Contact

Claims hotline

Abdi Salam Ali and Kidane Solomon are new Generali Running Talents

Jan 11, 2022.

The best runners in the THSN Refugee Team receive Generali Running Talent status and benefit from intensive support. This is how Generali Switzerland helps exceptional talent from the refugee running group progress to a professional running career. As well as Dominic Lokinyomo Lobalu, who has been benefiting from this support programme since 2021, Abdi Salam Ali and Kidane Solomon have also joined the Generali Running Talent ranks this year. The Swiss marathon record holder, Tadesse Abraham, mentors the runners.

Tadesse Abraham has been heavily committed to people with a migrant background since 2020, together with The Human Safety Net Switzerland (THSN). The Generali Switzerland foundation has set up a running group to help refugees integrate into society through sport. The THSN Refugee Team trains several times a week in Zurich and Geneva and is aimed at amateurs, professional athletes and aspiring running coaches.

 

Generali Running Talent as a forge for talent

The past few months have revealed the hidden potential of the members of the THSN Refugee Team. Its runners have dominated numerous races throughout Switzerland. Generali Switzerland has therefore decided to extend its support to a select number of additional talented individuals. As well as financial support, the programme also includes workshops on topics such as dealing with the media and social media presence. The talents also accompany their mentor, Tadesse Abraham, to a training camp in the Engadin valley, where they receive first-hand tips.

 

Dominic Lokinyomo Lobalu made his début in 2021. The 22-year-old long-distance runner has already attracted attention across Switzerland. Last year, he benefited from intensive support as a Generali Running Talent. At the Swiss Championship, he came first in the 10,000-metre track running event with a time of 28 minutes 32 seconds. Dominic Lobalu was also first to cross the line in the 2020 Swiss Half Marathon in Belp, with a time of just 1 hour 3 minutes 52 seconds – a personal best. This year, he wants to achieve a time of under 1 hour 2 minutes. He competed head-to-head with his training partner, Tadesse Abraham, in the 2021 Silvesterläufe. While Dominic Lobalu finished the Zurich Silvesterlauf in first place, 0.1 seconds ahead of Tadesse Abraham, he had to be satisfied with third place directly behind him in the Silvesterlauf in Sitten (Course de Noël).

 

Abdi Salam Ali: “I want to prove myself in international competitions”

At the age of 14, Abdi Salam Ali fled Somalia and arrived in Switzerland in 2016. As an unaccompanied minor, he was looked after by the Zurich asylum agency (AOZ). He quickly learned German and attended the state secondary school in Zollikon. He then moved to the Uster school of sports and art, before beginning an apprenticeship in operations management. The 19-year-old is a member of Uster athletics club, where he is coached by Marco Rancan. Abdi Salam Ali has been assisting the THSN Refugee Team in Zurich as a co-coach since 2021. This allows him to share his knowledge and passion for running with other people with a migrant background.

 

Despite his young age, he has already enjoyed numerous sporting successes. The 10-kilometre race at the Swiss Championships in Lugano, 5000m at the Junior Swiss Championships in Nottwil and 17.9-kilometre run at the Greifenseelauf – Abdi Salam Ali topped the podium for all these races in 2021. So, it comes as no surprise that he is highly ambitious. “My aim is to take part in a few races abroad so I can measure myself against the international competition. One day, I would like to represent Switzerland in the Olympics, like Tadesse Abraham,” says Abdi Salam Ali.

 

Kidane Solomon: “My dream is to make a living from running”

31-year-old Kidane Solomon is from Eritrea. He arrived in Switzerland in 2014 as a political asylum seeker and has lived in Geneva ever since. He began regular running training in 2017. In September 2020, he attracted attention after coming third in the Frankfurt Half Marathon with a time of 1 hour 4 minutes 15 seconds. Following this success, Kidane Solomon joined the THSN Refugee Team. Since then, targeted coaching by Tadesse Abraham and Olivier Baldacchino has allowed him to constantly improve his performance.

 

Kidane Solomon won the 10-kilometre race at the 2021 Geneva Marathon with a time of 30 minutes 7 seconds. At the 2021 Swiss Championships in Uster, he completed the 10,000m track running event in a time of 30 minutes 46.85 seconds. In October 2020, he achieved his previous personal best of 1 hour 4 minutes 4 seconds at the Swiss Half Marathon in Belp. Kidane Solomon won silver at the 2021 Greifenseelauf, with a time of 58 minutes 37 seconds, directly behind Abdi Salam Ali. He competed against a number of elite runners at the 2021 Murtenlauf, finishing in sixth place. His next goal is already clear. “My dream is to make a living from running. To achieve this, my next goal is to run my first marathon in under 2 hours 10 minutes,” says Kidane Solomon. 

 

 

Click here for more information about:

ABOUT GENERALI

The Generali Group is an independent Italian group with a strong international presence. Established in 1831, the company is now one of the world’s leading insurers. Generali has around 72,000 employees serving more than 65.9 million customers in 50 countries. The Group’s total income came to more than EUR 70.7 billion in 2020, making Generali the market leader in Western Europe. The company is also an increasingly important player in Central and Eastern Europe as well as in Asia.

 

Generali’s roots in Switzerland date back to 1887. Today, Generali (Switzerland) Holding Ltd. operates throughout Switzerland, with two head offices – one in Adliswil and one in Nyon – and a wide network of agencies. The insurer has more than one million customers and offers products for every situation in life. These include property insurance, legal expenses insurance, life insurance and pension solutions. Generali partners with start-ups to develop innovative products. The company is the first Swiss insurer to launch a fully digital pillar 3a.

Download

Kontakt

24h-Schaden-Hotline

Abdi Salam Ali und Kidane Solomon sind neue «Generali Running Talents»

Jan 11, 2022.

Die besten Läuferinnen und Läufer des «THSN Refugee Teams» werden als «Generali Running Talents» intensiv gefördert. Damit unterstützt Generali Schweiz aussergewöhnliche Talente aus der Laufgruppe für Geflüchtete auf dem ihrem Weg zur Profikarriere. Neben Dominic Lokinyomo Lobalu, der seit 2021 vom Förderprogramm profitiert, zählen seit diesem Jahr neu auch Abdi Salam Ali und Kidane Solomon zu den «Generali Running Talents». Der Schweizer Marathon-Rekordhalter Tadesse Abraham steht den Läufern als Mentor zur Seite.

Seit 2020 macht sich Tadesse Abraham gemeinsam mit «The Human Safety Net Switzerland» (THSN) für Menschen mit Fluchthintergrund stark. Die Stiftung von Generali Schweiz hat eine Laufgruppe ins Leben gerufen, um Geflüchteten die Integration durch Sport zu erleichtern. Das «THSN Refugee Team» trainiert mehrmals pro Woche in Zürich und Genf und richtet sich an Amateure, professionelle Läufer sowie angehende Laufcoaches.

 

«Generali Running Talents» als Talentschmiede

Die vergangenen Monate machten deutlich, welches Potential in den Mitgliedern des «THSN Refugee Teams» schlummert. Die Läuferinnen und Läufer dominierten zahlreiche Läufe in der ganzen Schweiz. Daher entschied sich Generali Schweiz dazu, ausgewählte Talente zusätzlich zu fördern. Zum Förderprogramm zählen neben der finanziellen Unterstützung auch Coachings in Bereichen wie Medienauftritt oder Social-Media-Präsenz. Zudem begleiten die Talente ihren Mentor Tadesse Abraham ins Trainingslager im Engadin und erhalten dort Tipps aus erster Hand.

 

Den Anfang machte 2021 Dominic Lokinyomo Lobalu. Der 22-jährige Langstreckenläufer sorgte bereits schweizweit für Aufmerksamkeit. Im vergangenen Jahr wurde er als «Generali Running Talent» intensiv gefördert. Er entschied die Schweizermeisterschaft beim 10’000m auf der Bahn in 28:32 Minuten für sich. Auch bei den Schweizer Halbmarathon-Meisterschaften 2020 in Belp lief Dominic Lobalu als Erster ins Ziel. Nach nur 1:03.52 – seiner persönlichen Bestzeit. Dieses Jahr will er eine Zeit unter 1:02 erreichen. Ein Kopf-an-Kopf-Rennen mit seinem Trainingspartner Tadesse Abraham lieferte er sich an den Silvesterläufen 2021. Während Dominic Lobalu am Zürcher Silvesterlauf mit einem Vorsprung von 0.1 Sekunden vor Tadesse Abraham auf dem ersten Platz landete, musste er sich beim Silvesterlauf in Sitten (Course de Noël) direkt hinter ihm mit dem dritten Rang zufriedengeben.

 

Abdi Salam Ali: «Möchte mich bei internationalen Wettkämpfen beweisen»

Abdi Salam Ali floh 2016 im Alter von vierzehn Jahren aus Somalia in die Schweiz. Als unbegleiteter Minderjähriger wurde er von der Asylorganisation Zürich aufgenommen. Er lernte schnell Deutsch und besuchte die Sekundarschule Zollikon. Danach wechselte er auf die Sport- und Kunstschule Uster, bevor er eine Ausbildung zum Fachmann Betriebsunterhalt begann. Der 19-Jährige ist Mitglied des Leichtathletikclubs Uster und wird dort von Marco Rancan trainiert. Seit 2021 unterstützt Abdi Salam Ali als Co-Trainer das «THSN Refugee Team» in Zürich. So kann er anderen Personen mit Fluchthintergrund sein Wissen und seine Leidenschaft für den Laufsport vermitteln.

 

Trotz seines jungen Alters blickt er bereits auf zahlreiche sportliche Erfolge zurück. Ob über 10 Kilometer bei den Schweizer Meisterschaften in Lugano, über 5000m bei den Junioren Schweizer Meisterschaften in Nottwil oder beim Greifenseelauf über 17.9 Kilometer – überall stand Abdi Salam Ali 2021 ganz zuoberst auf dem Podest. Es überrascht darum nicht, dass er grosse Ambitionen hat. «Mein Ziel besteht darin, auch an Wettkämpfen im Ausland teilzunehmen, um mich mit der internationalen Konkurrenz zu messen. Eines Tages möchte ich wie Tadesse Abraham die Schweiz bei den Olympischen Spielen vertreten», sagt Abdi Salam Ali.

 

Kidane Solomon: «Mein Traum ist es, vom Laufen leben zu können»

Der 31-jährige Kidane Solomon stammt aus Eritrea. 2014 kam er als politischer Geflüchteter in die Schweiz und lebt seither in Genf. Mit dem regelmässigen Lauftraining begann er 2017. Im September 2020 erregte er Aufmerksamkeit, als er beim Halbmarathon in Frankfurt mit einer Zeit von 1:04:15 den dritten Platz belegte. Nach diesem Erfolg trat Kidane Solomon dem «THSN Refugee Team» bei. Dank gezieltem Coaching durch Tadesse Abraham und Olivier Baldacchino verbessert sich seine Leistung seither konstant.

 

Beim 10-Kilometer-Lauf am Genfer Marathon 2021 lief Kidane Solomon mit einer Zeit von 30:07 auf den ersten Platz. Bei den Schweizer Meisterschaften 2021 in Uster absolvierte er die 10'000m auf der Bahn in 30:46.85. Im Oktober 2020 erreicht er bei den Schweizer Halbmarathonmeisterschaften in Belp seine bisherige Bestzeit von 1:04:04. Beim Greifenseelauf 2021 sicherte sich Kidane Solomon mit einer Laufzeit von 58:37 direkt nach Abdi Salam Ali die Silbermedaille. Am Murtenlauf 2021 konnte er sich mit zahlreichen Spitzenläufern messen und erreichte den 6. Rang. Sein nächstes Ziel ist bereit definiert. «Mein Traum ist es, vom Laufen leben zu können. Um das zu erreichen, möchte ich meinen ersten Marathon in unter 2 Stunden und 10 Minuten laufen», so Kidane Solomon.

 

 

Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen zu:

ÜBER GENERALI

Die Generali Gruppe ist ein unabhängiger italienischer Konzern mit starker internationaler Präsenz. Im Jahr 1831 gegründet, gehört das Unternehmen weltweit zu den führenden Versicherern. Generali ist in 50 Ländern vertreten, beschäftigt rund 72'000 Mitarbeitende und hat über 65.9 Millionen Kunden. Das Gesamteinkommen des Konzerns belief sich 2020 auf mehr als 70.7 Milliarden Euro. Damit ist Generali Marktführerin in Westeuropa. Auch in Mittel- und Osteuropa sowie in Asien gewinnt das Unternehmen an Bedeutung.

 

In der Schweiz gehen die Wurzeln von Generali auf das Jahr 1887 zurück. Heute ist die Generali (Schweiz) Holding AG mit zwei Hauptsitzen in Adliswil und Nyon sowie einem breiten Agenturnetz in der ganzen Schweiz vertreten. Der Versicherer hat mehr als eine Million Kunden und bietet Produkte für jede Lebenssituation an. Dazu zählen Sach-, Rechtsschutz- und Lebensversicherungen sowie Vorsorgelösungen. Zusammen mit Start-ups entwickelt Generali innovative Produkte. Als erster Schweizer Versicherer hat das Unternehmen eine komplett digitale Säule 3a lanciert.

Download