Contact

Claims hotline

Generali Switzerland pushes digitalisation to position itself as a leading insurer for private customers and SMEs

Jan 20, 2022.

The digital revolution is pertinent to every industry. In addition to competent advice, our customers mainly have a need for simple and digital services. As part of its new Avanti 2027 strategy, Generali Switzerland is more consistently putting its customers at the centre of all its considerations. It is replacing core systems and aligning its product range with new requirements. Generali is seeking to become a leading insurance company in the property insurance and private pension segments in Switzerland for private customers and small and medium-sized enterprises by 2027.

Customers’ expectations and requirements of modern insurers are in constant flux. New and flexible products and services are in demand. This is why, as part of its new Avanti 2027 strategy, Generali Switzerland is modernising its IT systems and its processes and will retire its core systems in the coming years. This modernisation of Generali’s technical foundations is key to achieving the strategy’s aims. Andreas Krümmel, CEO Generali Switzerland: “We want to be the most customer-focused and agile organisation on the Swiss insurance market, so we are putting our customers at the centre of our business in an even more consistent manner. This approach will help us to provide simple, modular and long-term insurance services in the property insurance and private pension segments.”

 

Retirement of core systems as a foundation for success

In collaboration with the Group Operations Service Platform (GOSP), a joint venture between the Generali Group and consultancy firm Accenture, Generali Switzerland will roll out the insurance software Sapiens. “The new core systems will give us a foundation upon which to develop products and services in an efficient and cost-effective manner. This will allow us to immediately react to market changes and keep the needs of our customers at the heart of product development, customer service and claim processing,” Krümmel continues. Sapiens also allows processes to be restructured and therefore implemented simply and digitally. Furthermore, the new core systems will simplify the interface management of modern applications from partner firms, which are involved in the product development process.

 

Reorientation of property insurance product range

While retiring the existing core systems, Generali Switzerland will also overhaul its current product range. The first of these new products will be launched in 2023. The focus will be on core products that will, in the years to come, be profitable, relevant in the long term and even more customer-focused. The range of property insurance products will be reduced over the next few years. Products that no longer align with Generali’s growth strategy will be re-evaluated. Additionally, Generali Switzerland will be making significant investments in 2022 and 2023 that will run until the expected completion of the transformation in 2027. “Only in this way will we achieve our goal of becoming the insurance company of choice in the property insurance and private pension segments for private customers and small and medium-sized enterprises,” says CEO Mr Krümmel. Despite its focus on its core products, Generali Switzerland remains a one-stop source for insurance solutions.

 

Higher potential returns thanks to innovation

As number two in the individual life insurance segment and market leader in the unit-linked life insurance business, Generali Switzerland is very well placed to offer private pension solutions. In order to remain competitive in this market, low costs and economies of scale are increasingly central aspects. “We are consistently increasing the proportion of unit-linked solutions without long-term and expensive guarantees. Our customers receive fair potential returns on the basis of long-term investment solutions,” says Krümmel, adding: “The processes will also be automated in such a way that our customers and distribution channels can simply and efficiently interact with us and take out insurance policies digitally.”

ABOUT GENERALI

The Generali Group is an independent Italian group with a strong international presence. Established in 1831, the company is now one of the world’s leading insurers. Generali has around 72,000 employees serving more than 65.9 million customers in 50 countries. The Group’s total income came to more than EUR 70.7 billion in 2020, making Generali the market leader in Western Europe. The company is also an increasingly important player in Central and Eastern Europe as well as in Asia.

 

Generali’s roots in Switzerland date back to 1887. Today, Generali (Switzerland) Holding Ltd. operates throughout Switzerland, with two head offices – one in Adliswil and one in Nyon – and a wide network of agencies. The insurer has more than one million customers and offers products for every situation in life. These include property insurance, legal expenses insurance, life insurance and pension solutions. Generali partners with start-ups to develop innovative products. The company is the first Swiss insurer to launch a fully digital pillar 3a.

Download

Kontakt

24h-Schaden-Hotline

Generali Schweiz mit Digitalisierungsschub zu einer führenden Versicherung für Privatkunden und KMU

Jan 20, 2022.

Die Digitalisierung macht vor keiner Branche halt. Neben kompetenter Beratung gehören einfache und digitale Dienstleistungen zu den Hauptbedürfnissen der Kundinnen und Kunden. Im Rahmen der neuen Strategie Avanti 2027 rückt Generali Schweiz ihre Kundinnen und Kunden noch konsequenter ins Zentrum aller Überlegungen, ersetzt dazu die Kernsysteme und richtet ihre Produktpalette auf die neuen Anforderungen aus. Mit diesem Ansatz will Generali in der Schweiz bis 2027 zu einer führenden Versicherung für Privatkunden und kleine und mittlere Unternehmen im Bereich Sachversicherungen und der privaten Vorsorge werden.

Die Ansprüche und Bedürfnisse von Kundinnen und Kunden an einen modernen Versicherer verändern sich laufend. Neue und flexible Dienstleistungen und Produkte sind gefragt. Deshalb modernisiert Generali Schweiz im Rahmen der neuen Strategie Avanti 2027 ihre IT und ihre Prozesse und löst in den kommenden Jahren ihre Kernsysteme ab. Die Erneuerung der technischen Grundlagen ist zentral, um die definierten Ziele zu erreichen. Andreas Krümmel, CEO Generali Schweiz: «Wir rücken unsere Kundinnen und Kunden noch konsequenter ins Zentrum unseres Handelns, denn wir wollen die kundenorientierteste und agilste Organisation im Schweizer Versicherungsmarkt sein. Dieser Ansatz wird uns helfen, einfache, modulare und nachhaltige Versicherungsdienstleistungen im Bereich Sachversicherungen und der privaten Vorsorge anzubieten.»

 

Ablösung des Kernsystems als Basis des Erfolgsmodells

Zusammen mit der Group Operations Service Platform (GOSP), einem Joint Venture der Generali Gruppe und des Beratungsunternehmens Accenture, wird Generali Schweiz die Versicherungssoftware Sapiens implementieren. «Mit den neuen Kernsystemen schaffen wir die Grundlage, Produkte und Dienstleistungen effizient und kostengünstig zu entwickeln. Damit können wir umgehend auf Marktveränderungen reagieren und die Kundenbedürfnisse in die Produktenwicklung, den Kundenservice und in die Abwicklung von Schadenfällen einfliessen lassen», führt Krümmel weiter aus. Auch erlaubt Sapiens Prozesse neu aufzusetzen und somit einfacher und digitaler unterwegs zu sein. Ausserdem vereinfachen die neuen Kernsysteme das Schnittstellenmanagement zu modernen Applikationen von Partnerfirmen, die bei der Produktentwicklung involviert sind.

 

Neuausrichtung der Produktpalette in der Sachversicherung

Generali Schweiz erneuert im Zuge der Ablösung des bestehenden Kernsystems auch die bisherige Produktpalette vollständig. Erste Produkte werden 2023 Marktreife erlangen. In den Fokus treten künftig profitable, noch stärker kundenorientierte und nachhaltige Kernprodukte. Das Sortiment bei den Sachversicherungen wird über die nächsten Jahre verschlankt. Betroffen sind Produkte, welche nicht mehr mit der Wachstumsstrategie übereinstimmen. Zudem tätigt Generali Schweiz bis zum geplanten Abschluss der Transformation im Jahr 2027 in den Jahren 2022 und 2023 signifikante Investitionen. «Nur so erreichen wir unser Ziel, die relevante Versicherung für Privatkunden und kleine und mittlere Unternehmen im Bereich der Sachversicherungen und der privaten Vorsorge zu werden», sagt CEO Krümmel. Trotz der Fokussierung auf die Kernprodukte bietet Generali Schweiz weiterhin alles aus einer Hand.

 

Mit Innovationen zu höheren Renditechancen

Als Nummer zwei im Bereich Einzelleben sowie als Marktführerin im fondsgebundenen Lebensversicherungsgeschäft hat Generali Schweiz eine starke Stellung bei der privaten Vorsorge. Um kompetitiv am Markt zu bleiben, sind tiefe Kosten sowie Skaleneffekte in diesem Bereich zunehmend zentral. «Wir erhöhen konsequent den Anteil fondsgebundener Lösungen ohne langfristige und teure Garantieversprechen. Unsere Kundinnen und Kunden erhalten faire Renditechancen auf Basis von nachhaltigen Anlagelösungen», sagt Krümmel und ergänzt. «Zudem werden Prozesse so automatisiert, dass unsere Kundinnen und Kunden und unsere Vertriebskanäle unkompliziert und effizient mit uns interagieren und digital Versicherungen abschliessen können.»

ÜBER GENERALI

Die Generali Gruppe ist ein unabhängiger italienischer Konzern mit starker internationaler Präsenz. Im Jahr 1831 gegründet, gehört das Unternehmen weltweit zu den führenden Versicherern. Generali ist in 50 Ländern vertreten, beschäftigt rund 72'000 Mitarbeitende und hat über 65.9 Millionen Kunden. Das Gesamteinkommen des Konzerns belief sich 2020 auf mehr als 70.7 Milliarden Euro. Damit ist Generali Marktführerin in Westeuropa. Auch in Mittel- und Osteuropa sowie in Asien gewinnt das Unternehmen an Bedeutung.

 

In der Schweiz gehen die Wurzeln von Generali auf das Jahr 1887 zurück. Heute ist die Generali (Schweiz) Holding AG mit zwei Hauptsitzen in Adliswil und Nyon sowie einem breiten Agenturnetz in der ganzen Schweiz vertreten. Der Versicherer hat mehr als eine Million Kunden und bietet Produkte für jede Lebenssituation an. Dazu zählen Sach-, Rechtsschutz- und Lebensversicherungen sowie Vorsorgelösungen. Zusammen mit Start-ups entwickelt Generali innovative Produkte. Als erster Schweizer Versicherer hat das Unternehmen eine komplett digitale Säule 3a lanciert.

Download