Contact

Claims hotline

Changes to the Swiss Insurance Policies Act

Sep 15, 2021. Posted in Diverses

The revised Swiss Insurance Policies Act (VVG) will enter into force in Switzerland on 1 January 2022. What does this mean for you as a customer? How will you benefit? Find out about the law and the key amendments here.

General information about the Swiss Insurance Policies Act

 

What is the Swiss Insurance Policies Act?

The Swiss Insurance Policies Act is one of the most important laws for insurance companies. It governs the relationship between insurance companies and their customers. It enshrines all the rights and obligations of both parties.

 

Why are changes being made?

The Swiss Insurance Policies Act is already more than one hundred years old, so the legislature has decided to revise it. This revision will see the law adapted to modern needs and requirements. In future, customers will enjoy better consumer protection.

 

What policies do the changes apply to?

The changes to the Swiss Insurance Policies Act generally apply to new policies. The eased formal requirements and the new ordinary right of cancellation for property insurance will, however, apply to your existing insurance policies too.

 

When will the revised Swiss Insurance Policies Act come into effect?

The revised law will take effect as of 1 January 2022. At Generali Switzerland, depending on the policy, you can benefit from the new terms as early as autumn 2021. Ask your advisor or our customer service when taking out your policy.
 


Changes to the Swiss Insurance Policies Act

 

Formal requirements

Formal requirements are being eased. In future, a significant number of provisions will allow any form of communication, as well as letter form, that serves as written proof. One example of this is e-mail. The idea behind this is to facilitate more straightforward business transactions.

 

Right of revocation

You may now withdraw from a contract within 14 days. As mentioned under the formal requirements section, you can now do this via e-mail. What is important is that the selected form of communication serves as written evidence.

 

Ordinary right of cancellation


Property insurance, liability insurance and legal protection insurance: For multi-year policies, both contracting partners may now ordinarily terminate the contract with effect from the expiry of the third insurance year or subsequent insurance years.

 

Life insurance: As before, you can cancel life insurance policies after payment of the first annual premium.

 

Limitation period

You can now assert claims against us from an insurance contract up to five years after the occurrence of an event. Previously, this period only extended to two years after the occurrence of the event.

 

Direct right to make a third party liability insurance claim

Injured parties can now assert claims directly against the counterparty’s third party liability insurance. For instance, a landlord can refer directly to us with any claims arising from the repair of any tenant damage as your third party liability insurance provider.

Contacts

24h à votre disposition en cas de sinistre

Modifications de la loi sur le contrat d’assurance

sept. 15, 2021. Posted in Diverses

Le 1er janvier 2022, la loi sur le contrat d’assurance (LCA) révisée entrera en vigueur en Suisse. Que cela signifie-t-il pour vous en tant que cliente et client ? Quels sont vos avantages ? Vous trouverez ci-après des informations sur la loi et ses principales modifications.

Informations générales concernant la loi sur le contrat d’assurance

 

Qu’est-ce que la loi sur le contrat d’assurance ?

La loi sur le contrat d’assurance est l’une des principales lois dans le domaine des assurances. Elle régit la relation entre les assurances et leurs clientes et clients. Tous les droits et obligations des deux parties y sont définis.

 

Pourquoi est-elle modifiée ?

La loi sur le contrat d’assurance a déjà plus de cent ans. Le législateur a donc décidé de la réviser. La révision permet d’adapter la loi aux exigences et besoins actuels. Les clientes et clients bénéficieront à l’avenir d’une meilleure protection du consommateur.

 

À quels contrats s’appliquent les modifications ?

Les modifications de la loi sur le contrat d’assurance s’appliquent généralement aux nouveaux contrats. La simplification des prescriptions en matière de forme et le nouveau droit de résiliation ordinaire pour les assurances choses s’appliquent aussi à vos contrats existants.

 

À partir de quand s’applique la loi révisée sur le contrat d’assurance ?

La loi révisée entre en vigueur au 1er janvier 2022. Chez Generali Suisse, selon votre contrat, vous pouvez bénéficier des nouvelles dispositions dès l’automne 2021. Au moment de la conclusion du contrat, renseignez-vous auprès de votre conseillère ou de votre conseiller ou de notre service clientèle.
 


Les modifications de la loi sur le contrat d’assurance

 

Prescriptions en matière de forme

Les exigences relatives aux prescriptions en matière de forme sont assouplies. À l’avenir, pour apporter une preuve, de nombreuses dispositions permettront l’utilisation de la lettre ou de toute autre forme de communication par le texte. Les e-mails en sont un exemple. L’objectif est de pouvoir exécuter les transactions beaucoup plus facilement.

 

Droit de rétractation

Dorénavant, vous pouvez vous départir d’un contrat dans un délai de quatorze jours. Tel que mentionné au point « Prescriptions en matière de forme », vous pouvez maintenant le faire par e-mail par exemple. Il est important que la forme de communication choisie permette la preuve par le texte.

 

Droit de résiliation ordinaire


Assurances choses, responsabilité civile et assurances de protection juridique : pour des contrats pluriannuels, la résiliation ordinaire du contrat par les deux partenaires contractuels est désormais possible à l’échéance de la troisième année d’assurance ou à l’échéance des années d’assurance suivantes.

 

Assurances-vie : vous pouvez toujours résilier les assurances-vie après paiement de la première prime annuelle.

 

Délai de prescription

Dorénavant, vous pouvez faire valoir envers nous des prétentions sur un contrat jusqu’à cinq ans après la survenance d’un événement. Auparavant, ce n’était possible que jusqu’à deux ans après survenance de l’événement.

 

Droit d’action directe contre les assurances responsabilité civile

Les personnes lésées peuvent désormais faire valoir des prétentions directement auprès de l’assurance responsabilité civile de la partie adverse. Par exemple, nous sommes votre assurance responsabilité civile. Votre bailleur peut s’adresser directement à nous pour des prétentions sur la réparation d’un dommage de locataire.