Contact

Claims hotline

Tadesse Abraham and Generali Switzerland kick-start the “THSN Refugee Team” in Zurich

Jun 15, 2021.

After launching the “THSN Refugee Team” in French-speaking Switzerland, another running group for refugees has now been set up in Zurich. With Swiss marathon record holder Tadesse Abraham as the coach and the non-profit association SPORTEGRATION as the team’s partner, Generali Switzerland is holding training sessions several times per week. This initiative by “The Human Safety Net Switzerland”, a foundation set up by Generali Switzerland, seeks to integrate refugees through sport. Dominic Lobalu, a talented upcoming runner, has been selected as the first “Generali Running Talent”, and will receive additional support.

Tadesse Abraham is working with “The Human Safety Net Switzerland” (THSN) – a foundation set up by Generali Switzerland – to support people from refugee backgrounds. The project started back in September 2020 with the launch of the “THSN Refugee Team” in French-speaking Switzerland. Together with the non-profit association SPORTEGRATION, the next step has now been taken in German-speaking Switzerland with the launch of the “THSN Refugee Team” in Zurich. Through THSN, Generali Switzerland seeks to provide disadvantaged people with opportunities that will allow them to reach their full potential. The running group was founded to help refugees integrate into society through sport.

 

Training for amateurs, professionals and coaches

The “THSN Refugee Team” trains twice a week in Zurich. The Swiss marathon record holder Tadesse Abraham coaches the team together with Marco Rancan, running trainer at the LC Uster athletics club. Abdi Salam Ali, a talented up-and-coming runner, serves as a co-coach, learning firsthand how the two professional coaches go about training the “THSN Refugee Team”. Ali, who fled Somalia in 2016, also trains at LC Uster. Last year, he was crowned the under-20 Swiss champion for the 5,000 metres.

 

The team for refugees is aimed at three target groups:

  • Amateurs, who run in a group and wish to benefit from the team’s network.
  • Professional runners, who wish to have a career in running. These runners receive a personalised training plan that they can follow outside of the team training sessions.
  • Coaches, who wish to train people interested in running in future.

 

From regular training sessions to specific workshops and coaching courses, the aim of the “THSN Refugee Team” is to create opportunities for all members. Regular training provides the runners with structure in their day-to-day lives and enables them to share their knowledge and experience.

 

Dominic Lobalu named “Generali Running Talent”

In future, the best runners in the “THSN Refugee Team” will receive “Generali Running Talent” status and benefit from additional support. The first talented individual to receive this status is a distance runner who has been making waves across Switzerland: 22-year-old Dominic Lobalu Lokinyomo. At the recent Swiss Championship, he came first in the 10-kilometre track running event with a time of 28 minutes 32 seconds. He runs the 3,000 metres in 7 minutes 49 seconds. The current Swiss record for this distance is 7 minutes 41 seconds. He has won the Murtenlauf – an annual run – and the 10-kilometre race as part of the Geneva Marathon. He also placed first in the Swiss half-marathon in Belp, with a time of 1 hour 3 minutes 52 seconds – a personal best. Dominic Lobalu is from South Sudan. In fleeing the war there he first went to Kenya before arriving in Switzerland in 2019. He currently lives in Abtwil (St. Gallen) and is trained by the St. Gallen native Markus Hagmann.

 

Upcoming talent set to attend training camp in St. Moritz

This summer, Tadesse Abraham will be dedicating his time to coaching the running stars of tomorrow. He will be taking six members from the “THSN Refugee Team” to a training camp in St. Moritz. The two quickest runners, Dominic Lobalu and Kidane Solomon, will train side by side with Abraham for approximately one month. Originally from Eritrea, Solomon ran the half-marathon in Belp as part of the Swiss Championship and came in second behind Lobalu. “Tadesse will be giving me valuable tips during the training camp, and I’ll be able to concentrate fully on taking my performance to the next level. This is a unique chance that I absolutely want to take,” states Lobalu. Four other talented individuals will train with Abraham in St. Moritz over a 10-day period. Three are runners like him, while the fourth is doing their training as a coach. They’ll have the chance to watch Olivier Baldacchino, Tadesse Abraham’s personal trainer, in action.

 

Tadesse Abraham: from refugee to elite athlete

Tadesse Abraham knows all too well how sport can help people integrate into society. He came to Switzerland from Eritrea in 2004. “Gaining a foothold in a new country is a challenge in itself. I didn’t know anybody in Switzerland. Running allowed me to meet local people quickly and get to know the culture and its customs,” states Abraham. His aim is to help the members of the “THSN Refugee Team” on their path to success. “During the training sessions in Geneva, we saw the potential in these upcoming runners. Talented individuals like Kidane Solomon and Dominic Lobalu have what it takes to reach the top.  I truly believe that. I’m delighted that I can share my knowledge and experience with them,” states the fastest marathon runner in Switzerland.

 

Click here for more information about:

 

 

Download

Contacts

24h à votre disposition en cas de sinistre

Tadesse Abraham et Generali Suisse lancent le « THSN Refugee Team » à Zurich

juin 15, 2021.

Après le lancement du « THSN Refugee Team » en Suisse romande, une nouvelle équipe de course à pied pour les personnes réfugiées s’entraîne désormais également à Zurich. Avec le détenteur du record suisse de marathon Tadesse Abraham comme coach et l’association à but non lucratif SPORTEGRATION en tant que partenaire, Generali Suisse propose des entraînements de course à pied plusieurs fois par semaine. Avec cette initiative, « The Human Safety Net Switzerland », la fondation de Generali Suisse, aide les personnes réfugiées à s’intégrer par le biais du sport. De plus, le coureur de la génération montante Dominic Lobalu est soutenu en sa qualité de premier « Generali Running Talent ».

Ensemble, Tadesse Abraham et « The Human Safety Net Switzerland » (THSN), la fondation de Generali Suisse, s’engagent pour les personnes réfugiées. Le signal de départ a été donné pour ce projet en septembre 2020 avec le lancement du « THSN Refugee Team » en Suisse romande. Son pendant en Suisse alémanique est maintenant mis en place en collaboration avec l’association à but non lucratif SPORTEGRATION : le « THSN Refugee Team » à Zurich. Par le biais de sa fondation, Generali Suisse offre aux personnes défavorisées une opportunité pour développer pleinement leur potentiel. Le groupe de course à pied a été créé afin de faciliter l’intégration des personnes réfugiées par le sport.

 

Une offre d’entraînement pour les amateurs, les professionnels et les coachs

L’équipe du « THSN Refugee Team » s’entraîne deux fois par semaine à Zurich. Le détenteur du record suisse de marathon Tadesse Abraham coache l’équipe en collaboration avec Marco Rancan, entraîneur en course à pied au club d’athlétisme LC Uster. Le coureur de la génération montante Abdi Salam Ali est également présent en tant que coach adjoint et apprend de première main comment les deux professionnels forment le « THSN Refugee Team ». Abdi Salam Ali a fui la Somalie en 2016 et s’entraîne lui-même au sein du LC Uster. L’année dernière, il est devenu champion suisse dans la catégorie U20 sur les 5000 mètres.

 

L’équipe pour les personnes réfugiées s’adresse à trois groupes cibles :

  • Aux amateurs qui souhaitent courir au sein d’un groupe et bénéficier du réseau de l’équipe.
  • Aux coureurs professionnels, qui aspirent à une carrière sportive dans la course à pied. Ces coureuses et coureurs reçoivent un plan d’entraînement personnalisé avec lequel ils peuvent continuer à s’exercer également en dehors des séances de l’équipe.
  • Aux coachs qui aimeraient entraîner des passionnés de course à pied à l’avenir.

 

Que ce soit dans le cadre de l’entraînement régulier ou d’ateliers et coachings sur des thèmes spécifiques, l’objectif du « THSN Refugee Team » est de créer des opportunités pour tous les participants. Les entraînements réguliers apportent une structure au quotidien des coureuses et des coureurs et leur permet d’échanger.

 

Dominic Lobalu devient « Generali Running Talent »

Les meilleurs coureurs et coureuses du « THSN Refugee Team » bénéficieront à l’avenir d’un soutien particulier en tant que « Generali Running Talent ». Le premier jeune talent accompagné de cette manière est un coureur de longue distance qui a déjà fait parler de lui dans toute la Suisse : Dominic Lobalu Lokinyomo, âgé de 22 ans. Il vient de remporter le titre de champion suisse des 10 kilomètres en les courant en 28:32 minutes. Pour les 3000 mètres, il affiche un temps de 7:49 minutes. Le record suisse actuel pour cette distance est 7:41 minutes. Il a gagné la course Morat-Fribourg ainsi que la course de 10 kilomètres dans le cadre du marathon de Genève. Il était également le premier à franchir la ligne d’arrivée aux championnats suisses de semi-marathons à Belp. Après seulement 1:03.52 – son meilleur temps. Dominic Lobalu est originaire du Soudan du Sud. Il a tout d’abord fui vers le Kenya avant la guerre, pour ensuite arriver en Suisse en 2019. Aujourd’hui, il vit à Abtwil (SG) et est entraîné par le Saint-Gallois Markus Hagmann.

 

Les jeunes talents de la génération montante suivent un stage d’entraînement à Saint-Moritz

Cet été, Tadesse Abraham se consacre aux stars de la course à pied de demain en qualité de coach. Six membres du « THSN Refugee Team » seront invités à prendre part à son stage d’entraînement à Saint-Moritz. Les deux coureurs les plus rapides, Dominic Lobalu et Kidane Solomon, s’entraîneront pendant un mois environ aux côtés de Tadesse Abraham. Kidane Solomon est originaire d’Érythrée et était le deuxième à franchir la ligne d’arrivée du semi-marathon après Dominic Lobalu lors du championnat suisse à Belp. « Pendant le stage d’entraînement, Tadesse me donne des conseils précieux et je peux me concentrer pleinement pour amener mes performances au niveau supérieur. C’est une opportunité unique que je veux exploiter au mieux », déclare Dominic Lobalu. Quatre autres talents s’entraîneront pendant dix jours avec Tadesse Abraham à Saint-Moritz. Trois se presseront sur ses talons en tant que coureurs. Un jeune talent sera formé en tant que coach et aura la possibilité de suivre de près le travail d’Olivier Baldacchino, l’entraîneur personnel de Tadesse Abraham.

 

Tadesse Abraham : de réfugié à sportif d’élite

Tadesse Abraham sait d’expérience à quel point le sport peut aider à l’intégration. Lui-même est arrivé d’Érythrée en Suisse en 2004. « Trouver ses marques dans un nouveau pays est un défi. Je ne connaissais personne en Suisse. Grâce à la course à pied j’ai rapidement pu nouer des contacts avec la population locale et me familiariser avec la culture et les usages », explique Tadesse Abraham. Il souhaite accompagner les membres du « THSN Refugee Team » dans leur cheminement en qualité de mentor. « Lors des entraînements à Genève, nous avons vu le potentiel qui sommeille chez les coureurs de la génération montante. Des jeunes talents tels que Kidane Solomon ou Dominic Lobalu iront très loin.  J’en suis convaincu. C’est une très grande joie pour moi de partager avec eux mes connaissances et mon expérience », déclare le marathonien le plus rapide de Suisse.

 

Vous trouverez ici d’autres informations sur :

 

 

Download