Contact

Claims hotline

Abdi Salam Ali

Abdi arrived in Switzerland at the age of 14. He is an exceptional young runner with outstanding athletic and interpersonal skills. He quickly found his feet in Switzerland – winning both the hearts of his fellow citizens and top prizes at local and international races. His phenomenal achievements in the under-20 category have now earned him sponsorship as a Generali Running Talent. We are proud to be able to finance young athletes with a migrant background as part of this programme. We want to encourage them to achieve their sporting dreams and goals.

"I’d tell them to take advantage of the great opportunity Generali offers with the THSN Refugee Team. And I’d tell them to keep going. That’s important in sport and also when it comes to integration. It’s not easy at first. But if you keep going, if you keep going to training, it gets easier."

Abdi Salam Ali – short bio

 

Abdi Salam Ali was born on 1 February 2002 in Mogadishu, the capital of Somalia. He grew up with seven brothers and sisters. At the age of 14, he fled Somalia and arrived in Switzerland on 7 November 2016. As an unaccompanied minor, he was looked after by the Zurich asylum agency (AOZ). He quickly learned German and attended the state secondary school in Zollikon in the summer of 2017, followed by the Uster school of sports and art. He then began an apprenticeship in operations management. Abdi had always enjoyed playing football but in 2018 he discovered a new passion: running – and he never looked back. Following in the footsteps of Tadesse Abraham, he joined the LC Uster athletics club and won a series of races in the under-18 and under-20 categories. Abdi has been a member of the THSN Refugee Team since the end of 2020, where he also acts as a co-trainer, fulfilling his drive to share the knowledge he himself has gained with his peers. His successful integration in Switzerland, his athletic performance and his positive, determined attitude make him an example to the other runners. He now dreams of going professional.

 

Despite being so young, Abdi hasn’t let success go to his head. He is extremely disciplined and has stayed down-to-earth and focussed on his goals. Abdi is wiser than his years and has achieved a huge amount already.

 

Athletic track record

 

Championship races

  • 1st place in the 10km at the under-20 Swiss championships in Lugano on 28 August 2021
  • 1st place in the 5,000m at the under-20 Swiss championships in Nottwil on 4 September 2021
  • 6th place in the 10,000m at the Elite Swiss championships in Uster on 4 June 2021

 

Best times

  • 10km in 30:09:40 at Lugano in 2021
  • 10,000m in 30:18:62 at Uster Running in 2021
  • 5,000m in 14:36:17 at Regensdorf in 2021
  • 3,000m in 8:28:03 at CITIUS Meeting in Bern in 2021

 

Abdi, when did you decide you wanted to become a professional runner?

 

I played a lot of football when I was a kid. When I came to Switzerland I wanted to keep it going, so I joined FC Erlenbach. In April 2018, the centre for unaccompanied minors in Zollikon suggested I take part in the Zurich Cityrun – and I came first without too much effort. That’s how I discovered that I liked running. I was introduced to my current trainer, Marco Rancan, and I joined the Uster athletics club. I attended more and more training sessions and took part in lots of races, and always got good times. After I won the 10km at the Swiss championships in Uster in March 2019, I decided that running was more than just a hobby for me. I’ve been training hard ever since and dreaming of becoming a professional runner. At the same time, I’m also training to be an operations manager – and I’m looking forward to being financially independent soon.

 

Tell us a little about your story and how you came to Switzerland

 

I was born and grew up in Mogadishu in Somalia. My dad owned a little shop and also worked as a teacher. My mum looked after the eight of us. When I was 14, I fled the country. My parents helped me, but I went on my own. My journey took me across Ethiopia, the Sudan and finally to Libya, where I crossed the Mediterranean in a makeshift boat. The whole trip took almost a year. It was really tough. Today, I look back and sometimes I can hardly believe I actually did it. I arrived in Switzerland on 7 November 2016. I learned German very quickly – I knew it would be key to integrating here. As a result, I was able to attend state school from 2017. The Amoroso family, whom I met through the Centre for Unaccompanied Minors, gave me a lot of support, both with administrative hurdles and at school.

 

I started doing athletics in 2018 and did well, which meant I was able to join a school of sports and art in 2019. After that, I did a year of preparatory professional training at the Viventa school in Zurich. I then began an apprenticeship in operations management at the Herrenbergli retirement and care home in Zurich. My employer allows me the time I need to pursue high-level athletic training, and I’m really grateful to them for that. I’ve been living in a flatshare in Wiedikon in Zurich since I was 18 and I spend all my free time on the sports field.

 

How did you become a Generali Running Talent?

 

My trainer at LC Uster, Marco Rancan, is also a trainer for the THSN Refugee Team in Zurich. When he suggested that I join the team and that I help as a trainer alongside him, I was delighted. He’s taught me so much. In turn, I’m doing the same, sharing what I know with the young people who have arrived here as refugees and helping them integrate through sport.

Generali then asked if I wanted to become a Generali Running Talent, which was great. It’s a fantastic opportunity, and I’m really grateful to them for their trust and their support.

 

What’s your main goal now?

 

There aren’t that many athletes my age in Switzerland. My current aim is, therefore, to take part in some races abroad so I can measure myself against the international competition. Right now, I’m training for the 10km in Valencia Ibercaja. I’m hoping to run it in under 30 minutes. Long-term, my dream is to represent Switzerland in the Olympics like Tadesse Abraham. And if I get to meet my hero Mo Farah somewhere along the way, that would be just great! He’s originally from Somalia too and has a similar story to mine. He also started out playing football and then switched to running, and he runs the same distances as me. And he’s got four Olympic titles under his belt!

 

What message would you like to send to other young refugees and migrants?

 

I’d tell them to take advantage of the great opportunity Generali offers with the THSN Refugee Team. And I’d tell them to keep going. That’s important in sport and also when it comes to integration. It’s not easy at first. But if you keep going, if you keep going to training, it gets easier.

Kontakt

24h-Schaden-Hotline

Abdi Salam Ali, ein vorbildlich integriertes Generali Running Talent

Abdi ist ein junger Läufer mit aussergewöhnlichen menschlichen und sportlichen Fähigkeiten. Er kam im Alter von 14 Jahren in die Schweiz. Seinen Platz in der Schweiz hatte er schnell gefunden, sowohl im Herzen der Leute als auch auf den Siegertreppchen regionaler und nationaler Laufwettbewerbe. Dank seiner hervorragenden Ergebnisse in der Kategorie U20 wird er als Generali Running Talent besonders gefördert. Wir sind stolz darauf, junge Sportlerinnen und Sportler mit Flucht- oder Migrationshintergrund mithilfe dieses Programms finanziell unterstützen zu können. Wir möchten sie damit ermutigen, ihre sportlichen Träume und Ziele zu erreichen.

« Ich möchte ihnen raten, die fantastische Chance zu nutzen, die ihnen Generali mit dem THSN Refugee Team bietet. Und dranzubleiben. Es lohnt sich, für den Sport, aber auch für die Integration. Zu Beginn ist das nicht einfach. Wenn man aber kämpft und regelmässig trainiert, wird es mit der Zeit leichter.» 

Abdi Salam Ali kurz vorgestellt

 

Abdi Salam Ali wurde am 1. Februar 2002 in Mogadischu, der Hauptstadt Somalias, geboren und wuchs mit sieben Geschwistern auf. Mit 14 Jahren floh er aus seinem Land und kam am 7. November 2016 in die Schweiz. Als unbegleiteter Minderjähriger wurde er von der Asylorganisation Zürich (AOZ) aufgenommen. Schnell lernte er Deutsch, sodass er ab dem Sommer 2017 die Sekundarschule Zollikon besuchen konnte. Danach wechselte er auf die Sport- und Kunstschule Uster, bevor er eine Ausbildung zum Fachmann Betriebsunterhalt begann. 2018 entdeckte der begeisterte Fussballspieler eine neue Leidenschaft, die ihn nicht mehr loslassen sollte: das Laufen. Wie bereits Tadesse Abraham wurde er Mitglied im Leichtathletikclub LC Uster. Dort errang er zunächst in der Kategorie U18 und dann in der Kategorie U20 einen Sieg nach dem anderen. Weil er anderen mit einem ähnlichen Hintergrund wie er das Wissen vermitteln möchte, welches er selbst vermittelt bekam, wirkt er als Mitglied des THSN Refugee Team seit Ende 2020 ebenfalls als Co-Trainer mit. Mit seiner gelungenen Integration in der Schweiz, seinen Leistungen als Athlet, seiner positiven Einstellung und seiner Zielstrebigkeit ist er für die anderen Läufer ein Vorbild. Er träumt er von einer Karriere als Profi.

 

Trotz seines jungen Alters ist Abdi der Erfolg nicht zu Kopf gestiegen. Er ist extrem diszipliniert, steht mit beiden Beinen fest auf dem Boden und konzentriert sich auf sein Ziel. Weisheit ist nicht unbedingt eine Frage des Alters: Abdi hat bereits die Reife eines grossen Läufers.

 

Sportliche Erfolge

 

Meisterschaftsläufe

  • 1. Platz über 10 km bei den Schweizer Meisterschaften U20 in Lugano, 28. August 2021
  • 1. Platz über 5000 m bei den Schweizer Meisterschaften U20 in Nottwil, 4. September 2021
  • 6. Platz über 10 000 m bei den Schweizer Elite-Meisterschaften in Uster, 4. Juni 2021

 

Beste Leistungen

  • 10 km in 30:09:4 in Lugano 2021
  • 10 000 m in 30:18:62 beim Uster Running 2021
  • 5000 m in 14:36:17 in Regensdorf 2021
  • 3000 m in 8:28:03 beim Citius Meeting Bern 2021

 

Abdi, wann hast du gewusst, dass du Profiläufer werden willst?

 

Als Kind spielte ich viel Fussball. Nach meiner Ankunft in der Schweiz wollte ich diesen Weg weiterverfolgen und wurde Mitglied im FC Erlenbach. Im April 2018 hatte mir das Zentrum für unbegleitete Minderjährige Zollikon vorgeschlagen, am Zürich Cityrun teilzunehmen. Ich gewann den Lauf, ohne mich gross anstrengen zu müssen. Dabei entdeckte ich, dass ich gern laufe. Man stellte mich meinem derzeitigen Trainer Marco Rancan vor und ich trat in den Leichtathletik Club Uster ein. Ich trainierte immer regelmässiger und erzielte bei vielen Läufen gute Zeiten. Nach meinem Sieg in Uster über 10 km bei den Schweizer Meisterschaften im März 2019 beschloss ich, dass Laufen von jetzt an mehr als ein einfaches Hobby für mich sein würde. Ab diesem Moment begann ich, hart zu trainieren, und davon zu träumen, als Läufer Karriere zu machen. Parallel dazu absolviere ich meine Ausbildung als Fachmann Betriebsunterhalt und freue mich, bald finanziell unabhängig zu sein.

 

Erzähl uns ein bisschen von deiner Karriere und deiner Ankunft in der Schweiz.

 

Ich bin in Mogadischu in Somalia geboren, wo ich auch meine Kindheit verbrachte. Mein Vater hatte ein kleines Geschäft und arbeitete parallel dazu als Lehrer. Meine Mutter kümmerte sich um uns acht Kinder. Im Alter von 14 Jahren floh ich aus dem Land, allein, aber mit Unterstützung meiner Eltern. Meine Flucht führte mich durch Äthiopien, den Sudan und Libyen. Von dort aus überquerte ich das Mittelmeer in einem Schlauchboot. Insgesamt hat das fast ein Jahr gedauert. Es war sehr hart. Heute kann ich manchmal kaum glauben, dass ich das alles wirklich erlebt habe. Am 7. November 2016 kam ich in die Schweiz. Ich lernte sehr schnell Deutsch. Mir war klar, dass das einer der Schlüssel für meine Integration in diesem neuen Land ist. Dank meiner Deutschkenntnisse konnte ich ab 2017 die öffentliche Schule besuchen. Aber auch die Familie Amoroso, die ich durch das Zentrum für unbegleitete minderjährige Asylsuchende kennenlernte, hat mich enorm unterstützt. Sowohl im Umgang mit den Behörden als auch schulisch.

 

2018 begann ich mit der Leichtathletik. Aufgrund meiner guten Leistungen konnte ich ab 2019 eine Sport- und Kunstschule besuchen. Danach absolvierte ich ein Berufsvorbereitungsjahr an der Schule Viventa der Stadt Zürich, bevor ich eine Lehre als Fachmann für Betriebsunterhalt im Alters- und Pflegezentrum Herrenbergli in Zürich begann. Mein Arbeitgeber räumt mir die für den Leistungssport notwendige Zeit ein und dafür bin ich ihm dankbar. Seit meinem 18. Geburtstag lebe ich in einer Wohngemeinschaft in Zürich Wiedikon und verbringe meine gesamte Freizeit auf dem Sportplatz.

 

Wie bist du Generali Running Talent geworden?

 

Marco Rancan, mein Trainer beim LC Uster, ist auch Trainer beim THSN Refugee Team in Zürich. Als er mir anbot, nicht nur in die Mannschaft zu kommen, sondern diese auch mit ihm gemeinsam zu trainieren, habe ich dieses Angebot sehr gern angenommen. Er hat mich sehr gefördert. Ich möchte davon etwas zurückgeben und mein Wissen den Jugendlichen vermitteln, die wie ich geflüchtet sind, und ihnen helfen, sich mit Sport zu integrieren.

Später hat mich Generali gefragt, ob ich nicht gern ein Generali Running Talent werden würde, was mich sehr gefreut hat. Das ist eine tolle Chance. Ich danke Generali für ihr Vertrauen und ihre Unterstützung.

 

Was ist heute dein Ziel?

 

In der Schweiz gibt es nur wenige Athleten in meinem Alter. Mein Ziel besteht darin, an Wettkämpfen im Ausland teilzunehmen, um mich mit der internationalen Konkurrenz zu messen. Derzeit trainiere ich für meine Teilnahme am Lauf 10K Valencia Ibercaja. Die zehn Kilometer möchte ich in weniger als 30 Minuten schaffen. Langfristig möchte ich wie Tadesse Abraham die Schweiz bei den Olympischen Spielen vertreten. Wenn ich dann auch noch mein Vorbild, den Läufer Mohamed Farah, treffen könnte, wäre ich überglücklich! Er stammt wie ich aus Somalia, seine Biografie ähnelt meiner, er ist auch über den Fussball zum Laufen gekommen und läuft dieselben Distanzen wie ich. Er hat bereits vier olympische Titel!

 

Welche Botschaft möchtest du jungen geflüchteten Menschen und Migrantinnen und Migranten mitgeben?

 

Ich möchte ihnen raten, die fantastische Chance zu nutzen, die ihnen Generali mit dem THSN Refugee Team bietet. Und dranzubleiben. Es lohnt sich, für den Sport, aber auch für die Integration. Zu Beginn ist das nicht einfach. Wenn man aber kämpft und regelmässig trainiert, wird es mit der Zeit leichter.