Contact

Claims hotline

Start-up assistance for refugees: Generali Switzerland launches running team with Tadesse Abraham

Sep 15, 2020.

Giving socially disadvantaged people a chance. That is the aim of The Human Safety Net Switzerland Foundation. And that's why the foundation powered by Generali Switzerland has set up the THSN Refugee Team, a running group for refugees and migrants. Swiss marathon record holder Tadesse Abraham will train the team. In addition to the running group, the foundation also helps refugees to set up their own business. Both initiatives contribute to the integration of those taking part.

In sport, performance and a shared passion are what count – not where you come from. Tadesse Abraham, the fastest marathon runner in Switzerland, experienced the integrative power of sport for himself when he came here as a refugee in 2004. He would now like to give something back to his adopted country and second home.

 

Amateurs, pros and coaches – united by a shared passion

Tadesse Abraham and Generali Switzerland's The Human Safety Net Switzerland Foundation (THSN) are taking action to support refugees and migrants. Together, they launched the THSN Refugee Team, a running group seeking to promote the integration of refugees, in the French-speaking part of Switzerland on 14 September 2020. A similar initiative is planned for German-speaking Switzerland in 2021. The team will attend training twice a week, led by Tadesse Abraham or his personal trainer Olivier Baldacchino. The runners will be given tasks to complete in between training sessions, either alone or in groups. And all their hard work and perspiration will pay off: the fastest team members will get to work out with Tadesse Abraham in St. Moritz next year, where they will undergo altitude training to get them in shape for upcoming competitions.

 

The team is aimed at three target groups:

  • Amateurs
    All refugees and migrants who enjoy running are welcome to join the team. Training will let them benefit from the mutual exchange with other team members and the coaches. And they can take part for free in various races throughout Switzerland that form part of the Generali Running Tour.
     
  • Professional runners
    People looking to launch a running career. The coaches will draw up a training plan for them and help them get the best out of themselves. Workshops are also planned at which the runners can pick up other important skills, ranging from how to win sponsors and negotiate contracts right through to media training.
     
  • Co-coaches
    Tadesse Abraham's personal trainer Olivier Baldacchino will share his experiences with people who want to become trainers themselves. And they'll be given the chance to put their abilities to the test as co-coaches in the preparation phase of the Generali Running Tour.

 

From refugee to top athlete – an inspiring story

Tadesse Abraham grew up in rural Eritrea and knows from his own experience the power sport has to bring people together: "Coming to a new country as a refugee is a challenge. I knew no one. The system and way in which things were done were alien to me. Thanks to marathon running, I soon got to meet local people and was able to learn more about the culture and customs here."

That's why Tadesse Abraham is joining forces with The Human Safety Net Switzerland Foundation and public assistance office Hospice général to encourage talented young runners from a similar background: "A daily schedule with fixed workouts, professional structures and a sense of community. These are the components that make up our programme. I want to encourage up-and-coming young runners to pursue their dreams."

 

Refugees as entrepreneurs – and not just in running

Generali Switzerland seeks to empower people with a refugee or migrant background through The Human Safety Net Switzerland Foundation. The Human Safety Net For Refugee Start-Ups programme is another way in which the foundation supports refugees and migrants, by helping them set up their own companies. "Starting a venture on your own means taking on risks. Whether that's as an elite athlete or as the founder of a business. It means following your own path – one that is littered with challenges. Our foundation supports people from the refugee and migrant communities on their courageous journey towards independence," says Schirin Razavi, Chair of The Human Safety Net Switzerland Foundation.

 

 

You can find further information here on:

 

If you have any further questions, please contact:

 

You can find pictures of the launch event here.

 

 

ABOUT THE HUMAN SAFETY NET SWITZERLAND FOUNDATION

The Human Safety Net Switzerland Foundation run by Generali Switzerland supports people with a migration or refugee background in setting up their own business and empowers disadvantaged families with children. It pursues these objectives together with its partner organisations CapacityZurich and the Marie Meierhofer Institut für das Kind. The foundation was established by Generali Switzerland in 2019 and forms the basis for its programme of social engagement in Switzerland.

 

The Human Safety Net is a global initiative of the Generali Group. It supports 24 programmes in 21 different countries around the world. All share a common goal: creating opportunities for disadvantaged people to build better lives for themselves.

 

ABOUT HOSPICE GÉNÉRAL

Hospice général is a public institution in Geneva that was founded in 1535, since when its mission has been to help people in need. Responsible for providing social assistance and other support to refugees and migrants in the canton of Geneva, Hospice général welcomes and accommodates asylum seekers, refugees and migrants at around 15 locations. Those seeking help are given social and administrative assistance as well as financial support. They can also attend courses, training sessions and activities that facilitate their professional and social integration. In this way, Hospice général helps them to become fully independent members of the Genevan community.

 

ABOUT GENERALI

Generali is one of the biggest insurance and asset management companies at global level. Founded in 1831, it is present in 50 countries throughout the world, with a total premium income of about € 70 billion in 2019. With nearly 72,000 employees serving 61 million customers, the Group boasts a leading position in Europe and a growing presence in Asia and Latin America. Generali’s ambition is to be a life-time partner to its customers, offering innovative and customised solutions thanks to an unrivalled distribution network.

 

Generali’s roots in Switzerland date back to 1887. Today, Generali (Switzerland) Holding Ltd. operates throughout Switzerland, with two head offices – one in Adliswil and one in Nyon – and a wide network of agencies. The insurer has more than one million customers and offers products for every situation in life. These include property insurance, legal expenses insurance, life insurance and pension solutions. Generali partners with start-ups to develop innovative products. In 2018, the company became the first insurer in Switzerland to launch a digital pillar 3a solution.

Download

Kontakt

24h-Schaden-Hotline

Starthilfe für Flüchtlinge: Generali Schweiz lanciert Laufteam mit Tadesse Abraham

Sep 15, 2020.

Sozial benachteiligten Menschen eine Chance bieten. Das ist das Ziel der «The Human Safety Net Switzerland Foundation». Darum gründet die Stiftung von Generali Schweiz das «THSN Refugee Team», eine Laufgruppe für Flüchtlinge und Migranten. Der Schweizer Marathon-Rekordhalter Tadesse Abraham trainiert das Team. Neben der Laufgruppe unterstützt die Stiftung zudem Flüchtlinge dabei, ihr eigenes Unternehmen zu gründen. Beide Initiativen fördern die Integration der Teilnehmenden.

Im Sport zählt die Leistung und die gemeinsame Leidenschaft, nicht die Herkunft. Die Integrationskraft des Sports hat Tadesse Abraham, schnellster Marathonläufer des Landes, selbst gespürt, als er 2004 als Flüchtling in die Schweiz kam. Nun möchte er seiner zweiten Heimat etwas zurückgeben.

 

Amateure, Profis und Coaches – eine gemeinsame Passion

Zusammen mit der «The Human Safety Net Switzerland Foundation» (THSN) von Generali Schweiz macht sich Tadesse Abraham für Flüchtlinge sowie für Migrantinnen und Migranten stark. Am 14. September 2020 lancierten sie in der Westschweiz das «THSN Refugee Team», eine Laufgruppe zur Integration von Flüchtlingen. Das Pendant in der Deutschschweiz ist für 2021 geplant. Trainiert wird das Team zweimal pro Woche durch Tadesse Abraham oder seinen Personal Trainer Olivier Baldacchino. Zwischen den Trainings erhalten die Läuferinnen und Läufer Aufgaben, die sie alleine oder in Gruppen meistern müssen. Und der Schweiss lohnt sich: Die schnellsten Teammitglieder trainieren nächstes Jahr mit Tadesse Abraham in St. Moritz. Dort absolvieren die Gewinner ein Höhentraining, das sie fit macht für die nächsten Wettkämpfe.

 

Das Team richtet sich an drei Zielgruppen:

  • Amateure
    Alle laufbegeisterten Flüchtlinge und Migranten sind im Team willkommen. Sie können im Training vom Austausch mit dem Team und den Coaches profitieren. Auf der Generali Running Tour quer durch die Schweiz gehen sie kostenlos an den Start verschiedener Läufe.
     
  • Professionelle Läufer
    Sie streben eine Karriere im Laufsport an. Die Coaches erstellen einen Trainingsplan für sie und unterstützen die Läufer dabei, das Beste aus sich herauszuholen. Zudem sind Workshops geplant, um den Läufern weitere wichtige Fähigkeiten zu vermitteln: Von der Sponsorengewinnung über Vertragsverhandlungen bis hin zum Medientraining.
     
  • Co-Coaches
    Sie möchten selbst Läuferinnen und Läufer trainieren. Tadesse Abrahams Personal Trainer Olivier Baldacchino teilt seine Erfahrungen mit ihnen. Und sie dürfen ihr Können auf der Generali Running Tour als Co-Coaches in der Vorbereitungsphase auf die Läufe unter Beweis stellen.

 

Vom Flüchtling zum Spitzensportler – eine Geschichte, die inspiriert

Tadesse Abraham wuchs im ländlichen Eritrea auf und weiss aus eigener Erfahrung um die integrierende Kraft des Sports: «Als Flüchtling in ein neues Land zu kommen ist eine Herausforderung. Ich kannte niemanden. Das System und die Gepflogenheiten waren mir fremd. Dank dem Marathonlaufen konnte ich rasch Kontakte zu Einheimischen knüpfen und lernte die Kultur und die Bräuche besser kennen».

Zusammen mit der «The Human Safety Net Switzerland Foundation» und der sozialen Institution «Hospice général» setzt sich Tadesse Abraham darum für junge Lauftalente mit ähnlichem Hintergrund ein: «Ein Tagesablauf mit fixen Trainingseinheiten, professionellen Strukturen und Gemeinschaftsgefühl: Das sind die Komponenten, aus denen unser Programm besteht. Ich möchte die Nachwuchsläuferinnen und -läufer dazu ermutigen, ihre Träume zu verfolgen».

 

Flüchtlinge als Unternehmer – nicht nur im Laufsport

Mit der «The Human Safety Net Switzerland Foundation» fördert Generali Schweiz Menschen mit Migrations- und Fluchthintergrund. Starthilfe leistet die Stiftung dabei auch mit dem Programm «The Human Safety Net For Refugee Start-Ups», das Flüchtlinge und Migranten bei der Gründung ihres eigenen Unternehmens unterstützt. «Wer sich selbständig macht, nimmt Risiken auf sich. Sei es als Spitzensportler oder als Gründer. Sie schlagen einen unabhängigen, anspruchsvollen Weg ein. Mit unserer Stiftung unterstützen wir Menschen mit Flucht- und Migrationshintergrund auf ihrem mutigen Weg in die Selbständigkeit», sagt Schirin Razavi, Präsidentin der «The Human Safety Net Switzerland Foundation».

 

 

Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen zu:

 

Für weitere Fragen stehen Ihnen zur Verfügung:

 

Bilder zum Launch Event finden Sie hier.

 

 

ÜBER «THE HUMAN SAFETY NET SWITZERLAND FOUNDATION»

Die «The Human Safety Net Switzerland Foundation» von Generali Schweiz unterstützt Menschen mit Migrations- und Fluchthintergrund dabei, ihr eigenes Unternehmen zu gründen und fördert benachteiligte Familien mit Kindern. Gemeinsam mit den Partnerorganisationen «Capacity Zurich» und «Marie Meierhofer Institut für das Kind» setzt sich die Stiftung für diese Anliegen ein. Die Stiftung wurde 2019 von Generali Schweiz gegründet und ist das Fundament ihres sozialen Engagements in der Schweiz.

 

«The Human Safety Net» ist eine globale Initiative der Generali Gruppe. Weltweit werden damit 24 Programme in 21 Ländern unterstützt. Alle haben ein gemeinsames Ziel: Benachteiligten Menschen Chancen bieten, die ihnen ein besseres Leben ermöglichen.

 

ÜBER HOSPICE GÉNÉRAL

Hospice général ist eine öffentliche Einrichtung, die 1535 gegründet wurde und seither den Auftrag hat, hilfsbedürftige Personen in Genf zu unterstützen. Zuständig für die Sozialhilfe und die Unterstützung von Flüchtlingen und Migranten des Kantons Genf, empfängt und beherbergt Hospice général an ca. fünfzehn Standorten Asylsuchende, Flüchtlinge und Migranten. Einerseits wird den Betroffenen eine soziale und administrative Begleitung sowie eine finanzielle Unterstützung angeboten, andererseits können die Betroffenen Kurse, Ausbildungen und Aktivitäten zur beruflich-sozialen Eingliederung besuchen. Damit vereinfacht Hospice général die Integration in die Genfer Gemeinschaft.

 

ÜBER GENERALI

Generali ist eine der grössten Versicherungs- und Vermögensverwaltungs-gesellschaften der Welt. Unser 1831 gegründetes Unternehmen ist in 50 Ländern der Welt vertreten und verzeichnete 2019 ein Prämieneinkommen von insgesamt rund 70 Milliarden Euro. Mit fast 72‘000 Beschäftigten und 61 Millionen Kunden nimmt unsere Unternehmensgruppe in Europa eine führende Marktstellung ein und baut ihre Präsenz in Asien und Lateinamerika kontinuierlich aus. Wir wollen ein lebenslanger Partner für unsere Kunden sein und ihnen über unser konkurrenzloses Vertriebsnetz innovative, individuell abgestimmte Lösungen anbieten.

 

In der Schweiz gehen die Wurzeln von Generali auf das Jahr 1887 zurück. Heute ist die Generali (Schweiz) Holding AG mit zwei Hauptsitzen in Adliswil und Nyon sowie einem breiten Agenturnetz in der ganzen Schweiz vertreten. Der Versicherer hat rund eine Million Kunden und bietet Produkte für jede Lebenssituation an. Dazu zählen Sach-, Rechtsschutz- und Lebensversicherungen sowie Vorsorgelösungen. Zusammen mit Start-ups entwickelt Generali innovative Produkte. 2018 hat das Unternehmen als erster Schweizer Versicherer eine digitale Säule 3a lanciert.

Download