Contact

Claims hotline

Tadesse Abraham talks about The Human Safety Net Refugee Team

Tadesse Abraham, the fastest marathon runner in Switzerland, talks about his story and his integration as a refugee. He also tells us about the new initiative The Human Safety Net Refugee Team, which is scheduled to launch in the fall of 2020.  

Tadesse, when did you know you wanted to become a professional marathon runner?

I saw a friend of mine on television, participating in the European Championships, and I said to myself: Why not me? Why shouldn’t I try to qualify, too? That’s where I found my motivation. I thought to myself: It’s possible. Anything is possible if I work hard.

 

 

Tell us a little about yourself and your arrival in Switzerland.

I came to the Lake Zurich region of Switzerland (Uster) as a refugee in 2004. I was 22 years old. Everything was so different here. I didn’t know a single word of German and I had no knowledge of the culture. It was very hard to introduce myself, to approach people and get to know them. So, I told myself that I absolutely had to integrate as soon as possible, learn the language and adapt to this new culture. Integration is crucial.

 

 

How did you go about it?

Running allowed me to get closer to the locals and understand their culture and customs. That helped me a lot. When you arrive in a new country as a refugee, you don’t know anybody, you don’t know how the system works... At first, I wasn’t sure where to go or who to turn to.

Often, I would train alone or with a friend at the stadium in Uster. I was quite fortunate to meet members of the LC Uster. It was very important for me to have someone by my side to help me, motivate me, and show me what I can and need to do. And most of all support me. That’s exactly what the club offered. I can’t thank them enough, and the club is still dear to my heart. I wouldn’t have been able to integrate so quickly and easily without sport; it played an essential role in my integration.

"I saw a friend of mine on television, participating in the European Championships, and I said to myself: Why not me?"

Why did you get involved with The Human Safety Net?

When I found out that Generali Switzerland was specifically supporting refugees and people with an immigrant background through The Human Safety Net Switzerland Foundation, I was immediately interested. The idea that these people have a lot to contribute to Swiss society also ties in with my personal convictions. The most important thing is for people to have the chance to develop their full potential, regardless of the environment in which they grew up. To have opportunities. That’s the guiding principle of The Human Safety Net and these values are completely in line with my own.

 

 

What do you hope to accomplish with the THSN Refugee Team?

I want to help the people involved to follow their path. I want to be their big brother, support them, assist them, encourage them. I’ll always be there for them.

 

 

What message would you like to convey to young refugees and migrants?

My motto is “Nothing is impossible if you invest 100%. You have to believe in yourself and go for it. ”

 

More information about the THSN Refugee Team

The Human Safety Net

 

Launched by the Generali Group, The Human Safety Net is a global initiative that is now being rolled out in 21 countries around the world in partnership with numerous organisations. The network is composed of NGOs and social and academic institutions in addition to Generali. Mutual aid and solidarity are at the heart of the initiative. The aim is to give socially disadvantaged people the opportunity to develop their full potential so that they can lead a secure and self-reliant life. With The Human Safety Net Switzerland Foundation, Generali Switzerland has been part of this movement since 2018. Together with two partner organisations, we are committed to helping disadvantaged families in Switzerland and encouraging refugees and people with an immigrant background to develop their entrepreneurial skills.

Contacts

24h à votre disposition en cas de sinistre

Tadesse Abraham s’exprime au sujet de The Human Safety Net Refugee Team

Tadesse Abraham, le marathonien le plus rapide de Suisse, nous dévoile son histoire et raconte son intégration en tant que réfugié. Il nous parle aussi de la nouvelle initiative « The Human Safety Net Refugee Team » dont le lancement est prévu pour l’automne 2020.   

TADESSE, QUAND AS-TU SU QUE TU VOULAIS DEVENIR MARATHONIEN PROFESSIONNEL ?

J’ai vu un de mes amis à la télévision lors de sa participation aux championnats d’Europe et je me suis dit : Pourquoi pas moi ? Pourquoi n’essayerais-je pas moi aussi de me qualifier ? C’est là que la motivation est apparue. Je me suis dit : C’est possible. Tout est possible si je travaille dur.

 

 

Parle-nous un peu de toi et de ton arrivée en Suisse.

Je suis arrivé en Suisse dans la région du Zürichsee (Uster) en tant que réfugié en 2004. J’avais 22 ans. Tout était tellement différent ici. Je ne connaissais pas un seul mot d’allemand, je ne connaissais pas la culture. C’était très dur de me présenter, d’aborder les gens, de faire connaissance. Je me suis alors dit qu’il fallait absolument que je m’intègre le plus rapidement possible, que j’apprenne la langue et que je m’adapte à cette nouvelle culture. L’intégration joue un rôle primordial.

 

 

Comment t’y es-tu pris ?

La course m'a permis de me rapprocher des habitants, de comprendre leur culture et leurs habitudes. Cela m'a beaucoup aidé. Lorsqu’on arrive dans un nouveau pays en tant que refugié, on ne connaît personne, on ne sait pas comment le système fonctionne… Au début, je ne savais pas où me diriger, ni vers qui aller.

 

Souvent, j’allais m’entraîner seul ou avec un ami au stade d’Uster. J’ai eu beaucoup de chance car j’ai ainsi pu rencontrer des membres du LCUster. Pour moi, c’était très important d’avoir à mes côtés quelqu’un qui m’aide, qui me motive, qui me montre ce que je peux faire, ce que je dois faire. Et qui me soutienne surtout. Et c’est exactement ce que ce club m’a offert. Je ne les remercierai jamais assez, ils restent mon club de cœur. Je n’aurais pas pu m’intégrer aussi rapidement et aussi facilement sans le sport ; il a joué un rôle essentiel dans mon intégration.

« J’ai vu un de mes amis à la télévision lors de sa participation aux championnats d’Europe et je me suis dit : Pourquoi pas moi ? »

Pourquoi t’es-tu engagé dans « The Human Safety Net » ?

Lorsque j'ai appris que Generali Suisse, avec « The Human Safety Net Switzerland Foundation », soutenait spécifiquement les personnes réfugiées ou issues de l'immigration, cela m’a tout de suite interpellé. L'idée selon laquelle ces personnes ont beaucoup à apporter à la société suisse correspond également à ma conviction. Le plus important, c’est d’avoir l’opportunité de déployer son plein potentiel, indépendamment du milieu dans lequel on a grandi. Avoir des opportunités. C'est le fil conducteur de « The Human Safety Net » et ces valeurs me correspondent entièrement.

 

 

Qu’aimerais-tu accomplir avec le THSN Refugee Team ?

J’aimerais aider les personnes qui y prendront part à suivre leur voie. Je désire être leur grand frère, les épauler, les aider, les encourager. Je serai toujours disponible pour elles.

 

Quel est le message que tu aimerais transmettre aux jeunes réfugié·es et migrant·es ?

Mon credo : « Rien n’est impossible si l’on s’investit à 100%. Il faut y croire et foncer. »

 

Plus d’informations au sujet du THSN Refugee Team

The Human Safety Net

 

Lancée par le Groupe Generali, « The Human Safety Net » est une initiative mondiale, qui se déploie aujourd’hui dans 21 pays à travers le monde en partenariat avec de nombreuses organisations. Le réseau est composé, en plus de Generali, d’ONG ainsi que d’institutions sociales et académiques. L’entraide et la solidarité sont au cœur de l’initiative. L’objectif est de donner aux personnes socialement défavorisées l’opportunité de déployer leur plein potentiel afin de pouvoir mener une vie sûre et autodéterminée. Avec « The Human Safety Net Switzerland Foundation », Generali Suisse s’inscrit depuis 2018 dans ce mouvement. En collaboration avec deux organisations partenaires nous nous engageons en Suisse en faveur des familles défavorisées et encourageons les personnes réfugiées ou issues de l’immigration à développer leurs compétences entrepreneuriales.