Contact

Claims hotline

Christoph Schmallenbach new CEO of Generali Switzerland

Christoph Schmallenbach, previously a member of the Board of Directors of Generali Germany, is to replace Andreas Krümmel in the role of CEO of Generali Switzerland.
Feb 23, 2022.

The Board of Directors of Generali Switzerland has appointed Christoph Schmallenbach as the new CEO of Generali Switzerland. He is taking over from Andreas Krümmel, who after six years of heading Generali Switzerland is leaving to take on new challenges. 

A seasoned insurance pro with extensive experience

Christoph Schmallenbach has held a number of different roles within the Generali Group for around 30 years. After launching his career in an IT role followed by a number of years as COO of AachenMünchener, between 2017 and the end of 2021 he was Chief Business Officer Exclusive Sales for Generali Germany, with a seat on the Board. In his many years at Generali, he was responsible for numerous transformation projects. They include the transfer of Exclusive Sales from Generali Germany with around 3,000 intermediaries to Allfinanz Deutsche Vermögensberatung, and the integration of AachenMünchener into Generali Germany, plus rebranding. The 59-year-old holds a degree in computer science and is a German citizen. Christoph Schmallenbach was appointed CEO of Generali Switzerland effective as of 22 February 2022, subject to approval by the Swiss authorities. He will be based in Adliswil.

 

Jaime Anchustegui, CEO International of the Generali Group and Chairman of the Board of Directors of Generali Switzerland: “Christoph Schmallenbach is an insurance expert, with an extensive experience in the leadership of Transformation projects, within the Generali Group. Christoph is an added value for the implementation of our Avanti 2027 strategy, which has been communicated in January 2022. Generali Switzerland is on the right track to become a leading insurance company for private customers and small and medium-sized enterprises in the area of property insurance and private pension provision by 2027.”

 

Six successful years

After six years as CEO, Andreas Krümmel is leaving Generali Switzerland to take on new challenges. Jaime Anchùstegui: “I would like to thank Andreas Krümmel for his commitment and dedication over the past six years, and wish him success in his new endeavors."

ABOUT GENERALI

The Generali Group is an independent Italian group with a strong international presence. Established in 1831, the company is now one of the world’s leading insurers. Generali has around 72,000 employees serving more than 65.9 million customers in 50 countries. The Group’s total income came to more than EUR 70.7 billion in 2020, making Generali the market leader in Western Europe. The company is also an increasingly important player in Central and Eastern Europe as well as in Asia.

 

Generali’s roots in Switzerland date back to 1887. Today, Generali (Switzerland) Holding Ltd. operates throughout Switzerland, with two head offices – one in Adliswil and one in Nyon – and a wide network of agencies. The insurer has more than one million customers and offers products for every situation in life. These include property insurance, legal expenses insurance, life insurance and pension solutions. Generali partners with start-ups to develop innovative products. The company is the first Swiss insurer to launch a fully digital pillar 3a.

Download

Kontakt

24h-Schaden-Hotline

Christoph Schmallenbach neuer CEO von Generali Schweiz

Christoph Schmallenbach, früheres Vorstandsmitglied von Generali Deutschland, übernimmt von Andreas Krümmel die Funktion als CEO von Generali Schweiz.
Feb 23, 2022.

Der Verwaltungsrat von Generali Schweiz hat Christoph Schmallenbach zum neuen CEO von Generali Schweiz ernannt. Er folgt auf Andreas Krümmel, der nach sechs Jahren an der Spitze von Generali Schweiz eine neue Herausforderung suchen wird.

Ein versierter Versicherungsprofi mit langjähriger Erfahrung

Christoph Schmallenbach ist seit rund 30 Jahren in verschiedenen Funktionen in der Generali Gruppe tätig. Nach seinem Berufsstart in der IT und einer mehrjährigen COO-Funktion für die AachenMünchener war er zuletzt seit 2017 bis Ende 2021 Chief Business Officer Exklusivvertrieb und Vorstandsmitglied bei Generali Deutschland. Er verantwortete in seiner langjährigen Zeit bei Generali zahlreiche Transformationsprojekte. Unter anderem sind hier der Übergang des Exklusivvertriebs von Generali Deutschland mit rund 3000 Vermittlern in die Allfinanz Deutsche Vermögensberatung sowie die Integration und das Rebranding der AachenMünchener in die Generali Deutschland zu nennen. Der 59-jährige ist Diplom-Informatiker und deutscher Staatsangehöriger. Der Verwaltungsrat hat Christoph Schmallenbach mit Wirkung ab 22. Februar 2022 zum CEO von Generali Schweiz ernannt (vorbehältlich der aufsichtsrechtlichen Bewilligungen). Sein Arbeitsort ist Adliswil.

 

Jaime Anchustegui, CEO International der Generali Gruppe und Verwaltungsratspräsident von Generali Schweiz: «Christoph Schmallenbach ist ein versierter Versicherungsexperte mit langjähriger Erfahrung in der Leitung von Transformationsprojekten innerhalb der Generali Gruppe. Er bringt mit seiner Erfahrung einen Mehrwert für die Umsetzung unserer neuen Strategie Avanti 2027, welche im Januar 2022 kommuniziert worden ist. Generali Schweiz ist damit auf dem richtigen Weg, eine führende Versicherung für Privatkunden und kleine- und mittlere Unternehmen im Bereich Sachversicherungen und der privaten Vorsorge zu werden bis 2027.»

 

Sechs erfolgreiche Jahre

Nach sechs Jahren als CEO wird Andreas Krümmel Generali Schweiz verlassen, um künftig eine neue Herausforderung wahrzunehmen.  Jaime Anchustegui: «Ich danke Andreas Krümmel für sein Engagement und seinen Einsatz in den vergangenen sechs Jahren und wünsche ihm viel Erfolg bei seinen neuen Aufgaben.»

ÜBER GENERALI

Die Generali Gruppe ist ein unabhängiger italienischer Konzern mit starker internationaler Präsenz. Im Jahr 1831 gegründet, gehört das Unternehmen weltweit zu den führenden Versicherern. Generali ist in 50 Ländern vertreten, beschäftigt rund 72'000 Mitarbeitende und hat über 65.9 Millionen Kunden. Das Gesamteinkommen des Konzerns belief sich 2020 auf mehr als 70.7 Milliarden Euro. Damit ist Generali Marktführerin in Westeuropa. Auch in Mittel- und Osteuropa sowie in Asien gewinnt das Unternehmen an Bedeutung.

 

In der Schweiz gehen die Wurzeln von Generali auf das Jahr 1887 zurück. Heute ist die Generali (Schweiz) Holding AG mit zwei Hauptsitzen in Adliswil und Nyon sowie einem breiten Agenturnetz in der ganzen Schweiz vertreten. Der Versicherer hat mehr als eine Million Kunden und bietet Produkte für jede Lebenssituation an. Dazu zählen Sach-, Rechtsschutz- und Lebensversicherungen sowie Vorsorgelösungen. Zusammen mit Start-ups entwickelt Generali innovative Produkte. Als erster Schweizer Versicherer hat das Unternehmen eine komplett digitale Säule 3a lanciert.

Download