Contact

Claim (24-hour helpline)

Travel insurance

Travel insurance for a relaxed holiday – in Switzerland and around the world

However well you plan your holiday, things can always happen. And you might end up paying out a lot of money. Which is why you need travel insurance. If you have an accident or fall ill, we will support you and your family in every situation, quickly and reliably. Our travel insurance allows you to go away and leave your cares at home. It even covers you for day trips you take in Switzerland.

BENEFITS OF OUR TRAVEL INSURANCE

  • For all travel and trips within Switzerland and abroad
  • 24/7, 365 days a year: you’ll get information and help round the clock
  • Coronavirus travel insurance: our pandemic coverage also applies if you get coronavirus
  • Our partner Europ Assistance is a global market leader
  • Suiting your needs: travel insurance for individuals, families or couples

How is the Travel Insurance made up?

Would like to take out travel insurance? We have three basic modules and three supplementary modules. Select at least one basic module and add further modules depending on your needs. 

Basic modules

Are you ill or have had an accident before starting out on your journey? We cover the costs of cancelling or postponing your trip. Our travel cancellation insurance also covers you if a relative or your pet is involved, or if your travel destination is affected by an exceptional event such as an earthquake or volcanic eruption.

 

Cancellation insurance

Have you had an accident or a medical emergency while abroad? Personal assistance consists of medical assistance and travel assistance. This entitles you to medical assistance while you are travelling as well as assistance if your means of transport stops running. The insurance also covers search-and-rescue costs. We also cover treatment costs abroad for emergency-related outpatient treatment and hospital stays.

 

Personal assistance

Are you travelling with your own vehicle? We offer Europe-wide support for breakdowns, collisions and damage caused by natural events such as flooding or storms. You get breakdown assistance for when you’re abroad, and you can also count on our help if your bike is not working. Whether you are travelling by bicycle, electric bicycle or car, we make sure you are covered wherever you go.

 

Vehicle assistance

Supplementary modules

What are the rules and laws abroad? It’s easy to get stuck when it comes to legal issues abroad. Just not knowing a language can be a barrier. We’ll support you in any disputes arising from a traffic accident, and we help you with any problems regarding bookings. Our combination of travel and motorist’s legal protection will ensure you get what you’re legally entitled to – anywhere in the world.

 

Travel and motorists’ legal protection

When travelling, you count on your luggage arriving at your destination on time and undamaged. If something goes wrong, we offer immediate assistance. The luggage insurance includes cover for damage, theft and delayed luggage, and more. We pay the costs of replacement or repair.

 

Luggage insurance

Do you often rent vehicles such as cars, bikes or boats on your holiday? If so, it is a good idea to take out extra insurance for deductible payment on top of the rental vehicle insurance. We cover your deductible for claims caused by collision, vandalism, damage caused by natural events and theft of rental vehicles.

 

Rental vehicles deductible

Services

The services are always included in our travel insurance. Our travel hotline can give you information on vaccinations and entry requirements before you start your journey. We can also help you in the event of an emergency while you are away, any time of the day or night.

 

Travel hotline +41 848 800 400

Information and help before and during your trip: 24/7, 365 days a year

  • Required vaccinations and travel documents
  • Entry and customs formalities
  • Emergency services at home
  • Psychological support by phone
  • Assistance in the event of unforeseen travel changes
  • Translation and interpreting services

 

 

QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS

Travel insurance protects you against unexpected problems and their financial consequences during a trip or excursion in Switzerland and around the world.

 

You become ill or have an accident? Travel cancellation insurance or international health insurance pays your cancellation and treatment costs. Having a legal dispute with your car rental company? Rental vehicle deductible insurance or motorists’ legal protection insurance are handy to have here. Maybe your luggage gets stolen or arrives damaged. This is where your luggage insurance will get you new or replacement luggage items. And these are only a few examples.

 

Taking out travel insurance with Generali gets you round-the-clock assistance and financial help. So your trip doesn’t end abruptly and you can relax and just enjoy your time away.

Our travel insurance is suitable for everyone because it is tailored to individual needs. The family insurance gives families the best cover, while individual insurance does the same for people travelling individually. You are free to choose the cover provided by your travel insurance: from cancellation costs insurance and luggage insurance to payment of the deductible for rental vehicles. 

The travel insurance is valid worldwide, including Switzerland. This does not include vehicle assistance, which is only valid in Europe, including Switzerland.

  • Individual insurance: Minor children not living in the same household are insured under the policy, including godchildren.
  • Family insurance: Children are insured provided they live in the same household and minors who do not live in the same household, for example godchildren. If your children have already moved out of home, they can only be included in the family insurance up to the age of 25.

Generally, travel insurance is always worthwhile if you travel a lot - whether abroad or in Switzerland. Cancellation insurance is particularly useful if you go on one or two expensive trips a year. Depending on the provider, you could otherwise end up paying the cancellation costs. But you can also benefit from cancellation cover if you regularly attend concerts in Switzerland: tickets for events are also covered. Make sure that you take out the travel insurance before you book the trip. If you don’t, the trip will not be insured.

Yes, coronavirus is an illness, so it is covered like any other illness. This also applies to all other illnesses caused by a pandemic or epidemic. We will also give you information on any vaccinations or quarantine requirements before you travel. The travel insurance also covers any quarantine costs resulting from an illness, as long as you have included personal assistance.

 

You’ll find more information about travelling and coronavirus on our coronavirus page under travel law.

Kontakt

Schaden (24 Stunden-Service)

Reiseversicherung

Reiseversicherung für sorglose Ferien – in der Schweiz und weltweit

Egal, wie gut Sie Ferien vorbereiten – es kann immer etwas passieren. Dann können hohe Kosten für Sie entstehen. Darum sollten Sie eine Reiseversicherung abschliessen. Ob Unfall oder Krankheit: Wir unterstützen Sie und Ihre Familie in jeder Situation schnell und zuverlässig. Mit unserer Reiseschutzversicherung verreisen Sie unbesorgt. Selbst Tagesausflüge in der Schweiz sind gedeckt.

VORTEILE DER REISEVERSICHERUNG

  • Für alle Reisen und Ausflüge in der Schweiz und im Ausland
  • 24 Stunden, 365 Tage: Sie erhalten rund um die Uhr Auskunft und Hilfe
  • Reiseversicherung Corona: Die Pandemie-Deckung gilt auch für Corona-Erkrankungen
  • Unser Partner Europ Assistance ist weltweiter Marktführer
  • Passend zu Ihren Bedürfnissen: Reiseschutzversicherung für Einzelpersonen, Familien oder Paare

wie ist die Reiseversicherung aufgebaut?

Möchten Sie eine Reiseversicherung abschliessen? Bei uns gibt es drei Basismodule und drei Zusatzmodule. Wählen Sie mindestens ein Basismodul, und ergänzen Sie weitere Module ganz nach Ihren Bedürfnissen.

Basismodule

Sind Sie krank oder hatten einen Unfall vor Reisebeginn? Wir übernehmen die Annullationskosten, wenn Sie Ihre Reise absagen oder verschieben müssen. Unsere Reiserücktrittsversicherung deckt auch ab, wenn eine nahestehende Person oder Ihr Haustier betroffen ist. Oder wenn sich an Ihrem Reiseziel zum Beispiel ein Erdbeben oder ein Vulkanausbruch ereignet hat.

 

Zum Modul Annullationsversicherung

Hatten Sie im Ausland einen Unfall oder einen medizinischen Notfall? Die Personen-Assistance besteht aus der medizinischen Assistance und der Reise-Assistance. So erhalten Sie während Ihrer Reise medizinische Hilfe, aber auch Unterstützung, wenn Ihr Transportmittel nicht mehr fährt. Such- und Rettungskosten sind ebenfalls versichert. Zudem bezahlen wir die Heilungskosten im Ausland für notfallbedingte medizinische Behandlungen und Spitalaufenthalte.

 

Zum Modul Personen-Assistance

Sie sind mit Ihrem eigenen Fahrzeug auf Reisen? Wir bieten Ihnen in ganz Europa Unterstützung bei Pannen, Kollisionen und Elementarschäden wie Überschwemmungen oder Stürmen. Sie bekommen eine Pannenhilfe fürs Ausland und können auch bei Fahrradpannen auf uns zählen. Ob mit Ihrem Velo, E-Bike oder Auto: Mit uns sind Sie immer sicher unterwegs.

 

Zum Modul Fahrzeug-Assistance

Zusatzmodule

Welche Regeln und Gesetze gelten im Ausland? Bei rechtlichen Fragen im Ausland kommt man schnell an eine Grenze. Schon die Sprachbarriere kann eine Herausforderung sein. Wir unterstützen Sie bei Streitfällen aufgrund eines Verkehrsunfalls. Aber helfen auch bei Problemen mit Buchungen. Mit unserer Kombination aus Reiserechtsschutz und Verkehrsrechtsschutzversicherung kommen Sie zu Ihrem Recht – überall auf der Welt.

 

Zum Modul Reise- und Verkehrsrechtsschutz

Auf Reisen zählen Sie darauf, dass das Gepäck rechtzeitig und unversehrt am Zielort ankommt. Sollte das einmal nicht klappen, helfen wir Ihnen sofort weiter. In der Gepäckversicherung abgedeckt sind unter anderem Beschädigung, Diebstahl und Gepäckverspätungen. Wir übernehmen die Kosten für Ersatz, Reparatur oder Wiederbeschaffung.

 

Zum Modul Gepäckversicherung

Mieten Sie in Ihren Ferien häufig Fahrzeuge wie Autos, Velos oder Boote? Dann ist eine Versicherung für den Selbstbehalt zusätzlich zur Mietwagenversicherung des Anbieters sinnvoll. Wir übernehmen Ihren Selbstbehalt bei Schadensfällen infolge von Kollision, Vandalismus, Elementarschäden und Diebstahl an gemieteten Fahrzeugen.

 

Zum Modul Selbstbehalt Mietfahrzeuge

Serviceleistungen

Die Serviceleistungen sind in unserer Reiseversicherung immer inbegriffen. Über unsere Reise-Hotline geben wir Ihnen vor Reiseantritt Auskunft zu Einreisebestimmungen oder Impfungen. Ausserdem sind wir zu jeder Tages- und Nachtzeit für Sie da, falls während der Reise ein Notfall eintritt.

 

Reise-Hotline +41 848 800 400

Auskunft und Hilfe vor und während der Reise: 24 Stunden, 365 Tage

  • Notwendige Impfungen und Reisedokumente
  • Einreise- und Zollformalitäten
  • Notfalldienst zu Hause
  • Psychologische Betreuung per Telefon
  • Hilfe bei unvorhergesehenen Reiseänderungen
  • Übersetzungs- und Dolmetscherservice

 

 

FRAGEN UND ANTWORTEN

Eine Reiseversicherung schützt Sie vor unerwarteten Problemen und deren finanziellen Folgen während einer Reise oder einem Ausflug in der Schweiz und weltweit.

 

Sie werden krank oder haben einen Unfall? Dann übernimmt die Reiserücktrittsversicherung oder die Auslandskrankenversicherung die Kosten für Stornierung oder Behandlung. Geraten Sie in Rechtsstreitigkeiten mit Ihrem Autovermieter? Dann ist eine Mietwagenselbstbehaltversicherung oder eine Verkehrsrechtsschutzversicherung praktisch. Vielleicht wird Ihr Gepäck gestohlen oder kommt beschädigt an. Dann hilft Ihnen die Reisegepäckversicherung bei der Wiederbeschaffung oder einem Ersatz. Und das sind nur einige Beispiele.

 

Wenn Sie eine Reiseversicherung bei Generali abschliessen, erhalten Sie rund um die Uhr Beratung und finanzielle Unterstützung. Damit Ihre Reise nicht unverhofft endet und Sie Ihre freie Zeit sorgenlos geniessen können.

Unsere Reiseversicherung eignet sich für alle, denn sie geht gezielt auf individuelle Bedürfnisse ein. Familien haben einen optimalen Versicherungsschutz mit der Familienversicherung, Einzelpersonen sind mit der Einzelversicherung gut versichert. Sie können den Schutz durch Ihre Reiseversicherung flexibel wählen: von einer Annullationskostenversicherung über die Reisegepäckversicherung bis zur Übernahme des Selbstbehalts bei Mietfahrzeugen.

Die Reiseversicherung gilt weltweit inklusive Schweiz. Davon ausgenommen ist die Fahrzeug-Assistance, die nur in Europa inklusive Schweiz gilt.

  • Einzelversicherung: Versichert sind Minderjährige, die nicht im gleichen Haushalt leben, zum Beispiel Patenkinder.
  • Familienversicherung: Versichert sind Kinder, solange sie im gleichen Haushalt leben, und Minderjährige, die nicht im gleichen Haushalt leben, zum Beispiel Patenkinder. Falls Ihre Kinder bereits ausgezogen sind, können Sie nur bis zum Alter von 25 Jahren in der Familienversicherung eingeschlossen werden.

Eine Reiseversicherung lohnt sich grundsätzlich immer, wenn Sie viel unterwegs sind – ob im Ausland oder in der Schweiz. Insbesondere, wenn Sie eine bis zwei teurere Reisen pro Jahr unternehmen, lohnt sich eine Annullationsversicherung. Je nach Anbieter bleiben Sie sonst auf den Stornokosten sitzen. Aber auch wenn sie regelmässig Konzerte in der Schweiz besuchen, profitieren Sie mit der Annullationskostendeckung: Tickets für Events sind ebenfalls abgedeckt. Beachten Sie, dass Sie die Reiseversicherung abschliessen, bevor Sie die Reise buchen. Ansonsten ist die Reise nicht versichert. 

Ja, Corona ist eine Krankheit und somit wie jede andere Krankheit gedeckt. Dies gilt auch bei allen anderen Krankheiten, die durch eine Pandemie oder Epidemie ausgelöst werden. Sie erhalten von uns zudem bereits vor Reiseantritt Informationen zu benötigten Impfungen oder zur Quarantänepflicht. Die Reiseversicherung deckt auch allfällige Quarantänekosten aufgrund einer Erkrankung, wenn Sie die Personen-Assistance eingeschlossen haben.

 

Weitere Informationen rund um Reisen und Corona finden Sie auch auf unserer Corona-Seite unter Reiserecht.