Contact

Claims hotline

The Human Safety Net for Refugees

The situation

More than 50% of newcomers to Switzerland have a university degree. However, language and cultural barriers, and often a lack of recognition of their previous careers, make it difficult for them to get started in their new country. They also lack the social network and knowledge to navigate the Swiss education system and job market. Being turned down and experiencing unemployment lead to psychological problems, social isolation and dependence on state welfare.

 

 

Our goal

We believe that the knowledge and skills that people from refugee or migrant backgrounds can provide are an opportunity for our society. The “Human Safety Net for Refugees” programme helps them reach their potential and encourages them to discover and develop their skills as entrepreneurs. The programme takes between four and twelve months to complete. In addition to teaching the basics, it also focuses on coaching and mentoring. In this way, we help some of the participants to become self-employed, and we facilitate access to the job market for others. Small start-up loans are also part of the programme. Professional and social integration through entrepreneurship, as well as equal exchange, are therefore key features of the programme. Our employees also play an active role as coaches and mentors.

 

 

Partners & initiatives

Capacity: talent & start-up incubator

Our partner Capacity brings locals and newcomers together, with the focus on the joint exchange of skills. Through its two entrepreneurship programmes, the start-up incubator promotes the talent of people in Switzerland with a refugee or migrant background. Both of the four-month programmes consist of a combination of mentoring, workshops and soft-skills training sessions. The aim is to give the budding entrepreneurs the skills required to start their own business or socio-cultural initiative in Switzerland.

 

In the Launch programme, the aspiring entrepreneurs are taught the basics they require to develop their start-up ideas. They define their project framework and outline the first steps of their prototype’s development. After the Launch programme, it’s time for the participants to get down to business. In the subsequent Boost and Elevate programme, the business idea enters the implementation phase. Participants develop business plans, implement marketing and communication measures, budget planning and accounting.

 

In addition to the skills they acquire, the participants learn about the entrepreneurial side of Switzerland and get to expand their social and professional networks.

 

 

Impact in 2020

  • 29 migrants and refugees were able to benefit from the programmes
  • 6 participants have founded a sole proprietorship or a non-profit organisation
  • 2 participants were able to generate their first profits
  • 3 participants have received microcredits
  • 5 participants plan to start their business in the next six months
  • 6 participants have found a new job or started an apprenticeship/university degree

 

More information on Capacity.

Contacts

24h à votre disposition en cas de sinistre

The Human Safety Net for Refugees

La situation

Plus de 50% des nouveaux arrivants en Suisse ont un diplôme universitaire. Toutefois, les barrières linguistiques et culturelles, ainsi que bien souvent, l’absence de reconnaissance d’un cursus professionnel antérieur rendent compliqué un nouveau départ dans un autre pays. En outre, ils ne disposent pas du réseau social et des connaissances nécessaires pour s’orienter dans le système éducatif suisse et sur le marché du travail. Le rejet et le chômage entraînent des problèmes psychologiques, un isolement social et une dépendance à l’assistance étatique.

 

 

Notre objectif

Nous considérons les compétences des personnes réfugiées ou issues de l’immigration comme une chance pour notre société. Le programme « The Human Safety Net for Refugees » stimule leur potentiel et les encourage à découvrir et développer leurs qualités entrepreneuriales. Le programme dure entre quatre et douze mois et repose sur le coaching et le mentorat en plus de l’enseignement des bases. Nous permettons ainsi à certains participants de devenir indépendants et facilitons à d’autres l’accès au marché du travail. Des prêts de démarrage plus modestes font également partie du programme. L’intégration professionnelle et sociale par l’entrepreneuriat ainsi que l’échange d’égal à égal sont des caractéristiques essentielles du programme. Nos collaborateurs sont aussi activement impliqués en tant que coachs et mentors.

 

 

Partenaires et initiatives

Capacity : incubateur de talents et de start-up

 

Capacity, partenaire de « The Human Safety Net », favorise la rencontre entre les locaux et les nouveaux arrivants. L’accent est mis sur l’échange réciproque de compétences. Par le biais de deux programmes consacrés à l’entrepreneuriat, cet incubateur de start-up stimule le talent des personnes réfugiées ou issues de l’immigration vivant en Suisse. Les deux programmes d’une durée de quatre mois chacun combinent mentorat, workshops et formations sur les compétences comportementales. Ils ont pour but de transmettre aux futurs entrepreneurs la capacité de créer leur propre entreprise ou de lancer une initiative socioculturelle en Suisse.

 

Au cours du programme de lancement (Launch Program), les entrepreneurs en devenir apprennent les bases qui leur permettront de développer leurs idées de start-up. Ils définissent le cadre de leur projet et esquissent les premières étapes du développement d’un prototype. Au terme de ce premier programme dédié au développement d’idées de start-up, les choses sérieuses commencent pour les entrepreneurs. Avec le programme de stimulation et d’élévation (Boost and Elevate Program), l’idée commerciale entre dans sa phase de mise en œuvre. Cela va du développement de la planification commerciale aux mesures de marketing et de communication en passant par l’établissement d’un budget et d’une comptabilité.

 

Parallèlement aux compétences qu’ils acquièrent, les participants apprennent à connaître le côté entrepreneurial de la Suisse et constituent leur réseau social et professionnel.

 

 

Impact 2020

  • 29 migrants et réfugiés ont pu bénéficier de ces programmes.
  • 6 participants ont créé une entreprise individuelle ou une association à but non lucratif.
  • 2 participants ont pu réaliser leurs premiers bénéfices.
  • 3 participants ont reçu des microcrédits.
  • 5 participants prévoient de créer leur entreprise dans les six prochains mois.
  • 6 participants ont trouvé un nouveau travail ou ont commencé un apprentissage/des études.

 

Plus d’informations sur Capacity.