the refugee running group progress to a professional running career. As well as Dominic Lokinyomo Lobalu, who has been benefiting from this support programme since 2021, Abdi Salam Ali and Kidane Solomon have also joined the Generali Running Talent ranks this year. The Swiss marathon record holder, Tadesse Abraham, mentors the runners.

Tadesse Abraham has been heavily committed to people with a migrant background since 2020, together with The Human Safety Net Switzerland (THSN). The Generali Switzerland foundation has set up a running group to help refugees integrate into society through sport. The THSN Refugee Team trains several times a week in Zurich and Geneva and is aimed at amateurs, professional athletes and aspiring running coaches.

 

Generali Running Talent as a forge for talent

The past few months have revealed the hidden potential of the members of the THSN Refugee Team. Its runners have dominated numerous races throughout Switzerland. Generali Switzerland has therefore decided to extend its support to a select number of additional talented individuals. As well as financial support, the programme also includes workshops on topics such as dealing with the media and social media presence. The talents also accompany their mentor, Tadesse Abraham, to a training camp in the Engadin valley, where they receive first-hand tips.

 

Dominic Lokinyomo Lobalu made his début in 2021. The 22-year-old long-distance runner has already attracted attention across Switzerland. Last year, he benefited from intensive support as a Generali Running Talent. At the Swiss Championship, he came first in the 10,000-metre track running event with a time of 28 minutes 32 seconds. Dominic Lobalu was also first to cross the line in the 2020 Swiss Half Marathon in Belp, with a time of just 1 hour 3 minutes 52 seconds – a personal best. This year, he wants to achieve a time of under 1 hour 2 minutes. He competed head-to-head with his training partner, Tadesse Abraham, in the 2021 Silvesterläufe. While Dominic Lobalu finished the Zurich Silvesterlauf in first place, 0.1 seconds ahead of Tadesse Abraham, he had to be satisfied with third place directly behind him in the Silvesterlauf in Sitten (Course de Noël).

 

Abdi Salam Ali: “I want to prove myself in international competitions”

At the age of 14, Abdi Salam Ali fled Somalia and arrived in Switzerland in 2016. As an unaccompanied minor, he was looked after by the Zurich asylum agency (AOZ). He quickly learned German and attended the state secondary school in Zollikon. He then moved to the Uster school of sports and art, before beginning an apprenticeship in operations management. The 19-year-old is a member of Uster athletics club, where he is coached by Marco Rancan. Abdi Salam Ali has been assisting the THSN Refugee Team in Zurich as a co-coach since 2021. This allows him to share his knowledge and passion for running with other people with a migrant background.

 

Despite his young age, he has already enjoyed numerous sporting successes. The 10-kilometre race at the Swiss Championships in Lugano, 5000m at the Junior Swiss Championships in Nottwil and 17.9-kilometre run at the Greifenseelauf – Abdi Salam Ali topped the podium for all these races in 2021. So, it comes as no surprise that he is highly ambitious. “My aim is to take part in a few races abroad so I can measure myself against the international competition. One day, I would like to represent Switzerland in the Olympics, like Tadesse Abraham,” says Abdi Salam Ali.

 

Kidane Solomon: “My dream is to make a living from running”

31-year-old Kidane Solomon is from Eritrea. He arrived in Switzerland in 2014 as a political asylum seeker and has lived in Geneva ever since. He began regular running training in 2017. In September 2020, he attracted attention after coming third in the Frankfurt Half Marathon with a time of 1 hour 4 minutes 15 seconds. Following this success, Kidane Solomon joined the THSN Refugee Team. Since then, targeted coaching by Tadesse Abraham and Olivier Baldacchino has allowed him to constantly improve his performance.

 

Kidane Solomon won the 10-kilometre race at the 2021 Geneva Marathon with a time of 30 minutes 7 seconds. At the 2021 Swiss Championships in Uster, he completed the 10,000m track running event in a time of 30 minutes 46.85 seconds. In October 2020, he achieved his previous personal best of 1 hour 4 minutes 4 seconds at the Swiss Half Marathon in Belp. Kidane Solomon won silver at the 2021 Greifenseelauf, with a time of 58 minutes 37 seconds, directly behind Abdi Salam Ali. He competed against a number of elite runners at the 2021 Murtenlauf, finishing in sixth place. His next goal is already clear. “My dream is to make a living from running. To achieve this, my next goal is to run my first marathon in under 2 hours 10 minutes,” says Kidane Solomon. 

 

 

Click here for more information about:

ABOUT GENERALI

The Generali Group is an independent Italian group with a strong international presence. Established in 1831, the company is now one of the world’s leading insurers. Generali has around 72,000 employees serving more than 65.9 million customers in 50 countries. The Group’s total income came to more than EUR 70.7 billion in 2020, making Generali the market leader in Western Europe. The company is also an increasingly important player in Central and Eastern Europe as well as in Asia.

 

Generali’s roots in Switzerland date back to 1887. Today, Generali (Switzerland) Holding Ltd. operates throughout Switzerland, with two head offices – one in Adliswil and one in Nyon – and a wide network of agencies. The insurer has more than one million customers and offers products for every situation in life. These include property insurance, legal expenses insurance, life insurance and pension solutions. Generali partners with start-ups to develop innovative products. The company is the first Swiss insurer to launch a fully digital pillar 3a.

Download

Contacts

24h à votre disposition en cas de sinistre

Abdi Salam Ali et Kidane Solomon sont les nouveaux « Generali Running Talents »

janv. 11, 2022.

Les meilleurs coureurs et coureuses du « THSN Refugee Team » bénéficient d’un soutien particulier en tant que « Generali Running Talents ». Generali Suisse apporte ainsi son aide aux membres exceptionnellement talentueux de cette équipe de course à pied rassemblant des personnes réfugiées et les accompagne sur leur chemin vers une carrière professionnelle. Outre Dominic Lokinyomo Lobalu, qui bénéficie du programme de soutien depuis 2021, Abdi Salam Ali et Kidane Solomon font désormais aussi partie des « Generali Running Talents » depuis cette année. Tadesse Abraham, détenteur du record suisse de marathon, se tient aux côtés des coureurs en tant que mentor.

Depuis 2020, Tadesse Abraham s’engage, en collaboration avec « The Human Safety Net Switzerland » (THSN), en faveur des personnes réfugiées. La fondation de Generali Suisse a créé une équipe de course à pied afin de faciliter leur intégration par le sport. Le « THSN Refugee Team » s’entraîne plusieurs fois par semaine à Zurich et à Genève et s’adresse aux amateurs, aux coureurs professionnels ainsi qu’aux futurs entraîneurs.

 

« Generali Running Talents », un générateur de talents

Ces derniers mois ont clairement démontré le potentiel qui sommeille dans les membres du « THSN Refugee Team ». Les coureurs et coureuses ont remporté de nombreuses courses dans toute la Suisse. Generali Suisse a par conséquent décidé d’apporter un soutien supplémentaire à certains de ces talents. En plus d’une aide financière, le programme de soutien comprend des ateliers abordant des sujets tels que la présence dans les médias ou sur les réseaux sociaux. Par ailleurs, les talents accompagnent leur mentor Tadesse Abraham à un camp d’entraînement en Engadine où ils reçoivent des conseils de première main.

 

Dominic Lokinyomo Lobalu a, en 2021, ouvert la voie. Ce coureur de fond de 22 ans s’était déjà fait remarquer dans toute la Suisse. L’année dernière, il a bénéficié d’un soutien particulier en tant que « Generali Running Talent ». Il a remporté le titre de champion suisse des 10 000 mètres en les courant en 28:32. Il a également été le premier à franchir la ligne d’arrivée lors des championnats suisses de semi-marathon de 2020 à Belp. Il y a réalisé son meilleur temps, soit 1:03.52. Cette année, il veut passer sous la barre de 1:02. Il s’est par ailleurs livré, à l’occasion des courses de fin d’année 2021, à un coude à coude avec son partenaire d’entraînement Tadesse Abraham. Alors que Dominic Lobalu a terminé la course de la Saint-Sylvestre de Zurich à la première place avec 0.1 seconde d’avance sur Tadesse Abraham, il est arrivé juste derrière lui lors de la Course de Noël de Sion, se contentant alors de la troisième place.

 

Abdi Salam Ali : « Je veux faire mes preuves lors de compétitions internationales »

Abdi Salam Ali a fui la Somalie pour la Suisse en 2016 alors qu’il avait quatorze ans. En tant que mineur non accompagné, il a été pris en charge par l’organisation d’asile de Zurich. Il a rapidement appris l’allemand et fréquenté l’école secondaire de Zollikon, puis intégré l’École de sport et d’art d’Uster, avant de commencer une formation d’agent d’exploitation. Le jeune homme de 19 ans est membre du club d’athlétisme d’Uster, où il est entraîné par Marco Rancan. Depuis 2021, Abdi Salam Ali soutient le « THSN Refugee Team » à Zurich en tant que co-entraîneur. Il peut ainsi transmettre ses connaissances et sa passion pour la course à pied à d’autres personnes réfugiées.

 

Malgré son jeune âge, il a déjà de nombreux succès sportifs à son actif. Que ce soit sur 10 kilomètres aux championnats suisses de Lugano, sur 5000 mètres aux championnats suisses juniors de Nottwil ou sur 17.9 kilomètres à la course du Greifensee, Abdi Salam Ali est à chaque fois monté sur la plus haute marche du podium en 2021. Il n’est donc pas surprenant qu’il ait de grandes ambitions. « Mon objectif est de participer également à des compétitions à l’étranger afin de me mesurer à la concurrence internationale. Un jour, j’aimerais représenter la Suisse aux Jeux olympiques, comme Tadesse Abraham », explique Abdi Salam Ali.

 

Kidane Solomon : « Mon rêve est de pouvoir vivre de la course à pied »

Kidane Solomon, 31 ans, vient d’Érythrée. En 2014, il est arrivé en Suisse en tant que réfugié politique et vit depuis lors à Genève. Il a commencé à pratiquer régulièrement la course à pied en 2017. En septembre 2020, il s’est fait remarquer en se classant troisième du semi-marathon de Francfort avec un chrono de 1:04:15. Après ce succès, Kidane Solomon a rejoint le « THSN Refugee Team ». Depuis, ses performances s’améliorent constamment grâce aux conseils avisés de Tadesse Abraham et d’Olivier Baldacchino.

 

Lors du marathon de Genève 2021, Kidane Solomon a terminé les 10 kilomètres à la première place avec un temps de 30:07. Lors des championnats suisses 2021 à Uster, il a parcouru le 10 000 m sur piste en 30:46.85. En octobre 2020, lors des championnats suisses de semi-marathon à Belp, il a obtenu son meilleur temps actuel, soit 1:04:04. Lors de la course du Greifensee 2021, Kidane Solomon a décroché la médaille d’argent avec un temps de 58:37, arrivant juste après Abdi Salam Ali. Lors de la course Morat-Fribourg 2021, il a pu se mesurer à de nombreux coureurs de haut niveau et s’est classé à la sixième place. Son prochain objectif est déjà défini. « Mon rêve est de pouvoir vivre de la course à pied. Pour y parvenir, j’aimerais courir mon premier marathon en moins de 2 heures et 10 minutes », explique Kidane Solomon.

 

 

Vous trouverez ici d’autres informations sur :

À propos de GENERALI

Le Groupe Generali est un groupe italien indépendant qui jouit d’une forte présence internationale. Fondé en 1831, il figure parmi les principaux assureurs au monde. Generali est implantée dans 50 pays, emploie près de 72 000 personnes et compte plus de 65.9 millions de clients. Avec un chiffre d’affaires total de 70.7 milliards d’euros en 2020, le Groupe Generali occupe une place de leader en Europe occidentale. Il gagne également en importance sur les marchés d’Europe centrale et orientale ainsi qu’en Asie.

 

En Suisse, les origines de Generali remontent à 1887. Generali (Suisse) Holding SA est aujourd’hui présente sur l’ensemble du pays grâce à ses deux sièges principaux à Adliswil et Nyon ainsi qu’un vaste réseau d’agences. Elle accompagne plus d’un million de clients et offre des produits pour toutes les situations de la vie. Notamment des assurances-vie, choses et de protection juridique ainsi que des solutions de prévoyance. En collaboration avec des start-up, Generali développe des produits innovants. L’entreprise est le premier assureur suisse à avoir lancé un pilier 3a entièrement digital.

Download