Contact

Claims hotline

Lost & Found: what to do if your luggage doesn't make it

Aug 16, 2016. Posted in Services, Produkte

Every traveller's nightmare: the airline loses your luggage. It looks as if your holiday is ruined from the word go. Here are our tips on how to avoid major inconvenience.

At last, the big summer holiday has begun for the whole family. The flight's behind you and you have already forgotten the pressure in your ears. Now everyone can relax. But then the suitcases don't turn up on the carousel. We've put together some tips on how you can enjoy the summer even when something like that happens.

 

Don't leave the airport before getting help

 

Report the baggage missing straightaway to the Lost & Found office at the airport where you are. The people manning it will be well prepared to answer your questions. In most cases, it won't take long untillyou get your luggage back – in eight out of ten cases, missing luggage turns out to have been put on a later flight.1 If your bags don't turn up at your destination airport within 21 days, they will be regarded as lost. In this case, you'll be entitled to compensation from the airline. Ideally, you'll have kept the receipts for everything that you have lost. If you've had them for some time, of course, this isn't always possible. Alternatively, you can ask for the compensation to be on the basis of the luggage's weight.

 

How to be prepared for all eventualities:

  • Think about what you put in your hand luggage; it should include a change of clothing and toiletries for the whole family. Stressful situations are much easier to cope with if you're wearing fresh clothes.
  • Valuables need to go in your hand luggage, too – airlines often pay replacement costs only up to a certain amount.
  • Label the inside and outside of your luggage with your name and address.
  • Make sure you keep the barcode labels that you get when checking your luggage in. You can use them to report a loss and to find out where you luggage has ended up.
  • To put an exact figure on your loss, make sure you keep the receipts of items you've bought.

 

In the event of any doubt, luggage insurance will ensure you get back the full value of the items you've lost. 

 

 

1SITA, Société Internationale de Télécommunication Aéronautique, 2015.

Contacts

24h à votre disposition en cas de sinistre

Lost & Found: ou quand vos bagages n’arrivent pas à destination

août 16, 2016. Posted in Services, Produkte

Le cauchemar de tout voyageur: la compagnie aérienne a perdu vos bagages. A première vue, les vacances sont gâchées. Grâce à nos conseils, vous éviterez de gros désagréments.

Le grand moment est enfin arrivé! Toute la famille part pour les vacances d’été. Votre avion a atterri et les bourdonnements d’oreilles sont déjà oubliés. Alors que vous pourriez commencer à vous détendre, vos valises n’apparaissent pas sur le tapis roulant. Pour que vous puissiez tout de même profiter de vos congés d’été, suivez ces quelques conseils.

 

Demandez de l’aide à l’aéroport

 

Signalez les valises et bagages perdus directement au comptoir Lost & Found de l’aéroport local. Les interlocuteurs sur place sont préparés à vos questions. La plupart du temps, vous récupérerez vos bagages rapidement. Dans huit cas sur dix, il ne s’agit que d’un retard d’acheminement.1 Vos valises sont considérées comme perdues si elles ne parviennent pas à l’aéroport de destination dans un délai de 21 jours. Dans ce cas, vous pouvez prétendre à des dommages et intérêts de la compagnie aérienne. Idéalement, vous avez conservé les justificatifs (tickets de caisse etc.) des objets perdus. Bien entendu, ce n’est pas toujours possible, surtout pour des objets que vous possédez depuis longtemps. L’autre solution est de demander une indemnisation selon le poids.

 

Voici comment être paré à toute éventualité:

  • Réfléchissez bien à la préparation de votre bagage à main, pensez aux vêtements de rechange et aux articles d’hygiène pour toute la famille. Les situations de stress sont plus facilement surmontables avec des habits propres.
  • Les objets de valeur doivent également être conservés dans le bagage à main. Les compagnies aériennes n’indemnisent souvent que jusqu’à un certain montant.
  • Indiquez vos nom et coordonnées à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur du bagage.
  • Conservez l’étiquette code-barres que vous avez reçue pour vos bagages à l’enregistrement. Elle vous permettra de signaler une perte et de faciliter la localisation de vos valises.
  • Conservez les justificatifs d’achat pour chiffrer précisément le sinistre.

 

En cas de doute, une assurance bagages vous remboursera la totalité de la valeur de vos objets perdus. 

 

 

1SITA, Société Internationale de Télécommunication Aéronautique, 2015.