Contact

Claims hotline

Dominic Lobalu, first Generali Running Talent

Dominic Lobalu is the running talent with iron will, refining his craft through sweat, blood and tears. He came to Switzerland in 2019. Here, he was discovered by Tadesse Abraham, the fastest Swiss marathon runner and Generali Switzerland ambassador. His very promising performances at various Swiss competitions have now earned him sponsorship as a Generali Running Talent. We are proud to financially support young athletes from a refugee background with this new programme. We want to encourage them to achieve their sporting dreams and goals. 

Photo credits : Urs Siegwart

« Ask yourself what you want. Believe in yourself. And follow your goal with all of your heart. If you believe from your heart, it will work out. This will give you the will and the power you need. »

Who is Dominic Lobalu?

 

Dominic Lokinyomo Lobalu was born on 16 August 1998 in the small village of Chukudum in South Sudan. At just nine years of age, he had to flee his country due to civil war. He first found refuge in the Kenyan town of Kakuma. As an orphan, he attended a primary school in the region of Nairobi. At the age of 15, supported by his teacher, he began running. He quickly made a name for himself and became part of the Kenya Refugee Athletes team. In 2017, he took part in the World Athletics Championships in London. Two years later, he accompanied the same team at the Harmony Geneva Marathon for Unicef. He used this opportunity to leave Kenya and settle in Switzerland. In the Canton of St. Gallen, he became a member of the LC Brühl athletics club, working with Markus Hagmann as his coach.

 

Dominic is a cheerful young man. His beaming smile is infectious. He attributes his excellent results across all distances to his natural talent for running and his unshakeable will. He has already enjoyed extraordinary success and there will be even more reason to celebrate in the coming months. 

Sporting success

  • 3,000m in 7:49.31 in Meilen at Meeting Meilen
  • 5,000m in 13:34.18 in Lucerne at the World Athletics Continental Tour Silver Level Series
  • 10,000m in 28:32.72 in Uster at the Swiss Championships
  • Half marathon in 1:03:52 in Belp at the Swiss Half Marathon Championships

 

 

Dominic, did you ever dream of becoming a professional runner?

No, absolutely not. As a young boy I used to dream of playing football. But back then all of my friends wanted to be a footballer. It was my teacher that advised me to run. In the end, he convinced me. So I started running. I was 15 years old.

 

Tell us a bit about your career and your arrival in Switzerland.

I was born in South Sudan. I lived there for a few years. Unfortunately, the political situation there was critical so I had to flee my homeland. I then lived in Kenya as a refugee for over ten years. That is where I started running for sport and became a member of the Kenya Refugee Athletes team. This team was recognised by the International Olympic Committee and I was able to take part in international competitions. In May 2019, I took part in the Harmony Geneva Marathon for Unicef in Switzerland and then stayed here. It wasn’t easy but various centres for asylum seekers in Vallorbe and Chiasso took me on. I had to prove my willingness and ability to become a professional runner. They put me in contact with my trainer Markus Hagmann. On 13 August 2019, three days before my 21st birthday, I moved to St. Gallen. Now I’m a member of the LC Brühl athletics club. I’m also attending a language school.

 

How did you become a Generali Running Talent?

I met Tadesse Abraham several times over the last few months at races in Switzerland. He approached me and we got to know each other. Tadesse told me about the THSN Refugee Team. He also put me in touch with Generali Switzerland. I’m excited to start training and get to know other runners. I already know the co-trainer in Zurich, Abdi Salam Ali, and I look forward to seeing him again.

 

What is your current goal?

My goal for a few years now has been to break records. I also want to be the first refugee to win medals at the biggest international competitions. Of course, I want to continue to stay in Switzerland too and just live off my passion.

 

What message would you like to give to young refugees?

Ask yourself what you want. Believe in yourself. And follow your goal with all of your heart. If you believe from your heart, it will work out. This will give you the will and the power you need.

 

GENERALI RUNNING TALENT

The best runners in the THSN Refugee Team receive Generali Running Talent status and benefit from intensive support. Generali Switzerland supports these athletes with running know-how, providing them with regular running coaching, individual training plans and offering them the opportunity to take part in a training camp in the Engadin valley. Generali Running Talents can also take part in numerous workshops that help them on their way to a running career: from dealing with the media and looking for professional sponsorships to support in running their own social media channels. Generali Switzerland also provides financial support for the talents.

Contacts

24h à votre disposition en cas de sinistre

Dominic Lobalu, premier Generali Running Talent

Dominic Lobalu a une volonté de fer et un talent inné pour la course à pied, qu’il entretient à force de travail et de sueur. Arrivé en Suisse en 2019, il s’est fait repérer par Tadesse Abraham, marathonien le plus rapide de Suisse et ambassadeur de Generali Suisse. Ses performances prometteuses lors de récentes compétitions helvétiques lui permettent de bénéficier d’un soutien particulier en tant que Generali Running Talent. Par le biais de ce nouveau programme, nous sommes fiers d’offrir une aide financière supplémentaire à de jeunes athlètes issus de la migration afin de les encourager à atteindre leurs rêves et objectifs sportifs.

Photo credits : Urs Siegwart

« Si tu sais ce que tu veux faire, alors crois en toi et mets-y tout ton cœur. Si cela vient vraiment du cœur, ça va marcher, ça te donnera la volonté et la force nécessaires. »

Dominic Lobalu en quelques mots

 

Dominic Lokinyomo Lobalu naît le 16 août 1998 dans la petite ville de Chukudum au Soudan du Sud. Il a 9 ans lorsqu’il fuit son pays, embourbé dans une guerre civile sans fin, et se réfugie dans la ville de Kakuma, au Kenya. Orphelin, il intègre une école primaire dans la région de Nairobi. C’est à l’âge de 15 ans, encouragé par son professeur, qu’il se met à la course à pied. Il se fait rapidement remarquer et devient membre de l’Équipe des athlètes réfugiés du Kenya. En 2017, il participe à Londres aux championnats du monde d’athlétisme. Deux ans plus tard, c’est au sein de la même équipe qu’il prend le départ du Harmony Genève Marathon for Unicef… et profite de l’occasion pour poser ses valises – ou plutôt son sac à dos – en Suisse. Il s’installe dans le canton de Saint-Gall où il rejoint le club d’athlétisme LC Brühl, sous la houlette de son manager Markus Hagmann.

 

Dominic est un jeune homme solaire qui charme par son sourire éclatant et son rire facile. Les excellents résultats qu’il collectionne aujourd’hui – toutes distances confondues – il les doit à de très bonnes prédispositions naturelles pour la course à pied, mais également à une volonté inébranlable. Il affiche d’ores et déjà un beau palmarès qui promet de gagner encore en envergure au cours des prochains mois. 

Palmarès sportif

  • 3000 mètres en 7:49.31 à Meilen lors du Meeting Meilen
  • 5000 mètres en 13:34.18 à Lucerne lors du World Athletics Continental Tour, Silver Level Series
  • 10 000 mètres en 28:32.72 à Uster lors des championnats suisses
  • Semi-marathon en 1:03:52 à Belp lors des championnats suisses de semi-marathon

 

 

Dominic, as-tu toujours rêvé de devenir coureur professionnel?

Non, pas du tout. Quand j’étais jeune, je rêvais de jouer au football. Mais à l’époque, parmi les garçons que je fréquentais, tous souhaitaient devenir footballeurs. Mon professeur m’a alors conseillé la course à pied. Ses arguments ont su me convaincre. Alors, j’ai commencé à courir. J’avais 15 ans.

 

 

Parle-nous un peu de ton parcours et de ton arrivée en Suisse.

Je suis né et j’ai vécu mes premières années au Soudan du Sud. Malheureusement, la situation politique était très mauvaise et j’ai dû fuir mon pays natal. J’ai ensuite vécu pendant plus de 10 ans en tant que réfugié au Kenya. C’est là que j’ai commencé à courir et que j’ai rejoint l’équipe des athlètes réfugiés du Kenya. Comme l’équipe était reconnue par le CIO, j’ai eu la possibilité de prendre part à des compétitions internationales. Après ma participation au Harmony Genève Marathon for Unicef en mai 2019, j’ai décidé de rester en Suisse. Ça n’a pas été facile, mais j’ai été accueilli dans différents centres de requérants d’asile, à Vallorbe et à Chiasso, et je les ai persuadés de ma volonté et de ma capacité à devenir coureur professionnel. Ils m’ont alors mis en contact avec mon entraîneur, Markus Hagmann. Le 13 août 2019, trois jours avant mes 21 ans, je m’installai à Saint-Gall. Je fais partie du club d’athlétisme LC Brühl et je fréquente en parallèle une école de langues.

 

 

Comment es-tu devenu un Generali Running Talent?

Au cours des derniers mois, j’ai croisé Tadesse Abraham à plusieurs occasions lors de différentes courses en Suisse. Il est venu me voir et nous avons peu à peu fait connaissance. C’est lui qui m’a parlé du THSN Refugee Team et qui m’a mis en contact avec Generali. Je me réjouis de commencer les entraînements, de retrouver Abdi Salam Ali que j’ai déjà rencontré et de créer de nouvelles relations avec d’autres coureurs et coureuses.

 

 

Aujourd’hui, quel est ton objectif ?

Mon objectif de toujours est de battre des records et d’être le premier réfugié à décrocher des médailles aux plus grandes compétitions internationales. Aujourd’hui, je souhaite aussi simplement pouvoir rester en Suisse et continuer à vivre de ma passion.

 

 

Quel est le message que tu aimerais transmettre aux jeunes réfugié·e·s et migrant·e·s?

Si tu sais ce que tu veux faire, alors crois en toi et mets-y tout ton cœur. Si cela vient vraiment du cœur, ça va marcher, ça te donnera la volonté et la force nécessaires. 

 

GENERALI RUNNING TALENT

Les meilleurs coureurs et coureuses du « THSN Refugee Team » bénéficient d’un soutien particulier en tant que « Generali Running Talents ». Generali Suisse encourage d’une part ces athlètes en leur prodiguant des connaissances dans le domaine de la course à pied. Elles et ils participent ainsi à des coachings de course réguliers, se voient remettre des plans d’entraînement individuels et prennent part à un camp d’entraînement en Engadine. De plus, les « Generali Running Talents » peuvent assister à de nombreux ateliers fort utiles lorsque l’on souhaite faire carrière dans le domaine de la course à pied : relations avec les médias, recherche professionnelle de sponsors ou encore gestion de sa présence sur les réseaux sociaux. Generali Suisse soutient d’autre part également ces talents d’un point de vue financier.