Contact

Claims hotline

The Swiss are heading to Italy this summer

Jul 19, 2021.

The Covid-19 pandemic has made it harder to travel, but most Swiss people are planning to head off on holiday once again this summer. The majority of them are going abroad: their dream destination is Italy and, despite the pandemic, their holiday budget has barely changed, according to a survey by Generali Switzerland.

Emptying your mind, switching off, taking a deep breath. Rest and relaxation, or leaving everyday life behind. A survey carried out by Generali Switzerland has shown that these are the main reasons why people are heading off on summer holidays in 2021. And lots of people want to.

 

Travelling to other countries in Europe by car

Two-thirds (65 per cent) of respondents state that they are going away this summer, but around a fifth (19 per cent) are planning to stay at home, within their own four walls. The bulk of travellers are making the most of the fact that restrictions have been lifted and are heading off abroad (71 per cent); 42 per cent say they are looking to spend their holidays in Switzerland. When it comes to their preferred mode of transport this summer, Swiss travellers are mostly opting for their own car (55 per cent), followed by planes (36 per cent) and public transport (27 per cent).

 

Bella Italia

People looking to spend their holidays abroad are mainly setting their sights on the countries bordering Switzerland. Italy is the destination mentioned most frequently, at 40 per cent, with France (18 per cent) and Spain (14 per cent) trailing behind. “Italy remains the dream destination for the Swiss, and the pandemic has not changed that,” says Borislawa Graschew, Head of Customer Experience and Market Research.

Long-haul destinations are not in vogue, likely due to the pandemic and the rather time-consuming formalities travellers face at airports. Just 2 per cent of respondents are planning a trip to the US and a mere 1 per cent of respondents list Thailand as a travel destination. In fact, there is a de facto travel ban for the US at present.

 

Evergreen Ticino

People spending their summers in Switzerland are heading for the Italian-speaking parts of the country. Just shy of a third (31 per cent) of respondents name holiday stalwart Ticino as their destination, followed by eastern Switzerland (27 per cent) and the Lake Geneva region (22 per cent).

 

No change to holiday budgets

Over the 18 months of the pandemic, a number of holidays have fallen through, or people simply haven’t planned to go away at all. Two-thirds of respondents admit to travelling less often, compared to before the pandemic, while around 30 per cent have treated themselves to a trip away just as frequently as before. People’s holiday budgets have barely changed, according to the survey: two-thirds of respondents say they are working with the same budget for their summer holidays as before the pandemic. A quarter are planning to spend less and just 9 per cent are looking at a bigger budget. “It seems that the Swiss are keen to start travelling again,” says Graschew, “although two-thirds of respondents assume that Covid-19 measures will place limitations on their summer holidays.”

 

More deliberate, but at shorter notice

Ultimately, the pandemic has changed how people plan their holidays. The statement “I choose the destination more deliberately” was chosen the most frequently, with 38 per cent of respondents selecting this. In addition, travellers are booking holidays at shorter notice (36 per cent) and scrutinising cancellation policies more closely (35 per cent).

 

The survey, which is representative of the population as a whole, was carried out on behalf of Generali Switzerland between 30 June and 7 July 2021. 435 people took part.

 

 

Download

Contacts

24h à votre disposition en cas de sinistre

Cet été, les Suisses et Suissesses partent en Italie

juil. 19, 2021.

La pandémie de Covid-19 a rendu les voyages difficiles. Néanmoins, la majorité des Suisses et Suissesses planifie cet été de prendre à nouveau davantage de vacances. Le plus grand nombre part à l’étranger, avec une prédilection pour l’Italie. Le budget vacances n’a guère changé malgré la pandémie. C’est ce que révèle une enquête de Generali Suisse.

Se libérer l’esprit, déconnecter et respirer, se reposer et se détendre ou simplement échapper au quotidien. Telles sont, d’après une enquête menée par Generali Suisse, les principales raisons des vacances d’été 2021. Et nombreuses sont les personnes qui y aspirent.

 

En voiture vers un pays européen

Deux tiers (65 pour cent) des personnes interrogées disent partir en vacances cet été. Elles sont tout juste un cinquième (19 pour cent) à préférer néanmoins le confort de leur propre maison. Celles et ceux qui voyagent profitent pour la plupart de la levée des restrictions pour se rendre à l’étranger (71 pour cent), alors que 42 pour cent indiquent souhaiter passer (aussi) leurs vacances en Suisse. Cet été, c’est en premier lieu au volant de leur propre voiture (55 pour cent) que les Suisses et Suissesses choisissent de partir. Viennent ensuite l’avion (36 pour cent) et les transports publics (27 pour cent).

 

Bella Italia

Les personnes qui passent leurs vacances à l’étranger le font cet été principalement dans l’un des pays voisins. L’Italie est, avec une part de 40 pour cent, la destination la plus souvent citée. Loin derrière suivent la France (18 pour cent) et l’Espagne (14 pour cent). « L’Italie reste, pour les Suisses et Suissesses, la destination de rêve par excellence. La pandémie n’y a rien changé », explique Borislawa Graschew, Head of Customer Experience & Market Research.

Les destinations lointaines n’ont pas le vent en poupe – probablement également au regard de la situation sanitaire et des formalités plutôt fastidieuses à l’aéroport. À peine 2 pour cent des personnes interrogées prévoient de partir aux USA, et seul 1 pour cent nomme la Thaïlande comme destination. Mentionnons à cet égard que les USA imposent actuellement de fortes restrictions d’entrée sur leur territoire.

 

L’intemporel Tessin

La Suisse italienne attire celles et ceux qui passent l’été dans notre pays. Près d’un tiers (31 pour cent) des personnes interrogées citent l’intemporel Tessin comme destination de vacances, suivi de la Suisse orientale (27 pour cent) et de la région lémanique (22 pour cent).

 

Budget vacances inchangé

Depuis le début de la pandémie il y a un an et demi, l’un ou l’autre projet de vacances est peut-être tombé à l’eau, si ce n’est l’idée même de partir en voyage. Deux tiers des personnes interrogées indiquent avoir moins voyagé qu’avant la pandémie. Environ 30 pour cent se sont offert des vacances aussi souvent qu’avant. Le budget vacances n’a cependant, selon l’enquête, presque pas changé. Deux tiers des personnes interrogées indiquent prévoir le même budget pour leurs vacances qu’avant la pandémie. Un quart planifie moins de dépenses et seuls 9 pour cent tablent sur un budget supérieur. « Les Suisses et Suissesses semblent avoir à nouveau envie de voyager », explique Borislawa Graschew, « bien que deux tiers des personnes interrogées considèrent que les mesures Covid limiteront leurs vacances estivales. »

 

Un choix plus conscient, mais à plus court terme

La pandémie a finalement aussi changé la façon de planifier ses vacances. L’affirmation « Je choisis ma destination de façon plus consciente » a été, avec 38 pour cent, la plus souvent choisie. Par ailleurs, les personnes qui veulent partir en vacances effectuent leurs réservations à plus court terme (36 pour cent) et prêtent davantage attention aux conditions d’annulation (35 pour cent).

 

Cette enquête représentative mandatée par Generali Suisse a été menée entre le 30 juin et le 7 juillet 2021 auprès de la population. 435 personnes y ont pris part.

 

 

Download