Contact

Claims hotline

Lost & Found: what to do if your luggage doesn't make it

Aug 16, 2016. Posted in Services, Produkte

Every traveller's nightmare: the airline loses your luggage. It looks as if your holiday is ruined from the word go. Here are our tips on how to avoid major inconvenience.

At last, the big summer holiday has begun for the whole family. The flight's behind you and you have already forgotten the pressure in your ears. Now everyone can relax. But then the suitcases don't turn up on the carousel. We've put together some tips on how you can enjoy the summer even when something like that happens.

 

Don't leave the airport before getting help

 

Report the baggage missing straightaway to the Lost & Found office at the airport where you are. The people manning it will be well prepared to answer your questions. In most cases, it won't take long untillyou get your luggage back – in eight out of ten cases, missing luggage turns out to have been put on a later flight.1 If your bags don't turn up at your destination airport within 21 days, they will be regarded as lost. In this case, you'll be entitled to compensation from the airline. Ideally, you'll have kept the receipts for everything that you have lost. If you've had them for some time, of course, this isn't always possible. Alternatively, you can ask for the compensation to be on the basis of the luggage's weight.

 

How to be prepared for all eventualities:

  • Think about what you put in your hand luggage; it should include a change of clothing and toiletries for the whole family. Stressful situations are much easier to cope with if you're wearing fresh clothes.
  • Valuables need to go in your hand luggage, too – airlines often pay replacement costs only up to a certain amount.
  • Label the inside and outside of your luggage with your name and address.
  • Make sure you keep the barcode labels that you get when checking your luggage in. You can use them to report a loss and to find out where you luggage has ended up.
  • To put an exact figure on your loss, make sure you keep the receipts of items you've bought.

 

In the event of any doubt, luggage insurance will ensure you get back the full value of the items you've lost. 

 

 

1SITA, Société Internationale de Télécommunication Aéronautique, 2015.

Kontakt

24h-Schaden-Hotline

Lost & Found: Wenn das Gepäck nicht am Ferienort ankommt

Aug 16, 2016. Posted in Services, Produkte

Der Horror jedes Reisenden: Die Fluggesellschaft verliert auf dem Weg in den Urlaub das Gepäck. Damit scheinen die Ferien von Beginn an ruiniert. Mit unseren Tipps vermeiden Sie grössere Unannehmlichkeiten.

Endlich ist es so weit: Die ganze Familie fährt in den grossen Sommerurlaub. Der Flug ist bereits überstanden und der Druck auf den Ohren wieder vergessen. Eigentlich kann jetzt die Entspannung beginnen. Doch dann tauchen die Koffer nicht am Förderband auf. Damit Sie die freien Sommertage trotzdem geniessen, haben wir einige Tipps zusammengestellt.

 

Hilfe schon am Flughafen

 

Melden Sie die vermissten Koffer und Gepäckstücke direkt bei der Lost & Found Stelle Ihres örtlichen Flughafens. Die Ansprechpartner dort sind auf Ihre Fragen vorbereitet. Meistens erhalten Sie Ihr Gepäck bald wieder – in acht von zehn Fällen wurde es nur verspätet befördert1. Sollten Ihre Koffer nicht innerhalb von 21 Tagen am Zielflughafen ankommen, gelten sie als verloren. In diesem Fall haben Sie Anspruch auf Schadensersatz von der Fluggesellschaft. Im Idealfall haben Sie die Belege der verlorenen Gegenstände aufbewahrt. Natürlich ist dies gerade bei älterem Besitz nicht immer möglich. Alternativ können Sie eine Erstattung nach Gewicht beantragen.

 

So sind Sie gegen alle Eventualitäten gewappnet:

  • Packen Sie Ihr Handgepäck bedacht und verwahren Sie dort Wechselkleidung und Hygieneartikel für die ganze Familie. In frischer Kleidung lassen sich Stresssituation deutlich leichter bewältigen.
  • Auch Wertsachen gehören ins Handgepäck – häufig übernehmen Fluggesellschaften die Schadensersatzkosten nur bis zu einer bestimmten Höhe.
  • Bringen Sie innen und aussen am Gepäck Ihren Namen und Adressdaten an.
  • Heben Sie das Strichcode-Etikett auf, das Sie beim Check-In für Ihr Gepäck erhalten. Damit melden Sie einen Verlust an und finden heraus, wo sich Ihre Koffer befinden.
  • Bewahren Sie die Kaufbelege auf, um Ihren Schaden genau zu beziffern.

 

Im Zweifelsfall bekommen Sie mit einer Reisegepäckversicherung den Wert Ihrer verlorenen Gegenstände in voller Höhe ersetzt. 

 

 

1SITA, Société Internationale de Télécommunication Aéronautique, 2015.