Contact

Claims hotline

Our annual reports

 

Annual Report 2021

 

Generali Switzerland closes the year 2021 with a stable volume of premiums and an improved operating result. The year was dominated by the pandemic, a strong storm season and the development of the new Avanti 2027 strategy. As in previous years, Generali Switzerland increased its guarantee reserves. This strengthening of its financial foundation as a basis for long-term profitable growth led to a negative overall result.

The past financial year was once again dominated by the COVID-19 pandemic. Unlike the previous year, Generali Switzerland, like the entire Swiss insurance industry, was able to draw on the experience of the first year of the pandemic. Under the challenging conditions, Generali Switzerland performed very well in the past financial year. Alessio Sarti, Deputy CEO and CFO of Generali Switzerland: “Our employees adapted to the new working environment without any problems and performed exceptionally well. Thanks to their hard work, we were able to achieve real improvements to our result even in the second year of COVID-19, despite an exceptionally strong storm season with a huge claims burden.”

 

Capital base continues to be strengthened

The solid technical results cushion the extraordinary burdens caused by the pandemic and natural disasters in the summer months. As in previous years, the persistently low interest rate situation has put a strain on Generali Switzerland, even though there has been some movement in the interest rate curve compared to the previous year. As a life insurance provider, Generali Switzerland has been struggling against record-low interest rates for years. These rates make it impossible for us to the generate the necessary revenue with the most risk-free possible investments to cover policy benefits for customers. As in previous years, Generali Switzerland has therefore transferred its operating profit to the guarantee reserves. “We have boosted this with an additional CHF 330 million (CHF 615 million in the previous year). As a reliable partner, we safeguard our obligations to our customers,” says CFO Alessio Sarti. The allocation to the guarantee reserve once again had a negative impact on the financial year and distorted the actually positive annual result. With gross written premiums of CHF 1,895.4 million (-1.5 per cent), Generali Switzerland posted a negative overall result of CHF 29.3 million for the reporting year, following a loss of more than CHF 300 million in the previous year.

 

Strategy development

The past financial year was also dominated by the development of the new Avanti 2027 strategy, which was announced in January 2022. Alessio Sarti: “As part of our strategy, Generali Switzerland is placing our customers even more consistently at the centre of all our considerations and activities. To do this, we are replacing our core IT systems and aligning our product range to meet the new requirements. Generali is seeking to become a leading insurance company in the property insurance and private pension segments in Switzerland for private customers and small and medium-sized enterprises by 2027.”

 

Life business

Life insurance business (GPV) remained stable in the year under review. Premiums written fell marginally by 0.7 per cent to CHF 1,110.2 million. With earned premiums of CHF 746.8 million, unit-linked life insurance constituted Generali Personal Insurance’s core segment and accounted for the majority of its premium income. The premium level in this segment increased by 1.4 per cent on the previous year thanks to an increase in income from new business.
As in the previous year, new business developed positively in the reporting year with an increase of 6.9 per cent. In the reporting year, Generali Switzerland also launched the sustainable investment solution “Tomorrow Invest.” This solution enables investors to invest only in companies and industries proven to be working toward a sustainable future.

 

Generali Switzerland once again significantly strengthened the capitalisation of GPV. The SST ratio increased to 202.8 per cent at the end of 2021, which strengthens the position in collaboration with distribution partners and confidence in Generali Switzerland. At the end of 2020, the SST ratio stood at 155.5 per cent.

 

Non-life business

The non-life business was faced with numerous natural disasters. Many customers were affected by a loss event. Despite the many storms during the summer months, the non-life business was able to hold its own. Premium volume fell slightly by 2.5 per cent to CHF 785.2 million. Thanks to the good results from capital investments and despite the additional burden caused by natural disasters and the pandemic, the operating result increased by 22 per cent to CHF 75.3 million compared to the previous year. The claims cost ratio increased slightly by 0.9 percentage points to 92.4 per cent.

 

The capital base was improved at both Generali General Insurance (GAV) and Fortuna Legal Protection Insurance (RVG). GAV recorded an SST ratio of 249.7 per cent (+16 percentage points) as of the end of the reporting year, therefore demonstrating a very solid capital base. The RVG SST ratio improved by 2 percentage points to 176.2 per cent.

 

Capital investments

Investments held decreased by a moderate 0.5 per cent to CHF 20,474.3 million in the period under review. The slight decline is due to the rise in interest rates. This led to a decline in the market value of fixed-interest investments. In addition, the depreciation of the euro against the Swiss franc led to a decline in investments held in euros.

 

Outlook

As communicated in the previous year, Generali Switzerland will continue to strengthen the guarantee reserves in the coming years. Roughly CHF 330 million are earmarked for 2022, which will also impact the annual result1.
In the current financial year, Generali Switzerland is focusing on the launch of the new Avanti 2027 strategy, with the aim of becoming one of the leading insurers for private customers and small and medium-sized enterprises in property and private pensions by 2027. CFO Alessio Sarti: “Now it’s a matter of moving quickly to the implementation phase, joining forces and gaining momentum. Christoph Schmallenbach, who started as the new CEO of Generali Switzerland in February 2022 and has many years of experience working on transformation projects within the Generali Group, will lead this process.”
The past two years have also taught Generali Switzerland how quickly the world can change. The COVID pandemic may be abating, but the war in Ukraine has opened a new tragic crisis, with untold suffering. That doesn’t leave us indifferent, either as individuals or as a company. The Generali Group has therefore donated EUR 3 million to refugee programs. In addition, the Generali Foundation, The Human Safety Net, has launched a global fundraising campaign to support the children’s charity UNICEF.
The impact of the conflict on Generali Switzerland’s core business is difficult to assess, but can be multifaceted. Higher energy prices could potentially shift budget positions to the detriment of pension provision or trigger inflation. CFO Alessio Sarti: “Nevertheless, we remain optimistic and determined to continue to keep our customers and sales at the centre of everything we do in the financial year 2022 in order to achieve our business goals.”

1In accordance with the statutory annual financial statements

 

Further information

Along with the public disclosure requirements for insurers, Generali Switzerland submits separate reports for the companies Generali Personal Insurance Ltd., Generali General Insurance Ltd. and Fortuna Legal Protection Insurance Company Ltd. You can find the 2021 financial condition reports for the various companies with commented key figures and annual financial statements on the Generali Switzerland website.

 

Press release

Nos rapports de gestion

 

Rapport de gestion 2021

 

Generali Suisse clôt l’année 2021 avec un volume de primes stable et un résultat opérationnel amélioré. L’année a été marquée par la pandémie, une forte saison d’intempéries et l’élaboration de la nouvelle stratégie Avanti 2027. Comme les années précédentes, Generali Suisse augmente sa réserve de garantie. Ce renforcement de l’assise financière comme base d’une croissance rentable à long terme entraîne un résultat global négatif.

L’exercice écoulé a de nouveau été marqué par la pandémie de Covid. Contrairement à l’exercice précédent, Generali Suisse a pu, comme l’ensemble du secteur suisse des assurances, s’appuyer sur l’expérience acquise lors de la première année de pandémie. Generali Suisse a très bien résisté aux conditions difficiles de l’exercice écoulé. Alessio Sarti, CEO adjoint et directeur financier de Generali Suisse : « Nos collaborateurs se sont adaptés sans problème au nouvel environnement de travail et ont réalisé une performance exceptionnelle. Grâce à leur engagement, nous sommes parvenus à améliorer considérablement notre résultat, même au cours de la deuxième année de Covid et malgré une saison d’intempéries exceptionnellement forte avec une charge de sinistres importante. »

 

Le renforcement de la base de capital se poursuit

Les solides résultats techniques amortissent les charges exceptionnelles résultant de la pandémie et des catastrophes naturelles des mois d’été. Comme au cours des années précédentes, la situation persistante des taux d’intérêt bas a mis Generali Suisse à l’épreuve, même si la courbe des taux a commencé à bouger par rapport à l’exercice précédent. En tant que prestataire d’assurances-vie, Generali Suisse se bat depuis des années avec un niveau des taux d’intérêt historiquement bas. Ce niveau empêche de générer les rendements nécessaires avec des placements les moins risqués possibles, avec lesquels les prestations garanties des clientes et clients peuvent être couvertes. Comme au cours des exercices précédents, Generali Suisse a donc transféré le bénéfice opérationnel dans la réserve de garantie. « Nous l’avons également renforcée avec CHF 330 millions (CHF 615 millions l’exercice précédent). En tant que partenaire fiable, nous garantissons ainsi nos engagements envers nos clientes et clients », explique Alessio Sarti. L’apport dans la réserve de garantie a de nouveau un effet négatif sur l’exercice et fausse le résultat annuel pourtant intéressant. Avec des primes brutes émises de CHF 1895.4 millions (-1.5%), Generali Suisse présente en fin de compte un résultat global négatif de CHF 29.3 millions pour l’exercice sous revue, après une perte de plus de CHF 300 millions lors de l’exercice précédent.

 

Élaboration de la stratégie

L’exercice écoulé a également été marqué par l’élaboration de la nouvelle stratégie Avanti 2027, qui a été communiquée en janvier 2022. Alessio Sarti : « Dans le cadre de cette stratégie, nous mettons, en tant que Generali Suisse, nos clientes et clients encore plus systématiquement au centre de toutes nos réflexions et activités. Pour ce faire, nous remplaçons nos systèmes informatiques de base et adaptons notre gamme de produits aux nouvelles exigences. Nous voulons ainsi devenir d’ici 2027 une assurance leader en Suisse pour la clientèle privée ainsi que les petites et moyennes entreprises dans le domaine des assurances choses et de la prévoyance privée. »

 

Affaires vie

Les affaires d’assurances-vie (GPV) sont restées stables durant l’exercice sous revue. Les primes facturées ont légèrement diminué de 0.7% à CHF 1110.2 millions. Avec CHF 746.8 millions de primes acquises, les assurances-vie liées à des participations constituent le segment de base de Generali Assurances de personnes SA et représentent la majeure partie des primes encaissées. Le niveau de prime dans ce secteur a pu être majoré d’environ 1.4% par rapport à l’exercice précédent grâce à l’augmentation des revenus issus des nouvelles affaires.
Comme lors de l’exercice précédent, les nouvelles affaires ont évolué positivement au cours de l’exercice sous revue, avec une augmentation de 6.9%. Generali Suisse a également lancé la solution de placement durable « Tomorrow Invest » durant l’exercice sous revue. Elle permet aux investisseuses et investisseurs d’investir dans des entreprises et des industries qui s’engagent manifestement pour un avenir durable.

 

Generali Suisse a de nouveau nettement renforcé la capitalisation de GPV. La quote-part SST a pu être augmentée à 202.8% fin 2021, ce qui renforce sa position dans la collaboration avec les partenaires de vente et la confiance en Generali Suisse. Fin 2020, la quote-part SST était de 155.5%.

 

Affaires non-vie

Les affaires non-vie ont été confrontées à de nombreuses catastrophes naturelles. Beaucoup de clientes et clients ont été touchés par un sinistre. Malgré les nombreuses intempéries survenues pendant les mois d’été, les affaires non-vie ont pu se maintenir. Le volume de primes a légèrement diminué de 2.5% à CHF 785.2 millions. Le résultat opérationnel a pu augmenter de 22% à CHF 75.3 millions par rapport à l’exercice précédent grâce aux bons résultats des placements de capitaux et malgré les charges supplémentaires dues aux catastrophes naturelles et à la pandémie. La quote-part des coûts de sinistres a légèrement augmenté de 0.9 point de pourcentage à 92.4%.

 

La base de capital a pu être améliorée aussi bien chez Generali Assurances Générales (GAV) que chez Fortuna Compagnie d’Assurance de Protection Juridique (RVG). À la fin de l’exercice sous revue, GAV présente un quotient SST de 249.7% (+16 points de pourcentage). Le quotient SST de RVG s’est amélioré de 2 points de pourcentage à 176.2%.

 

Placements de capitaux

Les actifs détenus ont légèrement diminué de 0.5% à CHF 20 474.3 millions au cours de la période sous revue. Ce léger recul est dû à la hausse des taux d’intérêt. Cela a entraîné une baisse de la valeur de marché des placements à revenu fixe. La perte de valeur de l’euro par rapport au franc suisse a également provoqué une baisse des actifs détenus en euros.

 

Perspectives

Comme nous l’avions déjà communiqué lors de l’exercice précédent, Generali Suisse continuera à renforcer la réserve de garantie dans les années à venir. Environ CHF 330 millions sont encore prévus pour 2022, ce qui aura aussi un impact sur le résultat annuel1.
Au cours de l’exercice actuel, Generali Suisse se concentre sur le lancement de la nouvelle stratégie Avanti 2027, avec pour objectif de devenir l’une des assurances leaders pour la clientèle privée ainsi que les petites et moyennes entreprises dans le domaine des assurances choses et de la prévoyance privée d’ici 2027. Alessio Sarti, CFO : « Il s’agit maintenant de passer rapidement à la phase de mise en oeuvre, d’unir toutes les forces et de prendre ainsi rapidement de la vitesse. Cette tâche sera confiée à Christoph Schmallenbach, qui a débuté en février 2022 en tant que nouveau CEO de Generali Suisse et qui apporte une longue expérience des projets de transformation au sein du Groupe Generali. »
Les deux dernières années ont également appris à Generali Suisse à quel point le monde peut changer rapidement. La pandémie de Covid est peut-être en train de s’estomper, mais la guerre en Ukraine a déclenché une nouvelle crise tragique liée à une souffrance indicible. En tant que personnes et en tant qu’entreprise, cela ne nous laisse pas indifférents. C’est pourquoi le Groupe Generali a fait don de trois millions d’euros pour des programmes d’aide aux réfugiés. La fondation Generali The Human Safety Net a par ailleurs lancé une campagne mondiale de collecte de fonds pour soutenir l’organisation d’aide à l’enfance UNICEF.
Les effets du conflit sur le coeur des opérations de Generali Suisse sont difficiles à évaluer, mais ils peuvent être complexes. Une hausse des prix de l’énergie pourrait éventuellement modifier les positions budgétaires au détriment de la prévoyance ou déclencher un processus d’inflation. Alessio Sarti, CFO : « Nous restons néanmoins optimistes et déterminés à maintenir nos clientes et clients ainsi que la vente au coeur de nos actions durant l’exercice 2022, afin d’atteindre nos objectifs commerciaux. »

1 Selon les comptes annuels statutaires

 

Informations supplémentaires

Conformément aux prescriptions relatives aux publications pour les assureurs (Public Disclosure), Generali Suisse présente des rapports séparés pour les sociétés Generali Assurances de personnes SA, Generali Assurances Générales SA et Fortuna Compagnie d’Assurance de Protection Juridique SA. Les rapports sur la situation financière 2021 des différentes sociétés, avec les chiffres clés et les comptes annuels commentés, se trouvent sur le site Web de Generali Suisse.

 

Communiqué de presse