Contact

Claims hotline

The Human Safety Net for Refugees

The situation

More than 50% of newcomers to Switzerland have a university degree. However, language and cultural barriers, and often a lack of recognition of their previous careers, make it difficult for them to get started in their new country. They also lack the social network and knowledge to navigate the Swiss education system and job market. Being turned down and experiencing unemployment lead to psychological problems, social isolation and dependence on state welfare.

 

 

Our goal

We believe that the knowledge and skills that people from refugee or migrant backgrounds can provide are an opportunity for our society. The “Human Safety Net for Refugees” programme helps them reach their potential and encourages them to discover and develop their skills as entrepreneurs. The programme takes between four and twelve months to complete. In addition to teaching the basics, it also focuses on coaching and mentoring. In this way, we help some of the participants to become self-employed, and we facilitate access to the job market for others. Small start-up loans are also part of the programme. Professional and social integration through entrepreneurship, as well as equal exchange, are therefore key features of the programme. Our employees also play an active role as coaches and mentors.

 

 

Partners & initiatives

Capacity: talent & start-up incubator

Our partner Capacity brings locals and newcomers together, with the focus on the joint exchange of skills. Through its two entrepreneurship programmes, the start-up incubator promotes the talent of people in Switzerland with a refugee or migrant background. Both of the four-month programmes consist of a combination of mentoring, workshops and soft-skills training sessions. The aim is to give the budding entrepreneurs the skills required to start their own business or socio-cultural initiative in Switzerland.

 

In the Launch programme, the aspiring entrepreneurs are taught the basics they require to develop their start-up ideas. They define their project framework and outline the first steps of their prototype’s development. After the Launch programme, it’s time for the participants to get down to business. In the subsequent Boost and Elevate programme, the business idea enters the implementation phase. Participants develop business plans, implement marketing and communication measures, budget planning and accounting.

 

In addition to the skills they acquire, the participants learn about the entrepreneurial side of Switzerland and get to expand their social and professional networks.

 

 

Impact in 2020

  • 29 migrants and refugees were able to benefit from the programmes
  • 6 participants have founded a sole proprietorship or a non-profit organisation
  • 2 participants were able to generate their first profits
  • 3 participants have received microcredits
  • 5 participants plan to start their business in the next six months
  • 6 participants have found a new job or started an apprenticeship/university degree

 

More information on Capacity.

Kontakt

24h-Schaden-Hotline

The Human Safety Net for Refugees

Die Situation

Mehr als 50 Prozent der Neuankömmlinge in der Schweiz besitzen einen Hochschulabschluss. Doch sprachliche und kulturelle Hindernisse sowie die oftmals fehlende Anerkennung der bisherigen Laufbahn erschweren den Start im neuen Land. Zudem fehlen das soziale Netzwerk und die Kenntnisse, um sich im Schweizer Bildungssystem und auf dem Arbeitsmarkt zurechtzufinden. Ablehnung und Arbeitslosigkeit führen zu psychischen Problemen, sozialer Isolation und zur Abhängigkeit von staatlicher Fürsorge.

 

 

Unser Ziel

Die Fähigkeiten, die Menschen mit Flucht- oder Migrationshintergrund mitbringen, sehen wir als Chance für unsere Gesellschaft. The Human Safety Net for Refugees fördert ihr Potenzial und ermutigt sie, ihre Qualitäten als Unternehmerinnen und Unternehmer zu entdecken und weiterzuentwickeln. Das Programm dauert vier bis zwölf Monate und beruht nebst der Vermittlung von Grundlagen auf Coaching und Mentoring. Damit ermöglichen wir einigen Teilnehmenden den Weg in die Selbständigkeit, anderen erleichtern wir den Zugang zum Arbeitsmarkt. Auch kleinere Startkredite werden angeboten. Die berufliche und soziale Integration durch Unternehmertum sowie der Austausch auf Augenhöhe sind wesentliche Merkmale des Programms. Und auch unsere Mitarbeitenden sind als Coaches und Mentoren tatkräftig mit an Bord.

 

 

Partner & Initiativen

Capacity: Talent- & Start-up-Inkubator

 

Unser Partner Capacity bringt Einheimische und Neuangekommene zusammen. Dabei steht der gemeinsame Kompetenzaustausch im Zentrum. Mit ihren beiden Entrepreneurship-Programmen fördert der Start-up-Inkubator das Talent von Menschen mit Flucht- oder Migrationshintergrund in der Schweiz. Die jeweils viermonatigen Programme bestehen aus einer Kombination von Mentoring, Workshops und Soft-Skills-Trainings. Dadurch sollen die angehenden Unternehmerinnen und Unternehmer die Fähigkeit erhalten, ein eigenes Unternehmen oder eine soziokulturelle Initiative in der Schweiz zu starten.

 

Im Launch-Programm werden den angehenden Unternehmerinnen und Unternehmern die Grundlagen vermittelt, um ihre Start-up-Ideen zu entwickeln: Sie definieren ihren Projektrahmen und skizzieren die ersten Schritte der Prototypentwicklung. Nach dem Launch-Programm geht es für die Teilnehmenden ans Eingemachte: Im darauffolgenden Boost- und Elevate-Programm tritt die Businessidee in die Umsetzungsphase – von der Entwicklung von Businessplänen über Marketing- und Kommunikationsmassnahmen bis hin zu Budgetplanung und Buchhaltung.

 

Nebst den erworbenen Fähigkeiten lernen die Teilnehmenden die unternehmerische Seite der Schweiz kennen und bauen ihr soziales und berufliches Netzwerk auf.

 

 

Impact 2020

  • 29 Migranten und Flüchtlinge konnten von den Programmen profitieren.
  • 6 Teilnehmende haben eine Einzelfirma oder einen Non-Profit-Verein gegründet.
  • 2 Teilnehmende konnten erste Gewinne erwirtschaften.
  • 3 Teilnehmende haben Mikrokredite erhalten.
  • 5 Teilnehmende planen, ihr Business in den nächsten sechs Monaten zu starten.
  • 6 Teilnehmende haben einen neuen Job gefunden oder mit einer Lehre / einem Studium begonnen.

 

Mehr Informationen zu Capacity.