Claims hotline

Andreas Krümmel, CEO: “In the kitchen, I'm inefficient”

Jun 6, 2016. Posted in Diverses

At the head of Generali Group Switzerland’s management since early May 2016, Andreas Krümmel gave Swiss magazine Schweizer Versicherung an interview and answered some very personal questions.

Have life and your career so far gone the way you thought they would?

Generally speaking, my life’s turned out the way I thought it should. But a lot of the changes on the work and family fronts happened by chance and opened up new possibilities and challenges.


When and where are you able to really switch off?

I find it easy to really switch off away from work and with my family. I try to keep every weekend free for them. Weekends are also often when I go out and about with our dog. I find the best way to get away from it all completely is to travel or play golf. Golf’s a game that allows no distractions but demands complete concentration if the balls aren’t to fly off here, there and everywhere.


What’s the best advice you were ever given?

To be authentic and honest and be able to admit my own mistakes.


What do you like about yourself – and what about yourself do you absolutely not like?

What I like about myself is my capacity for balance, my tendency to over-analyse, and my sense of humour. I’m less keen on my impatience, which surfaces from time to time, and the tendency for being rational to smother being emotional.


Which celebrity would you like to get to know?

Quite spontaneously and out of pure curiosity, Donald Trump comes to mind. If he ends up being the most powerful man the world, it might be a good idea to know him. On a less ambitious note, I’d like to get to know Dietmar Beiersdorfer, the chairman of the board of HSV Hamburg. HSV’s been a passion of mine for many years and a source of both sorrow and joy.


What dishes are you best at cooking?

I tend to cook with a lot of preparation, little skill, but lots of bowls and spontaneous creativity, which means I tend to diverge from what the recipe says. No matter what the dish is, it has to be fresh and has to have herbs from the garden in it. Mediterranean vegetables, a tender fillet and – most important of all – the sauce. I might add that I’m ‘gloriously’ inefficient when it comes to cooking and have a real talent for switching off while my wife – standing beside me – goes quietly crazy.


Turning to another sort of pitch, as you sing in a choir, do you prefer bass or tenor?

I’m a fairly mediocre bass. We sometimes try to help the tenors out with their parts, but the result is about as dreadful as what you get when you run your fingernails over a board ...


Andreas Krümmel took over as CEO of Generali Group Switzerland in early May. He is 48, and has been working in insurance since 1987, most recently as Head of Property & Casualty and a member of the Executive Board at Axa Winterthur.


The full article can be found in Schweizer Versicherung’s 06/2016 issue.

Contacts

24h à votre disposition en cas de sinistre

Andreas Krümmel, CEO: „En cuisine, je suis inefficace“

juin 6, 2016. Posted in Diverses

A la tête de la direction du Groupe Generali Suisse depuis début mai 2016, Andreas Krümmel s’est confié dans un entretien accordé au magazine Schweizer Versicherung sur des sujets très personnels.

Votre vie et votre carrière se sont-elles déroulées comme vous l’aviez imaginé jusqu’ici?

Dans l’ensemble, ma vie est comme je l’avais imaginée. Certaines évolutions dans ma vie familiale et mon parcours professionnel ont cependant aussi été le fruit du hasard. C’est ainsi que se sont ouvertes pour moi de nouvelles possibilités, que se sont présentés de nouveaux défis.

 

Quand et où pouvez-vous vous déconnecter totalement?

J’arrive facilement à me déconnecter du travail pendant mon temps libre et quand je suis avec ma famille. J’essaie de réserver systématiquement le week-end à ma famille. J’aime aussi me promener avec mon chien. Les voyages ou le golf sont pour moi un excellent moyen de me libérer l’esprit. Je ne considère pas ce sport comme une distraction. Il nécessite ma pleine concentration afin que les balles ne partent pas dans tous les sens.

 

Quel est le meilleur conseil que l’on vous ait donné?

Sois authentique et honnête, et admets tes propres erreurs.

 

Qu’aimez-vous chez vous et, au contraire, pas du tout?

Ce que j’aime chez moi, c’est mon caractère équilibré, mes analyses d’«intello» et mon humour. Ce que j’apprécie moins, c’est l’impatience dont je fais quelques fois preuve et mon côté rationnel qui cache parfois mes émotions.

 

Quelle célébrité aimeriez-vous rencontrer?

Spontanément, je dirais Donald Trump, juste par curiosité. S’il devenait l’homme le plus puissant de la planète, il vaudrait mieux le connaître. Si je vise moins haut, j’aimerais faire la connaissance de Dietmar Beiersdorfer, président du comité du club de football de Hambourg. Le HSV est une passion, faite de joies et de peines, qui me suit depuis de nombreuses années.

 

Quel plat vous permet d’exprimer au mieux vos talents de cuisinier?

Je ne maîtrise pas spécialement l’art culinaire. J’ai tendance à consacrer beaucoup de temps à la préparation et à utiliser beaucoup de récipients différents. Ensuite, je laisse place à ma créativité du moment et ne respecte donc pas forcément les recettes. Quel que soit le plat, la fraîcheur est le maître mot et les herbes du jardin sont indispensables. Des légumes méditerranéens, un filet fondant, sans oublier le plus important, la sauce. Je suis «magnifiquement» inefficace lorsque je cuisine. Cela me permet de décompresser pendant que ma femme désespère en me regardant.

 

En tant que choriste, vous avez sûrement un registre préféré: basse ou ténor?

Plutôt basse moyen. On essaie parfois d’aider les ténors à trouver leur tessiture, c’est à mon avis aussi terrible que le crissement des ongles sur un tableau noir...

 

Andreas Krümmel a repris la direction du Groupe Generali Suisse début mai. Agé de 48 ans, il travaille dans le secteur de l’assurance depuis 1987 et a assumé en dernier lieu les fonctions de Head Property & Casualty et membre du Directoire d’AXA Winterthur.

 

Vous trouverez l’article original dans l’édition 06/2016 du magazine Schweizer Versicherung.