Contact

Claims hotline

A unique history

Where are Generali's roots? What does the lion in the logo mean? And what does Franz Kafka have to do with it all? Discover the most important milestones of our company's history here.

2016 

Into the future with a new leadership team

The year features changes in management structure. At the global level, Philippe Donnet moves up to become the new CEO of the Generali Group. In Switzerland, Andreas Krümmel becomes the new CEO and keeps strategic development on track. For this reason, Generali Switzerland invests in the modernisation of its business model. This involves reinforcing the culture of innovation, tailoring the products and services on offer more closely to customers' needs and developing new ones. On the organisational front, too, a lot of streamlining gets under way.

 

2012

15

Global initiatives

 

Generali redefines the Group's culture and its brand identity around the world – complete with a new design for the winged lion, which unmistakeably identifies it everywhere. In Switzerland, it prioritises long-term links with the parent company and the implementation on the Swiss market of initiatives aimed at further enhancing customer focus.

   

2008

-10

Stability in difficult times

 

Despite the crisis on the world's financial markets, Generali manages to hold its ground in Switzerland. Major projects to optimise internal processes are completed, and the rollout of the GENERA range of products sees Generali entering a new era. In 2010, Generali even manages to become the market leader in individual life business. In the following years, too, premium volume continues to grow by more than the Swiss market.

 

2007

Two reasons to celebrate

 

Generali General Insurances Ltd. moves its head office to Nyon, bringing together entities dispersed between Geneva and Lausanne in the process. This has the effect of concentrating operations and streamlining business processes.  Internationally too, there is cause for rejoicing when the Generali Group Switzerland's parent company celebrates 175 years of existence.  

 

2006 Complete Integration
 

The year is marked by major changes in shareholder structure: in its third quarter, Generali Group Switzerland is fully integrated into the global Generali Group. This makes the Generali Group Switzerland more financially stable, creates synergies, and prepares the way for growth and innovation.

 

2004 A worldwide sense of responsibility

The Generali Group once again assumes a pioneering role and serves as a role model within the insurance sector by compiling a code of ethics applicable throughout the world that sets out the principles for which Generali stands everywhere: honesty, fairness, impartiality, professionalism and respect.

 

2000

–01

A new home

 

Generali Group Switzerland companies come together to establish a new head office in Adliswil. By doing so, they have office space in reserve and create synergies in their arrangements for working together. Generali Switzerland also becomes more streamlined in its delivery, focusing its life insurance business activities on the operation of individual life insurance from now on.  

   

1994

-99

Mergers in Switzerland

 

In 1994, the Generali Group acquires a majority stake in Fortuna Holding, which it is later to rename Generali (Switzerland) Holding Ltd. Schweizer Union too, joins this new model company and changes the company name to Generali General Insurances Ltd. Finally, Generali takes over another insurance company, Secura Versicherungen.

 

1987

Generali comes to Switzerland

 

This is the year in which Schweizer Union celebrates its centenary. It is the same year that Generali begins to be active in Switzerland by becoming Schweizer Union's main shareholder. Schweizer Union has already acquired a stake in the insurer St. Galler Familia-Leben. From now on, the agency network will be run jointly, with connections established that are the basis for the Group's structure as it is today.

   

1938

-59

More foundations in Switzerland

 

More insurance companies come into being in Switzerland; they now form the Generali Group Switzerland. 1938 sees the foundation of Fortuna Lebens-Versicherungs-Gesellschaft by the publishers of the Tages-Anzeiger; Familia-Leben (St.Gallen) receives its concession in 1950; and in 1959 Migros founder Gottlieb Duttweiler sets up Secura Versicherungsgesellschaft. 

   
1931

International expansion and a round birthday

 

By now Generali, has become one of the most dynamic insurance companies in the world. At home on four continents, it has eight international head offices and more than 60 branches and agencies in 30 countries. In 1931, Generali celebrates its centenary, marking the occasion with grand festivities in Rome and Trieste.

 

1907

An employee with extraordinary talents

 

Generali welcomes someone who was to be probably the most famous employee in its history: author Franz Kafka works as a lawyer in the Generali branch in Prague from 1907 to 1908. It is his first job after graduating in law.  

 

1887 The beginnings in Switzerland

In Switzerland, the establishment of Schweizer Union this year lays the foundation for what is now the Generali Group Switzerland. At the time, it specialises in insurance against glass breakages. Innovation is already in the air, with new insurance products such as burglary and flood damage insurance being offered. On the international front, Generali keeps on growing, extending its reach round the Mediterranean, along the line of North American harbours and in the Far East.

 

1848

–60

A new name and a new logo

 

Abandoning the words "Austro-Italiche", the company is from now on to call itself simply "Assicurazioni Generali". The logo changes, too, with the double-headed eagle making way for the winged lion of St. Mark, the heraldic emblem of Venice and of that city's patron saint. The Latin inscription pax tibi marce evangelista meus means peace be with thee, Mark my evangelist.

 

1831

Generali's roots
 

Generali is founded on 26 December 1831 in Trieste, which was at the time Austrian territory. The company's original name was  Assicurazioni Generali Austro-Italiche. Its founders are Joseph Lazarus Morpurgo, a merchant, and Giambattista Rosmini, a lawyer. The company has already expanded to establish a foothold in Venice by the July of the following year. At the time it first starts operating, Generali uses a logo with a double-headed eagle.

Contacts

24h à votre disposition en cas de sinistre

Une histoire unique

Où se situent les racines de Generali? Que signifie le lion sur le logo? Quel rôle joue l’écrivain Franz Kafka dans tout ceci? Découvrez les principales étapes de l’historique de notre entreprise.

2016 

En route vers l’avenir avec de nouveaux dirigeants
 

L’année est marquée par des changements dans la structure de direction. A l’échelon mondial, Philippe Donnet devient le nouveau CEO du Groupe Generali. En Suisse, Andreas Krümmel poursuit le développement stratégique en tant que nouveau CEO. Generali Suisse investit dans la modernisation de son modèle d’affaires, afin de renforcer la culture d’innovation, d’orienter l’offre encore davantage sur les besoins des clients et de favoriser le développement de nouveaux produits et services. Des allègements sont également effectués sur le plan organisationnel

 

2012

15

Initiatives mondiales

 

Generali redéfinit la culture du Groupe et l’identité de la marque au niveau mondial. Le design du lion ailé, signe de reconnaissance de Generali à l’échelle mondiale, est rafraîchi. En Suisse, l’accent est mis sur le rattachement durable à la maison mère ainsi que sur la réalisation de différentes initiatives sur le marché suisse visant à renforcer encore l’orientation client.

   

2008

-10

Stabilité en période difficile

 

Generali confirme sa position en Suisse malgré la crise mondiale des marchés financiers. D’importants projets d’optimisation des processus internes sont menés à terme et la gamme de produits GENERA marque le début d’une nouvelle ère pour Generali. En 2010, Generali devient leader du marché dans les affaires vie individuelle. Les années suivantes, le volume de primes continue d’augmenter et surpasse la croissance du marché suisse.

 

2007

Deux raisons de se réjouir
 

Generali Assurances Générales SA transfère son siège à Nyon et réunit les unités disséminées entre Genève et Lausanne, ce qui permet de concentrer les activités et de simplifier des processus opérationnels. Autre motif de réjouissances à l’échelon international: la maison mère du Groupe Generali Suisse fête 175 ans d’existence.

 

2006 Intégration complète
 

L’année est placée sous le signe de changements décisifs dans la structure de l’actionnariat: au troisième trimestre, le Groupe Generali Suisse est entièrement intégré au Groupe Generali opérant à l’échelon mondial. La sécurité et la stabilité financière du Groupe Generali Suisse s’en trouve améliorée. Des synergies supplémentaires sont créées et le chemin vers la croissance et l’innovation est ainsi aplani.

 

2004

Sentiment de responsabilité mondial

 

Le Groupe Generali fait à nouveau figure de précurseur et d’exemple dans la branche de l’assurance et introduit un code d’éthique valable au niveau mondial. Celui-ci définit les principes que Generali défend dans le monde entier: honnêteté, équité, impartialité, professionnalisme et estime.

 

2000

–01

Nouveau domicile

 

Les sociétés du Groupe Generali Suisse se réunissent pour former un nouveau siège à Adliswil. Cela lui procure une réserve d’espace stratégique et la possibilité d’exploiter de nouvelles synergies. Generali Suisse allège aussi ses contenus et focalise ses activités dans le domaine vie sur l’exploitation de l’assurance-vie individuelle.

   

1994

-99

Fusions en Suisse

 

En 1994, le Groupe Generali acquiert la majorité des actions de Fortuna Holding, qu’il rebaptisera ultérieurement en Generali (Suisse) Holding SA. Union Suisse est également intégrée dans le nouveau modèle d’affaires et devient Generali Assurances Générales. Enfin, Generali reprend Secura Assurances. 

 

1987

 

Generali arrive en Suisse

 

Union Suisse fête son 100e anniversaire. Generali démarre en parallèle ses activités en Suisse et devient actionnaire majoritaire d’Union Suisse. Cette dernière acquiert une participation dans Familia-Vie à Saint-Gall. Le réseau d’agences est désormais exploité en commun. Il en résulte des relations qui forment le fondement de la structure actuelle du Groupe.

   

1938

-59

Autres fondations en Suisse

 

En Suisse, de nouvelles assurances sont fondées, qui formeront plus tard le Groupe Generali Suisse. En 1938, Fortuna Compagnie d’Assurances sur la vie est fondée par la maison d’édition Tages-Anzeiger-Verlag. En 1950, Familia-Vie à Saint-Gall obtient la concession fédérale d’assurance-vie, et en 1959, Gottlieb Duttweiler, le fondateur de Migros, donne naissance à Secura Compagnie d’Assurances. 

   
1931

Expansion internationale et anniversaire rond

 

Generali est devenue l’une des entreprises d’assurance les plus dynamiques au monde. Etablie sur quatre continents, elle compte huit sièges internationaux et plus de 60 succursales et agences réparties dans 30 pays. En 1931, Generali fête ses 100 ans d’existence et organise à cette occasion d’importantes cérémonies à Rome et Trieste.

 

1907

Un collaborateur doué de talents hors du commun

 

Generali accueille le plus célèbre collaborateur de son histoire: l’écrivain Franz Kafka travaille de 1907 à 1908 comme juriste dans la succursale de Generali à Prague. Il s’agit du premier emploi de Kafka après ses études de droit. 

 

1887 Débuts en Suisse
 

En Suisse, la fondation d’Union Suisse marque le fondement du futur Groupe Generali Suisse. La société est spécialisée dans les assurances bris de glaces. L’innovation devient déjà un thème, p. ex. avec de nouveaux produits d’assurance comme l’assurance contre le vol avec effraction et l’assurance des dégâts d’eau. Sur le plan international, Generali poursuit sa croissance et réalise de nouveaux potentiels de croissance autour de la Méditerranée, le long des côtes d’Amérique du Nord et en Extrême-Orient.

 

1848

–60

Nouvelle raison sociale et nouveau logo

 

La société abandonne le complément «Austro-Italiche» et s’appelle désormais simplement «Assicurazioni Generali». Le logo est également modifié: l’aigle à deux têtes fait place au lion ailé de Saint-Marc, patron et animal héraldique de la République maritime de Venise. L’inscription latine «pax tibi marce evangelista meus» signifie «Que la paix soit avec toi, Marc, mon évangéliste».

 

1831

Les racines de Generali

Generali est fondée le 26 décembre 1831, à Trieste, alors autrichienne. La société s’appelle initialement Assicurazioni Generali Austro-Italiche. Ses fondateurs sont le commerçant Joseph Lazarus Morpurgo et l’avocat Giambattista Rosmini. Dès le mois de juillet de l’année suivante, la société s’étend à Venise. Au début de son activité, Generali a pour logo un aigle à deux têtes.