Contact

Claims hotline

Swiss population not visible enough out and about

Nov 2, 2021.

During the darker months of the year, visibility is especially important, on and off the road. Although many people in Switzerland are regularly out and about in the dark, many take no extra precautions to make themselves visible. And yet a third of people surveyed say that it is only luck that has kept them from having an accident caused by poor visibility. Six per cent have, in fact, experienced such an accident. The majority would like to see more rules and sanctions concerning visibility. This was the result of a survey carried out by Generali Switzerland to mark the launch of the prevention initiative “Visibly safe together”.

The clocks went back at the weekend and with darkness falling earlier, outdoor visibility is once again becoming an important issue. As a survey by Generali Switzerland shows, 80 per cent of the Swiss population is out and about in the dark at least once a week. That includes 70 per cent on foot, 55 per cent by car, 29 per cent by public transport and 16 per cent by bicycle. Women tend to avoid darkness more than men; seven per cent of women surveyed said they never go out in the dark. For men, this figure is just one per cent.

 

Not enough concern about visibility
The vast majority of the Swiss population say that the issue of visibility when out and about is important or very important to them (82 per cent). Nevertheless, 41 per cent of respondents take no precautionary measures concerning their visibility when they are out and about in the dark. And of the 59 per cent who take precautions, more than half do no more than adjust their pace on foot, or by car or other vehicles. Only 44 per cent always use lights or attach reflectors to their clothing when they are out – important measures for increasing visibility. Only 39 per cent of those surveyed wear light-coloured clothing. Awareness of this issue increases with age. And respondents with children in their household are also much more likely to take precautions to make themselves clearly visible. But not so much for their children as for themselves. Just 36 per cent of those surveyed who take precautions and have children also make sure that their children are clearly visible in the dark with reflectors and lights.

 

Poor visibility leads to accidents
The experience of the respondents shows that visibility in road traffic is a key factor. More than a third say they are lucky that they have not had an accident in their life due to poor visibility.
Six per cent of respondents were less lucky. They were either involved in an accident because they were not easily visible (four per cent), or they caused an accident themselves because another person was not sufficiently visible (two per cent). A total of 80 per cent of the Swiss population believe that other people need to make themselves more visible in traffic.

 

Respondents would like to see greater awareness and more rules
The respondents agree that there is a need for action on the issue of visibility. More than half believe that there are not enough measures for raising awareness about visibility. And a little over half are in favour of more rules concerning visibility. Women (60 per cent) consider rules to be more important than men (50 per cent). And respondents from French-speaking Switzerland and Ticino (65 per cent) are more likely to support rules than those from German-speaking Switzerland (51 per cent). Many believe that wearing reflectors should be compulsory. Fines for people who are not sufficiently visible are cited as a legitimate means of improving road safety.

 

New prevention initiative “Visibly safe together”
To prevent non-occupational accidents caused by poor visibility, Generali Switzerland is launching the prevention initiative “Visibly safe together” with the technical support of the BFU, the Swiss Council for Accident Prevention. Generali Switzerland is raising awareness of visibility on and off the road with its new campaign “The Brightest”. In addition to the campaign for the general public, the insurance company also aims to raise awareness among primary school pupils. Teachers can introduce their pupils to the topic in a playful and readily comprehensible way using an interactive online quiz and other materials.

 

Marathon runner Tadesse Abraham is “one of The Brightest”
Tadesse Abraham, the fastest marathon runner in Switzerland and brand ambassador for Generali Switzerland, is an important pillar of the prevention initiative. As a long-distance runner, he is often out and about in the dark. “For me, it is very important to see and be seen in the dark, not just as a runner but as a father as well. I do everything I can to protect my family from dangers when they are out and about. That is why I had no hesitation in helping Generali Switzerland raise awareness of the issue of visibility,” says Tadesse Abraham.

 

The survey, which is representative of the population as a whole, was carried out on behalf of Generali Switzerland between 4 and 10 October 2021, with 539 people taking part.

 

 

You can download documentation on “The Brightest” here.

www.thebrightest.ch / www.diehellsten.ch / www.leslumieres.ch / www.ipiubrillanti.ch  

 

 

ABOUT GENERALI

The Generali Group is an independent Italian group with a strong international presence. Established in 1831, the company is now one of the world’s leading insurers. Generali has around 72,000 employees serving more than 65.9 million customers in 50 countries. The Group’s total income came to more than EUR 70.7 billion in 2020, making Generali the market leader in Western Europe. The company is also an increasingly important player in Central and Eastern Europe as well as in Asia.

 

Generali’s roots in Switzerland date back to 1887. Today, Generali (Switzerland) Holding Ltd. operates throughout Switzerland, with two head offices – one in Adliswil and one in Nyon – and a wide network of agencies. The insurer has more than one million customers and offers products for every situation in life. These include property insurance, legal expenses insurance, life insurance and pension solutions. Generali partners with start-ups to develop innovative products. The company is the first Swiss insurer to launch a fully digital pillar 3a.

 

 

Download

Contacts

24h à votre disposition en cas de sinistre

Les Suisses ne sont pas assez visibles

nov. 2, 2021.

Pendant la saison sombre, la visibilité sur et à côté de la route est particulièrement importante. Bien que de nombreux Suisses se déplacent souvent dans l’obscurité, la plupart ne prennent aucune précaution pour être plus visibles. Et ce malgré le fait qu’un tiers des personnes interrogées déclarent que c’est uniquement grâce à la chance qu’elles ont évité un accident en raison d’un manque de visibilité. 6% ont déjà été impliquées dans un tel accident. La majorité souhaiterait voir davantage de règles et de sanctions en matière de visibilité. C’est ce que révèle un sondage réalisé par Generali Suisse à l’occasion du lancement de l’initiative de prévention « Visibles ensemble, en toute sécurité ».

Avec le changement d’heure de ce week-end, la nuit tombe plus tôt dans la soirée et la visibilité gagne à nouveau en importance. Comme le montre une enquête de Generali Suisse, 80% des Suisses sortent dans l’obscurité au moins une fois par semaine. 70% à pied, 55% en voiture, 29% avec les transports publics et 16% en vélo. Les femmes sont légèrement plus susceptibles d’éviter l’obscurité que les hommes. En effet, 7% des femmes interrogées disent ne jamais se déplacer dans l’obscurité. Pour les hommes, ce chiffre n’est que de 1%.

 

Trop nombreux sont ceux qui ne se soucient pas de leur visibilité
La grande majorité des Suisses déclare que la question de la visibilité sur la route est importante, voire très importante (82%). Néanmoins, 41% des personnes interrogées ne prennent aucune mesure de précaution quant à leur visibilité lorsqu’elles se déplacent dans l’obscurité. Et parmi les 59% qui prennent des précautions, plus de la moitié d’entre eux se limitent à adapter leur vitesse lorsqu’ils marchent, conduisent ou utilisent un autre véhicule. Seuls 44% sont toujours équipés de feux ou se munissent de réflecteurs pour leurs vêtements. Ils prennent ainsi des mesures importantes pour être plus visibles. Parmi les sondés, seulement 39% misent sur l’effet des vêtements clairs. La sensibilité au sujet augmente avec l’âge. Et les personnes interrogées ayant des enfants sont également beaucoup plus susceptibles de prendre des précautions pour être bien visibles. Cependant, c’est davantage pour eux-mêmes que pour les enfants. Seuls 36% des participants à l’enquête qui prennent des précautions et ont des enfants s’assurent également que ces derniers sont bien visibles dans l’obscurité et qu’ils sont équipés de réflecteurs et de lumières.

 

Le manque de visibilité entraîne des accidents
Le fait que la visibilité dans le trafic routier soit un facteur décisif est démontré par l’expérience des personnes interrogées. Plus d’un tiers d’entre elles disent avoir eu la chance de ne pas avoir eu d’accident dû au manque de visibilité jusqu’à présent.
6% des personnes interrogées ont eu moins de chance. Soit elles ont été impliquées dans un accident parce qu’elles n’étaient pas assez visibles (4%). Soit elles ont déjà causé un accident parce qu’une autre personne n’était pas suffisamment visible (2%). 80% des Suisses pensent que les autres usagers de la route doivent se rendre plus visibles dans le trafic.

 

Les personnes interrogées souhaitent davantage de sensibilisation et de règles
Les sondés s’accordent à dire qu’il est nécessaire d’agir dans le domaine de la visibilité. Plus de la moitié pense qu’il n’y a pas assez de mesures de sensibilisation à ce sujet. Et un peu plus de la moitié serait même favorable à un renforcement des règles en matière de visibilité. 60% des femmes pensent que les règles sont importantes, pour les hommes ce chiffre est de 50%. Et les personnes interrogées en Suisse romande et au Tessin (65%) sont plus favorables aux règles que celles de Suisse alémanique (51%). Beaucoup sont d’avis que le port de réflecteurs devrait être obligatoire. La distribution d’amendes aux personnes qui ne sont pas assez visibles est mentionnée comme un moyen légitime de renforcer la sécurité du trafic routier.

 

Nouvelle initiative de prévention « Visibles ensemble, en toute sécurité »
Afin de prévenir les accidents non professionnels dus à un manque de visibilité, Generali Suisse lance l’initiative de prévention « Visibles ensemble, en toute sécurité » avec le soutien spécialisé du BPA, le Bureau de prévention des accidents. À cet effet, Generali Suisse sensibilise à la visibilité sur et à côté des routes avec sa nouvelle campagne « Les Lumières ». En plus de la campagne destinée à la population générale, la compagnie d’assurances se concentre également sur la sensibilisation des élèves de niveau primaire. Grâce à un quiz interactif en ligne et à d’autres outils sur le thème de la visibilité, les enseignants peuvent présenter le sujet à leurs élèves de manière ludique et attrayante.

 

Le marathonien Tadesse Abraham fait partie des « Lumières »
Tadesse Abraham, le marathonien le plus rapide de Suisse et ambassadeur de la marque Generali Suisse, est un pilier important de l’initiative de prévention. Étant lui-même coureur de fond, il s’entraîne souvent dans l’obscurité. « Non seulement pour moi en tant que coureur, mais aussi en tant que père, voir et être vu dans l’obscurité est très important. Je fais un maximum pour protéger ma famille des dangers de la route. C’est pourquoi il me semblait évident de soutenir Generali Suisse dans la sensibilisation à la visibilité », déclare Tadesse Abraham.

L’enquête représentative de la population a été réalisée sur mandat de Generali Suisse entre le 4 et le 10 octobre 2021. 539 personnes y ont participé.

 

 

Les documents relatifs à l’initiative « Les Lumières » peuvent être téléchargés ici.
Mot de passe : Leslumieres21

www.leslumieres.ch / www.diehellsten.ch / www.ipiubrillanti.ch / www.thebrightest.ch

 

 

À propos de GENERALI

Le Groupe Generali est un groupe italien indépendant qui jouit d’une forte présence internationale. Fondé en 1831, il figure parmi les principaux assureurs au monde. Generali est implantée dans 50 pays, emploie près de 72 000 personnes et compte plus de 65.9 millions de clients. Avec un chiffre d’affaires total de 70.7 milliards d’euros en 2020, le Groupe Generali occupe une place de leader en Europe occidentale. Il gagne également en importance sur les marchés d’Europe centrale et orientale ainsi qu’en Asie.

 

En Suisse, les origines de Generali remontent à 1887. Generali (Suisse) Holding SA est aujourd’hui présente sur l’ensemble du pays grâce à ses deux sièges principaux à Adliswil et Nyon ainsi qu’un vaste réseau d’agences. Elle accompagne plus d’un million de clients et offre des produits pour toutes les situations de la vie. Notamment des assurances-vie, choses et de protection juridique ainsi que des solutions de prévoyance. En collaboration avec des start-up, Generali développe des produits innovants. L’entreprise est le premier assureur suisse à avoir lancé un pilier 3a entièrement digital.

 

 

Download